WiP in WiP, post your screenshots!

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Arhurt, Aug 28, 2008.

  1. Vel0city

    aa Vel0city func_fish

    Messages:
    1,944
    Positive Ratings:
    1,557
    Please make that expensive water.

    Please.
    He models them in Source 2, then imports them into Source 1 for TF2.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. DrLambda

    aa DrLambda L69: Teeheehee, Member

    Messages:
    458
    Positive Ratings:
    454
    For the first time in weeks, i can now officially say that there is stuff happening.

    thereisstuff.JPG
     
    • Like Like x 5
  3. Asd417

    aa Asd417 Sample Text

    Messages:
    1,205
    Positive Ratings:
    850
    I've been away from mapping after the jam. It almost feels like it was a month ago...

    But being away from it does end up in a surprising way because I suddenly came up with this idea.
    unnamed.jpg
    Taking a short break actually helps apparently.
    Edit: This is a plr map btw. I kinda worry it might play out similar to hightower but I guess I can put a timer so that players cant just blatantly ignore the objective
     
  4. Twist.vmf

    Twist.vmf L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    437
    Positive Ratings:
    204
    what is the name of this prop!? i can't find it! 20170216112831_1.jpg
     
  5. killohurtz

    aa killohurtz Distinction in Applied Carving

    Messages:
    1,022
    Positive Ratings:
    1,197
    Something "conduit" in props_mining, I believe
     
  6. leprecan

    leprecan L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    96
    Positive Ratings:
    86
    The metal rods are under keyword "conduit", there are multiple sizes of it as well! If you mean the wiring, it isn't a prop, but is created using move_rope and keyframe_rope entities. You can find an explanation of these entities here: https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Cables_and_Ropes

    Also ninja'd
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. Hipster_Duck

    Hipster_Duck L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    99
    Positive Ratings:
    77
    So I was working on a pl map during the 72 hour jam and didn't get it finished, I've kinda been burnt out so I haven't touched it since.

    20170216182907_1.jpg

    The pit is a copy of the one from pl_second so credit to Muddy for that.

    20170216185803_1.jpg

    20170216184926_1.jpg

    20170216185818_1.jpg

    20170216185025_1.jpg

    20170216185220_1.jpg

    Area leading into last (which doesn't exist, yet)

    20170216185227_1.jpg

    Blu's first spawn (currently not connected to anything cause there's no first point)

    20170216185243_1.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 6
  8. Necrσ

    aa Necrσ

    Messages:
    200
    Positive Ratings:
    465
    Working on a door model to go along with the existing urban_window props for Terrace, i'm honestly surprised this doesn't already exist since TF2 seems to be a bit lacking in door models
    screenshot.png
     
    • Like Like x 16
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Twist.vmf

    Twist.vmf L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    437
    Positive Ratings:
    204
    working on trash water A4 and already starting to detail, i just can't resist! 20170216132012_1.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Twist.vmf

    Twist.vmf L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    437
    Positive Ratings:
    204
    that would look grate for a new York city street map!
     
  11. FunkEdge

    FunkEdge L3: Member

    Messages:
    130
    Positive Ratings:
    50
    I was thinking of making a PL map that takes place in a mine that leads to under red base, but now I'm not sure on the idea as it could be cramp and filled with choke points being a mine and all.
    what are your thoughts on it? could it be fun?
     
  12. zahndah

    aa zahndah professional letter

    Messages:
    724
    Positive Ratings:
    631
    A theme doesnt dictate how fun a map can be. You could make a map in turbine theme and not have it be cramped garbage, its all about the execution.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  13. FunkEdge

    FunkEdge L3: Member

    Messages:
    130
    Positive Ratings:
    50
    I see. so I need to try and make the mine fun to play in.
    although mines are normally cramped and dark, I need to make that fun.
     
  14. Mess About

    Mess About L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    296
    Positive Ratings:
    140
    I wonder when will you guys done judging? Cause I've made some stupid mistake and just can't stand leaving it there (also some updates too)
    Spawn rooms from my 72hr ctf map

    [​IMG]

    And a koth map I'm working on before, still no lighting though

    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Uncuepa

    aa Uncuepa

    Messages:
    777
    Positive Ratings:
    1,033
    If I ever detail tuscany, I thank you so much <3
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. FunkEdge

    FunkEdge L3: Member

    Messages:
    130
    Positive Ratings:
    50
    anyone having problems with props not spawning when compiling the map? seems to be happening only on my displacements .
     
  17. Twist.vmf

    Twist.vmf L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    437
    Positive Ratings:
    204
    perhaps to make it fit the them and not be out of place, you could add a TNT system were at every cap TNT goes off and opens up bigger sections or makes the mine wider!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  18. Twist.vmf

    Twist.vmf L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    437
    Positive Ratings:
    204
    try using prop_physic or dynamic or detail
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  19. FunkEdge

    FunkEdge L3: Member

    Messages:
    130
    Positive Ratings:
    50
    Tried Prop_detail, just came up as errors.
     
  20. zahndah

    aa zahndah professional letter

    Messages:
    724
    Positive Ratings:
    631
    prop_detail does not work in tf2, your best bet is with prop_dynamic if prop static doesnt work.