Pyroland info?

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Antome, Jun 28, 2012.

  1. Antome

    Antome L1: Registered

    Messages:
    3
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    It is evident that the pyroland textures are separate, or embedded into the maps in some form. Some official maps have it, some do not. Has there been any announcement or info as to how we can put pyroland textures onto maps?

    In theory, not only could you give the map alternative textures, you could have a different aesthetic choice entirely.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2012
  2. Bloodhound

    Bloodhound L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    316
    Positive Ratings:
    239
    I don't think this is IN the map. Since they didn't updated all the maps recently.
    I think it's a theme replacement, this is why it only works on dust themed maps. (At least I think it's only there)
     
  3. Antome

    Antome L1: Registered

    Messages:
    3
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    That would make sense, considering none of the maps were updated. It would still be interesting to see how we could go about implementing it.
     
  4. Jeremy

    Jeremy L11: Posh Member

    Messages:
    829
    Positive Ratings:
    251
    It also works on Viaduct.
     
  5. Crash

    aa Crash func_nerd

    Messages:
    3,190
    Positive Ratings:
    4,916
    But the maps WERE updated. Slowly overtime, one by one, changing really minor things, and it was really suspicious.

    Am I the only one that remembers this?
     
  6. Mr. Happy

    Mr. Happy L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    320
    Positive Ratings:
    144
    Pyroland is accomplished via shader, in some materials folders there is a "replacements.vmt" that specifies keyvalues to insert into materials. These keyvalues come in sets, for example, there can be a "brick" set that affects all the materials in that folder with "brick" in the name. These keyvalues tint, add the stripe, and adjust the lightmaps. They also add a "grey step" which I think is palletted color or lighting values. I think there's a bit more to the parameters but I didn't dig very deep.

    Don't know how it determines which maps have pyroland.
     
  7. Bloodhound

    Bloodhound L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    316
    Positive Ratings:
    239
    Maybe hardcoded? But I don't think so.
    Some guys tested it:
    • 2Fort
    • Badlands (Arena)
    • Badlands (Control Point)
    • Badlands (King of the Hill)
    • Badwater Basin
    • Doomsday
    • Dustbowl
    • Gravel Pit
    • Gold Rush
    • Hightower
    • Viaduct
     
  8. tyler

    aa tyler snail prince, master of a ruined tower

    Messages:
    5,035
    Positive Ratings:
    3,992
    Yes, but they added nav stuff only iirc.
     
  9. ZooL

    ZooL L1: Registered

    Messages:
    32
    Positive Ratings:
    12
    [ my investigation ]

    Mr.Happy have right ... I've seen PyroVision in these files ... also there is a folder for the replacements : "RJ"

    now we need to find how to ... i think they have really recompiled the maps with an specific entity in ...

    i'll decompile Dustbowl to see if there is a strange entity, I'll let you know ...

    // ----------------------------------------------------------

    try to decompile cp_dustbowl. when u open it in hammer, it crash ... it do the same for all maps who have the PyroVision working ... without Doomsday

    // -----------------------------------------------------------

    however if u extract, for example Doomsday, rename it, then launch it, no pyrovisions textures are visibles ... there are normal textures ...

    // -----------------------------------------------------------

    i tried to rename Trade_Plaza into Sd_Doomsday ... then Textures Worked !

    Demoman: SEE ??

    [​IMG]

    Conclusion :

    its really in a .TXT file where are the names of the maps who have these texture replacement ...

    now we need to find where it is ...

    [ I hope it helped you ]
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2012
  10. ZooL

    ZooL L1: Registered

    Messages:
    32
    Positive Ratings:
    12
    Also worked with my map ^^

    [​IMG]
    http://forums.tf2maps.net/showthread.php?t=19564

    I'VE FOUND THE .CFG !!! its in :

    tf/cfg/mtp.cfg

    here the content



    MAYBE IF WE ADD OUR MAPS LIKE THAT :

    "MAP NAME.bsp" "1"

    it will work !!!

    ;)

    [ I hope it helped you !! (i'm sure ;p ) ]

    http://forums.tf2maps.net/showthread.php?t=19631
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2012
  11. Untouch

    Untouch L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    187
    Positive Ratings:
    43
    It's a file that does it, called replacements.vmt.
     
  12. ZooL

    ZooL L1: Registered

    Messages:
    32
    Positive Ratings:
    12
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2012