WiP in WiP, post your screenshots!

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Arhurt, Aug 28, 2008.

  1. FGD5

    aa FGD5

    Messages:
    84
    Positive Ratings:
    429
    The next additions to more vehicles is coming along nicely, the truck cab just needs some little texture tweaks and the trailer needs logos. Also, I added a 2nd cab to spice things up a bit, still to be properly textured of course.

    upload_2019-6-15_23-7-48.png

    And the train from above is on its way

    upload_2019-6-15_23-12-1.png
     
    • Like Like x 10
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. MegapiemanPHD

    aa MegapiemanPHD Doctorate in Deliciousness

    Messages:
    1,258
    Positive Ratings:
    753
    Logo you say? Freight Gets Delivered for FGD?
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
  3. FGD5

    aa FGD5

    Messages:
    84
    Positive Ratings:
    429
    I like that one, very clever :D
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  4. Goldenes_Klo

    Goldenes_Klo L1: Registered

    Messages:
    4
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    Hello, first time posting screenshots of my map.
    It's a mvm map set at a logging facilty near a forest. Currently it's mostly made up of dev textures but I wanted to ask for some general tips on how to design the gameplay space. Most of the props and detailing serve gameplay purposes.
    Any feedback is appreciated.

    woodworks_5.jpg
    robot spawn/"forest entrance"

    woodworks_1.jpg
    woodworks_8.jpg
    "trainyard area"

    woodworks_2.jpg woodworks_3.jpg inside of the sawmill

    woodworks_4.jpg woodworks_9.jpg
    left path to the hatch

    woodworks_7.jpg
    right path to the hatch

    woodworks_6.jpg
    hatch area/player spawn
     
    • Like Like x 3
  5. Heronherald

    Heronherald L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    348
    Positive Ratings:
    213
    These first three pictures look very flat on the ground level, also I'd recommend increasing the map brightness a bit or changing the sun angle, the map overall looks pretty dark.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  6. FunkEdge

    FunkEdge L3: Member

    Messages:
    130
    Positive Ratings:
    50
    Any idea how to fix things like this?

    20190623203524_1.jpg
     
  7. Da Spud Lord

    aa Da Spud Lord L0: Crappy Member

    Messages:
    1,126
    Positive Ratings:
    769
    Do you have any errors in your compile log?
     
  8. I dinne ken

    aa I dinne ken Has currently had enough

    Messages:
    216
    Positive Ratings:
    245

    You should remake the brush. This is the sort of thing you should should ask about in the #mapping-help channel on the tf2maps Discord though.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. RevolutionTeam

    RevolutionTeam L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    165
    Positive Ratings:
    43
    Try deleting the wall, then putting it back.

    Oh, and does it appear in the editor?
     
  10. Goldenes_Klo

    Goldenes_Klo L1: Registered

    Messages:
    4
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    Okay so I've redone the robot spawn area to feature some basic height differences and turned the ground into displacements. I've also changed the lighting of the map to make it brighter and resemble sawmill a lot more. Still it's quite basic and any feedback or ideas are appreciated.
    reworked_forest_1.jpg reworked_forest_2.jpg reworked_forest_3.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Skittelz

    Skittelz L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    405
    Positive Ratings:
    245
    Sweet but I hate how those displacement textures don't align properly
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. DioJoestar

    DioJoestar L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    70
    Positive Ratings:
    164
    Working on this but I might abandon it, I feel it wont fit too much in the TF2 style.

    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 5
  13. Narpas

    aa Narpas I don't know what the heck

    Messages:
    370
    Positive Ratings:
    356
    It has too much detail for something TF2 styled. I'd suggest simplifying the mesh a lot and moving most of the details to the texture/material instead
     
  14. Asd417

    aa Asd417 Sample Text

    Messages:
    1,154
    Positive Ratings:
    821
    Depends on the size of the prop. That level of detail would fit tf2 if it is as big as the nucleus reactor prop.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. DioJoestar

    DioJoestar L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    70
    Positive Ratings:
    164
    Thats the point, baking that model into the texture of a low poly version.

    As you can see, theres a handle on the top, so you can make an idea of the size. I wanted to make a different version of the intel from the asteroid map.

    [​IMG]

    I also thought on model something to attach the prop to the wall, like a slot. I took the idea from the initializer and stabilizer from dino crisis video game.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2019
  16. Yrr

    aa Yrr An Actual Deer

    Messages:
    1,126
    Positive Ratings:
    2,234
    I would def simplify it to the kind of complexity that RD prop is instead, imagine it had to appear in a cartoon or something, being drawn at a small scale.
     
  17. SnakedSnack

    SnakedSnack L1: Registered

    Messages:
    21
    Positive Ratings:
    49
    20190703014447_1.jpg 20190703014312_1.jpg 20190703014251_1.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 14
  18. Reas

    Reas L1: Registered

    Messages:
    39
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    So i haven't mapped in a while and thought i'd come back to it. currently it has no name but as you can tell it's going to be a KOTH map.
    Ekran Görüntüsü (52).png
     
    • Like Like x 2
  19. Reas

    Reas L1: Registered

    Messages:
    39
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    20190711220351_1.jpg
    i finally finished most of the map only thing left is mirroring the map, creating the spawnroom and completing the skybox.


    Feedback is appreciated.
     
  20. RevolutionTeam

    RevolutionTeam L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    165
    Positive Ratings:
    43
    That's all? Just a RED house, a BLU house, and a capture point? Am I missing something here?