An interesting problem with cubemaps.

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by emeraldscorpion, Dec 14, 2009.

1. emeraldscorpion

emeraldscorpion L1: Registered

Positive Ratings:
    I've been tackling this issue with my map for a couple months now. Whenever I try to build cubemaps, I must be doing something wrong, because I continue to get errors.
    I use these commands from the wiki:
    mat_specular 0
    buildcubemaps
    mat_specular 1
    disconnect
    sv_cheats 1
    mat_reloadallmaterials
    sv_cheats 0
    I've compiled in HDR, and built cubemaps in both HDR and not-HDR, but I still get the same purple/black checkerboard patterns when I test it on a server. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Here's some screens.

2. Daedryon

Daedryon L3: Member

Positive Ratings:
    Do you have separate entities around your map in every open area, called "env_cubemap"?

Wherever there's an open area that's not cut off from anything, you need an env_cubemap. 1 per open area.

The instant an area becomes cut off, or let's say you have a separate room you can only teleport to, you need a env_cubemap for that separate room.

If you haven't added them, add some env_cubemap Entities, then try the commands.

Of course, I'm not sure if that's your problem.

3. Dr. Spud

aa Dr. Spud Grossly Incandescent

Positive Ratings:
    Did you change the map's file name since compiling cubemaps?

4. x6herbius

aa x6herbius

Positive Ratings:
    What I'd recommend doing (works for me):

Start up the map.
    mat_specular 0
    buildcubemaps
    Disconnect.

Options -> Turn HDR off.
    Start up the map.
    buildcubemaps
    Disconnect.

Options -> Turn HDR back on.
    Quit the game,

Restart the game.
    Start up the map.

Cubemaps should display correctly, unless of course you have no env_cubemaps in anyway. You may also want to put "mat_specular 1" into your autoexec, since once you've set it to 0 the game seems to like to keep it that way.