[wip] rd_lab

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by WillWow_mc, Mar 11, 2015.

  1. WillWow_mc

    WillWow_mc L1: Registered

    Messages:
    41
    Positive Ratings:
    6
    As this forum can be used for discussing maps as well as showing them in here, I'm pretty sure I'm legitimately able to post this without screenshots, etc..
    (I will post screenshots, but only a little later, once I finish up my current editing and updating of the map)

    Hi! This is my first map for TF2, but I intend to make it my best. That is of course, until I make another one later on!

    It's not finished, but an early beta is up on a server I'm hosting (Early RB_Lab Map Testing Server is the name), so please, if you'd like to see the basic current layout, feel free to join it.

    Here are some notes about the map currently:
    I've realised through my friends while testing the current map that I've let it be almost a pyro heaven. I intend to fix it, very soon.
    A massive gameplay fix is in order; the C robot and spawn location, along with the D robot location. They are really unbalanced, and I'm going to do something about it.
    I'm adding a small tank-like thing in the B robot room that will be a way to put yourself out while on fire. It's a tank which will look like it has laboratory use, to fit the scene.
    The whole map is going to be extended a little, between the C and D robots a little length will be added, to make room for a new underground tunnel starting near the lasers, and going under the spawn. This is to lower sentry effectiveness near the core (demo men can now plonk bombs up there safely), and also link up to make another flank route past the enemy spawn.
    The A robot room will be thinned, and I will add a door on each side to the newly clear area on the main battlefield. This is part of the original map design I had.
    Upstairs will be added to the rooves of the bases, with a small administrative-looking area and a sniper spot.
    There is a hole above the exit of the maintenance vent in the red base, I'm going to fix that soon.
    Another fix coming soon is the lighting, which isn't very good in some places.
    I need to fix the blue lasers not disabling when every single robot is destroyed in the blue base.
    I need to fix the re-supply cabinet in the red spawn.

    That's about all for the RD_LAB map, and I'll update this post with changes and plans.

    Feedback is required! (Not really, :p )
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2015
  2. WillWow_mc

    WillWow_mc L1: Registered

    Messages:
    41
    Positive Ratings:
    6
    Holy crap, can someone move this to the map workshop?

    I didn't intend for this to become about the map itself. Oops...

    (Feeling soooooo stupid and embarrassed right now)
     
  3. Coding Ethan

    Coding Ethan L69: Deviant Member

    Messages:
    69
    Positive Ratings:
    52
    What is the ip for the server?
     
  4. radarhead

    aa radarhead Hands out ratings like cheap cigars

    Messages:
    1,004
    Positive Ratings:
    543
    Actually, because this isn't really a map format thread, questions and discussions is the correct location. No need to be embarressed!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. WillWow_mc

    WillWow_mc L1: Registered

    Messages:
    41
    Positive Ratings:
    6
    Thank goodness I wasn't posting in the wrong location... phew!

    The server is currently offline, as I'm editing the map a little to fix multiple issues.
    It'll be on in a few hours.

    To find the server:
    Just search for rd (in the map search) in the main server browser, and it should come up.
    The name is "Early RD_Lab Map Testing Server".
     
  6. WillWow_mc

    WillWow_mc L1: Registered

    Messages:
    41
    Positive Ratings:
    6
    Alrighty, I'm compiling the newest version of the map and the server will be up in but a moment.

    Also, does anyone know how to set it to show the correct name of the map and the gamemode, instead of ZERO LENGTH FILE?

    Is it to do with the [gamemode]_[mapname]_english.txt file or something? (I'm checking now)

    Edit: The server is up. IP is 101.160.71.10:27015.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2015
  7. WillWow_mc

    WillWow_mc L1: Registered

    Messages:
    41
    Positive Ratings:
    6
    So, from some comments on the map in-game, I'm going to:

    Make sentries less effective in the laboratory (B robot room),
    Widen the side flank routes a little,
    Make the Laboratory longer (B robot room),
    Make a small health and ammo pickup in the side spawn flank room,
    Slightly re-work the flanking of the spawn,
    Stop the console being filled by a prop error,
    Turn the stairs down from the upstairs heading to the core room into a big room with a slope, instead of a cramped hallway with stairs (too maze-like, and hard to see where you are),
    and, of course, get around to making the underground area.

    If there's anything I may have missed, please let me know.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2015
  8. WillWow_mc

    WillWow_mc L1: Registered

    Messages:
    41
    Positive Ratings:
    6
    Alrighty, I've made my current 'best' version of the map. The only things I haven't done is the underground and a couple of small hiccups.

    So yeah, the server's on, and I am going to find out more about testing maps.
     
  9. ExtraCheesyPie

    ExtraCheesyPie L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    487
    Positive Ratings:
    127
    No screenshot or download?
     
  10. WillWow_mc

    WillWow_mc L1: Registered

    Messages:
    41
    Positive Ratings:
    6
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2015
  11. WillWow_mc

    WillWow_mc L1: Registered

    Messages:
    41
    Positive Ratings:
    6
    I'll put the server up again, if you want to try it please join it instead of just trying singleplayer, as you can give me real-time feedback.

    (As the impromptu ended earlier, I can't get it tested on there)
     
  12. Vel0city

    aa Vel0city func_fish

    Messages:
    1,930
    Positive Ratings:
    1,540
    Screenshots are done with F5, and after you've closed TF2 Steam will show you the screenshots, and in the same window you can upload them to the Steam Cloud and after that you can link those here.

    Also: don't give out custom materials in separate maps. Bake them into the bsp with something like Pakrat or VIDE.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. henke37

    aa henke37

    Messages:
    1,910
    Positive Ratings:
    446
    Or you can use the devshots system. It's automated and reusable.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. WillWow_mc

    WillWow_mc L1: Registered

    Messages:
    41
    Positive Ratings:
    6
    Ok. (The other materials don't work ATM anyways, it probably would require editing the .RES files...)

    And yeah, I know about screenshotting with F5, just I don't know how to disable the HUD (Sorry, I just haven't looled it up yet).
     
  15. henke37

    aa henke37

    Messages:
    1,910
    Positive Ratings:
    446
    The devshots system automatically disables the hud, viewmodel, and anything else that would get in the way.
     
  16. WillWow_mc

    WillWow_mc L1: Registered

    Messages:
    41
    Positive Ratings:
    6
    Is the dev shots system already in source?
    Or is it a plugin? (I'm guessing it's already in it?)
     
  17. henke37

    aa henke37

    Messages:
    1,910
    Positive Ratings:
    446
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  18. WillWow_mc

    WillWow_mc L1: Registered

    Messages:
    41
    Positive Ratings:
    6
    Alrighty.

    New map changes:
    Fixed the lighting in the labs (B robot room).
    Added some more item spawns.
    Attempted to make some cameras for spectators.

    I'm going to make a little map of the place in paint or something to show to you all. I also have an older sketch of the original design.
     
  19. WillWow_mc

    WillWow_mc L1: Registered

    Messages:
    41
    Positive Ratings:
    6
    Alright, I'm back from my break and I'm working on this map again, and I'll (hopefully) be able to have my newest version of this map tested. If anyone can point me in the direction of who may be able to host it, I'd be thankful. (And testing it as not a full version but an in-development version).
     
  20. Lampenpam

    aa Lampenpam

    Messages:
    1,019
    Positive Ratings:
    337
    cl_drawhud 0
    r_drawviewmodel 0

    to disable the HUD and weapon
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1