mat_fullbright 1 - The Sequel

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by MrFlovi, Jan 30, 2019.

  1. MrFlovi

    MrFlovi L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    65
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Dear mappers,
    It was a few days ago I started a thread to see if anyone could help me fix mat_fullbright 1 for me, since I don't have the knowledge yet. Many people helped me (thx! :) ) but nothing worked out.
    Yesterday I decided to see if my hammer would compile a normal valve vmf file and see if mat_fullbright was still on 1 (and could not be turned of with sv_cheats 1). I downloaded ctf_well_d from this thread: https://tf2maps.net/threads/valve-maps-decompiled.5952/

    Now Surprise surprise, mat_fullbright was still on 1. I think it has something to do with HDR and stuff, and when I did some more research, some people say the the HDR settings in tf2 need to be set to 'extended'.
    I can't seem to find that setting however and that might be because a number of reasons that I don't know.

    That is where you fellow mappers come in to play!
    Any help is greatly appreciated!

    TL;DR
    Mat-fullbright is stuck on 1. I think I need to turn my HDR settings to 'extended'. How do I do that?
     
  2. DrSquishy

    aa DrSquishy ???

    Messages:
    1,211
    Positive Ratings:
    779
    May extended be referring to full HDR? That would be 'mat_hdr_lrvel 2' I believe. Could you also post the compilelog again please, to see if that prop issue is still remaining, as I believe that may be causing/a symptom of the issues
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. MrFlovi

    MrFlovi L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    65
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Yes it is mat_hdr_level 2. I still get mat_fullbright 1.

    Compile Log:

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\C. Ros\Desktop\semaG\Hammer maps\lighting_test_v2.vmf"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Aug 2 2018)
    8 threads
    materialPath: D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Users\C. Ros\Desktop\semaG\Hammer maps\lighting_test_v2.vmf
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (0)
    writing C:\Users\C. Ros\Desktop\semaG\Hammer maps\lighting_test_v2.prt...Building visibility clusters...
    done (0)
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    done (0) (2281 bytes)
    Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Compacting texture/material tables...
    Reduced 9 texinfos to 4
    Reduced 3 texdatas to 3 (75 bytes to 75)
    Writing C:\Users\C. Ros\Desktop\semaG\Hammer maps\lighting_test_v2.bsp
    ZIP Output overshot buffer estimate: Estimated 0, actual 54
    0 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\C. Ros\Desktop\semaG\Hammer maps\lighting_test_v2"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (May 15 2014)
    8 threads
    reading c:\users\c. ros\desktop\semag\hammer maps\lighting_test_v2.bsp
    reading c:\users\c. ros\desktop\semag\hammer maps\lighting_test_v2.prt
    4 portalclusters
    4 numportals
    BasePortalVis: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    PortalFlow: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Optimized: 0 visible clusters (0.00%)
    Total clusters visible: 16
    Average clusters visible: 4
    Building PAS...
    Average clusters audible: 4
    visdatasize:44 compressed from 64
    writing c:\users\c. ros\desktop\semag\hammer maps\lighting_test_v2.bsp
    0 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -both -game "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\C. Ros\Desktop\semaG\Hammer maps\lighting_test_v2"

    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (May 14 2014)

    Valve Radiosity Simulator
    8 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    unknown light specifier type - lights

    [56 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\users\c. ros\desktop\semag\hammer maps\lighting_test_v2.bsp
    Cannot load the static props... encountered a stale map version. Re-vbsp the map.

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Users\C. Ros\Desktop\semaG\Hammer maps\lighting_test_v2.bsp" "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\maps\lighting_test_v2.bsp"


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\hl2.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" -windowed -h 1080 -w 1920 -novid +map "lighting_test_v2" -steam
     
  4. henke37

    aa henke37

    Messages:
    2,044
    Positive Ratings:
    490
    vrad hates the bsp file you are giving it. That's why you get fullbright.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. MrFlovi

    MrFlovi L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    65
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    What do I do to fix that? I tried creating a whole new map, but that didnt work.
     
  6. DrSquishy

    aa DrSquishy ???

    Messages:
    1,211
    Positive Ratings:
    779
    Have you tried completely deleting the bin folder -> verifying files or reinstalling the game? Could be related to things like the missing files you had before
     
  7. MrFlovi

    MrFlovi L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    65
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    I guess I will have to reïnstall, crap.
    Compile log after deleting the bin folder and verifying game files integraty:


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\C. Ros\Desktop\semaG\Hammer maps\lighting_test_v2.vmf"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Aug 2 2018)
    8 threads
    materialPath: D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Users\C. Ros\Desktop\semaG\Hammer maps\lighting_test_v2.vmf
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (0)
    writing C:\Users\C. Ros\Desktop\semaG\Hammer maps\lighting_test_v2.prt...Building visibility clusters...
    done (0)
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    done (0) (2281 bytes)
    Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Compacting texture/material tables...
    Reduced 9 texinfos to 4
    Reduced 3 texdatas to 3 (75 bytes to 75)
    Writing C:\Users\C. Ros\Desktop\semaG\Hammer maps\lighting_test_v2.bsp
    ZIP Output overshot buffer estimate: Estimated 0, actual 54
    0 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\C. Ros\Desktop\semaG\Hammer maps\lighting_test_v2"

    vvis launcher error: can't load vvis_dll.dll
    Kan opgegeven procedure niet vinden.


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -both -game "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\C. Ros\Desktop\semaG\Hammer maps\lighting_test_v2"

    vrad_launcher error: can't load vrad_dll.dll
    Kan opgegeven procedure niet vinden.


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Users\C. Ros\Desktop\semaG\Hammer maps\lighting_test_v2.bsp" "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\maps\lighting_test_v2.bsp"


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\hl2.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" -windowed -h 1080 -w 1920 -novid +map "lighting_test_v2" -steam
     
  8. Khuntza

    aa Khuntza

    Messages:
    150
    Positive Ratings:
    76
    In that latest log you are now missing the dll files for vvis and vrad.. maybe deleting the bin folder was not the best idea.

    Have you run TF2 since deleting it and verifting the integrity of the game files. I believe verifying only checks the VPK files and doesnt validate your install, no?

    In another thread here for this issue, the solution was reinstalling the C++ runtime. This could potentially happen for you when you next launch TF2. You can also manually download it from Microsoft and install it.

    Additionally, you can locate the dll files in your sourcesdk/bin/orangebox/bin folder and copy over the missing dll files to your TF2 install.

    This thread - https://tf2maps.net/threads/cant-get-lights-rad-to-work.27638/ descirbes your original issue. Youre either missing your lights.rad file or you have specified the wrong one in your compile options.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2019
  9. henke37

    aa henke37

    Messages:
    2,044
    Positive Ratings:
    490
    Verifying the install checks all files, not just the vpk files.
     
  10. Werewolf

    Werewolf Probably not a real Werewolf

    Messages:
    872
    Positive Ratings:
    278
    I'm wondering if its something stupid like this:
    It got pointed out in your other thread about the space in your file name which you did change, but then I noticed your username - "C. Ros"

    It's a bit of a far out theory, but your name does have a space in it.....!
     
  11. Da Spud Lord

    aa Da Spud Lord Occasionally I make maps

    Messages:
    1,294
    Positive Ratings:
    858
    File paths can contain spaces. This is totally acceptable; I keep all of my VMFs in a folder named "Hammer Maps" and I've never had this problem compiling. It's only the file name that can't contain spaces.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  12. Khuntza

    aa Khuntza

    Messages:
    150
    Positive Ratings:
    76
    It's reading the vmf, so it doesn't appear to be a path problem.

    Looking at the logs, the first issue was a problem with lights.rad being missing or misreferenced in the complied options.

    "unknown light specifier type - lights"

    New issue is a broken bin folder with missing dll files.

    "vrad_launcher error: can't load vrad_dll.dll"

    Googling this, it seems it was common after jingle inferno. The main solution is reinstalling the C++ redistributable. Copying the dlls from the ask is a backup plan.
     
  13. a_sock

    a_sock L1: Registered

    Messages:
    23
    Positive Ratings:
    3
    Sorry to necro this thread, but has this been solved? When using CompilePal, I am getting the very same line ("unknown light specifier type - lights"), resulting in mat_fullbright being stuck on 1.
    Compiling through Hammer works flawlessly.