How do I make my map feel less empty?

Catastrophic

L1: Registered
Jan 15, 2023
It's my first time making a map, it's a KOTH map and it's a flat square map and has two sniper towers, a small platform to the control point, and the two bases in opposite corners. It has a mix of regular and dev textures but I plan on changing that. Anything else I need to add or change? Also don't worry, the bases have an invisible roof to prevent demomen from shooting over and soldiers jumping over. I also have a death trigger under the map too.
1673765916999.png

Crash

func_nerd
aa
Mar 1, 2010
The biggest thing is to not start with a giant box and fill it. It's a trap a lot of early mappers fall into. Look at how other maps are laid out, you want them to flow more naturally vs creating a big open space and then trying to figure out how to make it less open.

SuperLuxDeluxe

L3: Member
Mar 13, 2021
Hello! Hope you have a fun time making TF2 maps! We're a bit more active on our Discord server but there are a few of us that post on these forums.

Here are some tips for you.

Try designing the point area a few pieces at a time. Crash is right, don't have a giant brush as a floor to build things on.

Try to make interesting height differences that classes can play around. Players love being on the high ground so they will naturally play around it. It also makes combat more interesting. Even a height difference of 32 units can make a huge difference! That much being said, height differences over 512 can be a bit overwhelming. Tying this into the first point, try making smaller ground planes with height differences between them.