-further reduced travel distances for both teams
-readjusted respawn times for both teams
-reworked the area outside BLU spawn to make it less open
-optimized lower flank route to improve ease of travel
-covered up some nasty sightlines
-added a new flank route into A
-replaced 2 dropdowns with ramps
-fixed existing ramp orientation to better align with map flow
-added rock texture to arches (still deciding on theme, might not go with desert)

Read the rest of this update entry...

puxorb

L69: Emoticon
aa
Dec 15, 2013
Hey if anyone is good at making attack/defend maps and wants to offer any advice, I'd greatly appreciate it. I've gotten a lot of great feedback but don't really know how to apply it. I'm still a bit of a noob when it comes to the gamemode. Actually, I've never been successful doing any serious map.

Tiftid

the Embodiment of Scarlet Devil
aa
Sep 10, 2016
Hey if anyone is good at making attack/defend maps and wants to offer any advice, I'd greatly appreciate it. I've gotten a lot of great feedback but don't really know how to apply it. I'm still a bit of a noob when it comes to the gamemode. Actually, I've never been successful doing any serious map.
Alright, I watched through the demos and read through the feedback and looked at a4, and I'm ready to offer my thoughts:

Firstly, you really haven't had a single good test yet. A1 and A3 both suffered from low playercounts, and A2 suffered from a respawn time bug that would have ruined the experience on any map. Don't be afraid to retest if you get low playercounts.

Retesting is also a good thing to do just to get a large sample size. You can have good rounds and bad rounds on any map. If the teams are that imbalanced, even Upward can suffer from points rolling just because BLU is so good they always win every teamfight. What you need to figure out for your map is the extent of team imbalance it takes for the gameplay to break.