Lighting Issues

N_wasabi

L1: Registered
Jun 16, 2018
Hello,

I am quite new to Source mapping and I've come across a peculiar problem, where shadows are rendered incorrectly on adjacent brushes. I was following UEAKcrash's mapping tutorial. Everything was fine until Chapter 2 Episode 3, which involved clipping a brush to make doorways. The result was this:

eIAEyX6.jpg

Strangely, when viewed from inside the room which this wall formed (with a generic light entity inside the room), this doesn't happen:

XJndvhh.jpg

Furthermore, I tried making another map, with custom textures, and the same problem appeared, except with the weird shadows occurring not only when two brushes were adjacent to each other, but also on a single brush alone:

C66L9FR.jpg

VMF file for the first map is attached. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• first_map.vmf
    57.8 KB · Views: 142

Da Spud Lord

Occasionally I make maps
aa
Mar 23, 2017
Can't look at it ATM, but I assume all the brush faces are aligned and on the same plane?

N_wasabi

Jun 16, 2018
Can't look at it ATM, but I assume all the brush faces are aligned and on the same plane?
Yes.

It seems this an issue involving the skybox - when I replaced it with standard dev textures, everything turned out to be fine.

Da Spud Lord

Occasionally I make maps
aa
Mar 23, 2017
What if you remove environmental lighting but keep the skybox? Delete your light_environment (temporarily, perhaps create a new VMF if you don't want to lose you sky lighting settings), but keep your skybox brushes, then recompile.

Another Bad Pun

In the shadows, he saw four eyes lit by fire
aa
Jan 15, 2011
I looked at your .vmf. Everything seems as it should be - your brushwork is also pretty nice! Your lightmaps are okay and the portalfile doesn't seem to show any visleaf cuts that would cause an issue like this.