Why do some props don't show up when running the map?

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Bunker Junker, Oct 19, 2017.

  1. Bunker Junker

    Bunker Junker L3: Member

    Messages:
    107
    Positive Ratings:
    19
    So I've added some windows that fit the theme on a map I'm working on, but when I run the map to check it out, I noticed that they're not there.



    How can I fix this issue? As I've noticed this happens with some other props I use.
     
  2. Da Spud Lord

    aa Da Spud Lord L0: Shitty Member

    Messages:
    535
    Positive Ratings:
    383
    Compile log?
     
  3. RaVaGe

    aa RaVaGe

    Messages:
    723
    Positive Ratings:
    1,020
    Maybe a problem with the origin of the prop, delete it and make it again.
     
  4. Werewolf

    aa Werewolf Probably not a real Werewolf

    Messages:
    699
    Positive Ratings:
    198
    Check the props are the correct type. Most props are prop_static's, but some have to be prop_dynamic or prop_physics

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Bunker Junker

    Bunker Junker L3: Member

    Messages:
    107
    Positive Ratings:
    19
    Here:

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\dusty2.vmf"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Jun 14 2017)
    6 threads
    materialPath: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\dusty2.vmf
    Patching WVT material: maps/dusty2/concrete/blendwetpavement001_wvt_patch
    Patching WVT material: maps/dusty2/egypt/sand_grass_blend_02_wvt_patch
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    **** leaked ****
    Entity prop_static (479.55 -85.86 398.31) leaked!

    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (2338.5 1024.0 249.0)
    Leaf 0 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    Leaf 1 contents:
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:


    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (2850.5 1024.0 249.0)
    Leaf 0 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    Leaf 1 contents:
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:


    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (3072.0 1536.0 249.0)
    Leaf 0 contents:
    Leaf 1 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:


    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (2560.0 2048.0 249.0)
    Leaf 0 contents:
    Leaf 1 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:


    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (1024.0 1536.0 249.0)
    Leaf 0 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    Leaf 1 contents:
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:


    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (1536.0 1024.0 124.5)
    Leaf 0 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    Leaf 1 contents:
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:


    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (1436.5 1024.0 435.5)
    Leaf 0 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    Leaf 1 contents:
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:


    FindPortalSide: Couldn't find a good match for which brush to assign to a portal near (1948.5 1024.0 435.5)
    Leaf 0 contents: CONTENTS_SOLID
    Leaf 1 contents:
    viscontents (node 0 contents ^ node 1 contents): CONTENTS_SOLID
    This means that none of the brushes in leaf 0 or 1 that touches the portal has CONTENTS_SOLID
    Check for a huge brush enclosing the coordinates above that has contents CONTENTS_SOLID
    Candidate brush IDs:

    *** Suppressing further FindPortalSide errors.... ***
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (0)
    Creating default LDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
    skybox/sky_day01_01*.vmt
    ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
    Creating default HDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
    skybox/sky_day01_01*.vmt
    ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    done (1) (31665 bytes)
    Static prop models/props_forest/sawmill_window1a.mdl outside the map (480.00, 352.00, 393.00)
    Static prop models/props_forest/sawmill_window1c.mdl outside the map (480.00, 214.00, 393.00)
    Static prop models/props_farm/awning001.mdl outside the map (459.00, 278.00, 473.89)
    Static prop models/props_farm/awning002.mdl outside the map (482.00, -63.00, 486.00)
    Static prop models/props_forest/sawmill_window1a.mdl outside the map (479.55, -85.86, 398.31)
    Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Compacting texture/material tables...
    Reduced 489 texinfos to 329
    Reduced 14 texdatas to 13 (373 bytes to 344)
    Writing C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\dusty2.bsp
    Wrote ZIP buffer, estimated size 107084, actual size 106602
    1 second elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\dusty2"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Jun 14 2017)
    6 threads
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\dusty2.bsp
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\dusty2.prt
    LoadPortals: couldn't read c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\dusty2.prt


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\dusty2"

    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (Jun 14 2017)

    Valve Radiosity Simulator
    6 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    unknown light specifier type - lights

    [56 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\dusty2.bsp
    No vis information, direct lighting only.
    Setting up ray-trace acceleration structure... Done (0.16 seconds)
    998 faces
    116367 square feet [16756894.00 square inches]
    12 Displacements
    7541 Square Feet [1086045.38 Square Inches]
    0 direct lights
    BuildFacelights: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Build Patch/Sample Hash Table(s).....Done<0.0047 sec>
    FinalLightFace: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (1)
    FinalLightFace Done
    0 of 0 (0% of) surface lights went in leaf ambient cubes.
    ThreadComputeLeafAmbient: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (1)
    Writing leaf ambient...done
    Ready to Finish

    Object names Objects/Maxobjs Memory / Maxmem Fullness
    ------------ --------------- --------------- --------
    models 1/1024 48/49152 ( 0.1%)
    brushes 83/8192 996/98304 ( 1.0%)
    brushsides 609/65536 4872/524288 ( 0.9%)
    planes 554/65536 11080/1310720 ( 0.8%)
    vertexes 1594/65536 19128/786432 ( 2.4%)
    nodes 654/65536 20928/2097152 ( 1.0%)
    texinfos 329/12288 23688/884736 ( 2.7%)
    texdata 13/2048 416/65536 ( 0.6%)
    dispinfos 12/0 2112/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_verts 972/0 19440/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_tris 1536/0 3072/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_lmsamples 21168/0 21168/0 ( 0.0%)
    faces 998/65536 55888/3670016 ( 1.5%)
    hdr faces 0/65536 0/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    origfaces 373/65536 20888/3670016 ( 0.6%)
    leaves 656/65536 20992/2097152 ( 1.0%)
    leaffaces 1133/65536 2266/131072 ( 1.7%)
    leafbrushes 347/65536 694/131072 ( 0.5%)
    areas 2/256 16/2048 ( 0.8%)
    surfedges 6393/512000 25572/2048000 ( 1.2%)
    edges 3421/256000 13684/1024000 ( 1.3%)
    LDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    HDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    leafwaterdata 0/32768 0/393216 ( 0.0%)
    waterstrips 119/32768 1190/327680 ( 0.4%)
    waterverts 0/65536 0/786432 ( 0.0%)
    waterindices 1989/65536 3978/131072 ( 3.0%)
    cubemapsamples 0/1024 0/16384 ( 0.0%)
    overlays 0/512 0/180224 ( 0.0%)
    LDR lightdata [variable] 1027896/0 ( 0.0%)
    HDR lightdata [variable] 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    visdata [variable] 0/16777216 ( 0.0%)
    entdata [variable] 358/393216 ( 0.1%)
    LDR ambient table 656/65536 2624/262144 ( 1.0%)
    HDR ambient table 656/65536 2624/262144 ( 1.0%)
    LDR leaf ambient 383/65536 10724/1835008 ( 0.6%)
    HDR leaf ambient 656/65536 18368/1835008 ( 1.0%)
    occluders 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder polygons 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder vert ind 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    detail props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    static props [variable] 1/5424 ( 0.0%)
    pakfile [variable] 106602/0 ( 0.0%)
    physics [variable] 31665/4194304 ( 0.8%)
    physics terrain [variable] 1324/1048576 ( 0.1%)

    Level flags = 0

    Total triangle count: 2905
    Writing c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\dusty2.bsp
    2 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\dusty2.bsp" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\maps\dusty2.bsp"


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\hl2.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" -novid +map "dusty2" -steam

    I tried that before, doesn't work sadly.

    The windows are static and dynamic, does this say anything?
     
  6. Bunker Junker

    Bunker Junker L3: Member

    Messages:
    107
    Positive Ratings:
    19
    Also something I forgot to note: There's no skybox. (Just throwing that in there in case it has something to do with this issue.)
     
  7. Werewolf

    aa Werewolf Probably not a real Werewolf

    Messages:
    699
    Positive Ratings:
    198
    No 3D skybox, or no skybox at all? Because you have a leak and a mass of FindPortalSide errors. Fix those, then you might find the rest of your map starts working.
    That means they can be either a prop_static or a prop_dynamic. By default you should use prop_static, unless you need to have the prop change skin, move or animate (providing it has alternate skins, is parented and animations respectively)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Da Spud Lord

    aa Da Spud Lord L0: Shitty Member

    Messages:
    535
    Positive Ratings:
    383
    The game considers some of your props to be outside the map, so it removes them upon compile. Seal the map to fix this.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Bunker Junker

    Bunker Junker L3: Member

    Messages:
    107
    Positive Ratings:
    19
    I usually don't add skyboxs till I get a great amount of my map done. (Because from my experience, skyboxs take a long while to work.)

    Hmm, I guess it's due to the lack of a skybox sealing the place.
     
  10. RaVaGe

    aa RaVaGe

    Messages:
    723
    Positive Ratings:
    1,020
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. Bunker Junker

    Bunker Junker L3: Member

    Messages:
    107
    Positive Ratings:
    19
  12. Yabayabayaba

    Yabayabayaba L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    240
    Positive Ratings:
    66
    you can use:cordonedit::cordonenable: to make a box around the map, hammer will automatically seal the map, and compile as if it was inside a giant sky box brush. Only things within the cube will be compiled, or loaded in hammer. You can use this till you want to make a skybox
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. Bunker Junker

    Bunker Junker L3: Member

    Messages:
    107
    Positive Ratings:
    19
    Ahh alright, thanks for the info.
     
  14. Powerlord

    Powerlord L3: Member

    Messages:
    124
    Positive Ratings:
    58
    It's worth noting that animating includes being able to shoot out the glass in windows that support it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. Lampenpam

    aa Lampenpam

    Messages:
    994
    Positive Ratings:
    329
    weird method, but you might wanna disable VVIS and VRAD compile to save time and check your map. Since when you dont have a proper skybox at all, and just compile for basic testing of things like entities and layout you only need to compile VBSP which is a lot faster. As Yabayabayaba said, the cordon tool helps out too.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. Bunker Junker

    Bunker Junker L3: Member

    Messages:
    107
    Positive Ratings:
    19
    Mmm alright, I guess I'll try that out, thanks.
     
  17. Tuaam

    Tuaam L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    326
    Positive Ratings:
    185
    I'm curious, are your entities prop_detail or prop_static?

    If they're prop_detail, make them prop_static.
     
  18. Bunker Junker

    Bunker Junker L3: Member

    Messages:
    107
    Positive Ratings:
    19
    All I know is that they're prop_static and prop_dynamic.
     
  19. Da Spud Lord

    aa Da Spud Lord L0: Shitty Member

    Messages:
    535
    Positive Ratings:
    383
    No, he's asking what entity class you're using for the props, not what prop types the selected model supports.
     
  20. Bunker Junker

    Bunker Junker L3: Member

    Messages:
    107
    Positive Ratings:
    19
    Well looks like I'm an idiot, they're prop_static.


    And just to make sure in case this happens in the future, how do you change a prop's entity class?