I need some help with hammer

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by UnDead Lincoln, Oct 9, 2016.

1. UnDead Lincoln

UnDead Lincoln L1: Registered

Positive Ratings:
    so I am new to hammer and I created a simple box in hammer. So then I go to run the map but then it said that the file specified could not be found. I'll show you it here

** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\test_cool.bsp" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\maps\test_cool.bsp"

The command failed. Windows reported the error:
    "The system cannot find the file specified."

2. killohurtz

aa killohurtz Distinction in Applied Carving

Positive Ratings:
    Can you provide the entire compile log, please? This doesn't tell us anything about why it failed.

3. UnDead Lincoln

Positive Ratings:
    that is the entire compile log

4. LeSwordfish

aa LeSwordfish semi-trained quasi-professional

Positive Ratings:
    To check, you are running the compile in Hammer, not CompilePal or another program?

Sorry if that seems a silly question - this is a unique issue!

5. UnDead Lincoln

Positive Ratings:
    I'm running it in hammer

6. Doktor Richter

Doktor Richter L3: Member

Positive Ratings:
    Do you have "Run BSP" set to Normal in the menu you get before starting the compile?

7. UnDead Lincoln

Positive Ratings:
    I have the "Run BSP" set to normal

8. Doktor Richter

Positive Ratings:
    Are you using the version of hammer packaged with TF2 (at Team Fortress 2\bin\hammer.exe)?

9. UnDead Lincoln

Positive Ratings:
    Yes I'm using the version of hammer packaged with TF2

10. Doktor Richter

Positive Ratings:
  11. UnDead Lincoln

Positive Ratings:
    it says that 1 file failed to validate and will be reacquired. What does that mean?

12. Doktor Richter

Positive Ratings: