Move prop_dynamic parented

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by gommi, Apr 18, 2016.

  1. gommi

    gommi L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    57
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    how could i move a prop_dynamic parented with a func_door?
    i want to create a door that looks like 2 chains are dragging it up. how could i do that?
     
  2. Vel0city

    aa Vel0city func_fish

    Messages:
    1,931
    Positive Ratings:
    1,540
    You make the func_door the parent of the prop_dynamic by putting the child-entity's (in this case the prop_dynamic) parentname keyvalue to the parent-entity's (in this case the func_door) targetname. So you give the func_door a name, which you then put into the prop_dynamic's parentname box in the object properties window. It will then follow it as the func_door moves up and down.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. RodionJenga

    RodionJenga L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    234
    Positive Ratings:
    239
    (Then get some prop_dynamic chain models and parent them to the door too)

    Also sound would really sell this, I wonder if the degroot c door sound would make sense. If it's not a normal door it shouldn't make normal door sounds
     
  4. gommi

    gommi L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    57
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    i already did that but they are not showing up in game.
    this is in hammer
    [​IMG]

    the 2 chains are grouped and those are the values[​IMG]

    and here's the func door
    [​IMG]

    in game is showing up without chains, and there's no model since you cannot collide with chains
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Vel0city

    aa Vel0city func_fish

    Messages:
    1,931
    Positive Ratings:
    1,540
    Is the chain model flagged with being a dynamic object? You can check in the model browser in the bottom right, you'll see a bunch of tabs. One of them says "Info", then check to see if the checkbox next to "Dynamic" is checked. If it isn't, it means that model wasn't compiled to be dynamic so you can't use it in this case.
     
  6. gommi

    gommi L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    57
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    could you be more specific about where i could find those menus?
     
  7. RodionJenga

    RodionJenga L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    234
    Positive Ratings:
    239
    This window is what they mean:
    http://imgur.com/1mbof4E

    Apparently the foundry chain DOES have dynamic checked, so it must be something else

    EDIT: Sorta reverse ninja'd since I was too lazy to draw on mine
     
  8. Vel0city

    aa Vel0city func_fish

    Messages:
    1,931
    Positive Ratings:
    1,540
    Open up the prop_dynamic, the click on World Model which opens up the model browser (where you select your models). In the model browser menu, in the bottom right 1/4th of the menu, there's a bunch of tabs with things like Render, Sequence, etc. The last one of those is called Info. When you open up that tab you'll see 3 checkboxes with Static, Physics and Dynamic. Make sure that the model you're trying to use with a prop_dynamic has the Dynamic box checked, otherwise it won't work.

    [​IMG]

    EDIT ninja'd. If it has Dynamic checked, I'd recommend compiling with proper lighting to see if that makes it work. If it doesn't I'm out of ideas.
     
  9. gommi

    gommi L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    57
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    yep, it's checked and running with vis, rad and bsp still not show up the chains. this is the compile log btw:

    (interpoler says no error)

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_aztec.vmf"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Mar 2 2016)
    8 threads
    materialPath: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_aztec.vmf
    ConVarRef mat_reduceparticles doesn't point to an existing ConVar
    Patching WVT material: maps/cp_aztec/dev/dev_blendmeasure_wvt_patch
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (0)
    writing C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_aztec.prt...Building visibility clusters...
    done (0)
    Creating default LDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
    skybox/sky_hydro_01*.vmt
    ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
    Creating default HDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
    skybox/sky_hydro_01*.vmt
    ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Found a displacement edge abutting multiple other edges.
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    done (0) (68912 bytes)
    Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Water found with no water_lod_control entity, creating a default one.
    Compacting texture/material tables...
    Reduced 147 texinfos to 102
    Reduced 25 texdatas to 22 (668 bytes to 551)
    Writing C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_aztec.bsp
    Wrote ZIP buffer, estimated size 213093, actual size 212209
    0 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_aztec"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Mar 2 2016)
    8 threads
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_aztec.bsp
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_aztec.prt
    490 portalclusters
    1576 numportals
    BasePortalVis: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    PortalFlow: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (21)
    Optimized: 784 visible clusters (0.61%)
    Total clusters visible: 127776
    Average clusters visible: 260
    Building PAS...
    Average clusters audible: 486
    visdatasize:59292 compressed from 62720
    writing c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_aztec.bsp
    21 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_aztec"

    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (Mar 2 2016)

    Valve Radiosity Simulator
    8 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    unknown light specifier type - lights

    [56 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_aztec.bsp
    Setting up ray-trace acceleration structure... Done (0.07 seconds)
    1605 faces
    5 degenerate faces
    1137321 square feet [163774320.00 square inches]
    12 Displacements
    132309 Square Feet [19052604.00 Square Inches]
    1600 patches before subdivision
    49636 patches after subdivision
    sun extent from map=0.121869
    11 direct lights
    BuildFacelights: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (4)
    BuildVisLeafs: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (2)
    transfers 4561750, max 521
    transfer lists: 34.8 megs
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #1 added RGB(294293, 362897, 493375)
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #2 added RGB(54842, 64979, 85768)
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #3 added RGB(12713, 14664, 18782)
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #4 added RGB(4322, 4885, 6093)
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #5 added RGB(1633, 1831, 2238)
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #6 added RGB(679, 754, 909)
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #7 added RGB(289, 319, 380)
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #8 added RGB(126, 138, 163)
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #9 added RGB(55, 60, 70)
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #10 added RGB(24, 26, 31)
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #11 added RGB(11, 12, 13)
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #12 added RGB(5, 5, 6)
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #13 added RGB(2, 2, 3)
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #14 added RGB(1, 1, 1)
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #15 added RGB(0, 0, 1)
    Build Patch/Sample Hash Table(s).....Done<0.0143 sec>
    FinalLightFace: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (1)
    FinalLightFace Done
    0 of 0 (0% of) surface lights went in leaf ambient cubes.
    ThreadComputeLeafAmbient: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (3)
    Writing leaf ambient...done
    Ready to Finish

    Object names Objects/Maxobjs Memory / Maxmem Fullness
    ------------ --------------- --------------- --------
    models 17/1024 816/49152 ( 1.7%)
    brushes 195/8192 2340/98304 ( 2.4%)
    brushsides 1497/65536 11976/524288 ( 2.3%)
    planes 1348/65536 26960/1310720 ( 2.1%)
    vertexes 2290/65536 27480/786432 ( 3.5%)
    nodes 1032/65536 33024/2097152 ( 1.6%)
    texinfos 102/12288 7344/884736 ( 0.8%)
    texdata 22/2048 704/65536 ( 1.1%)
    dispinfos 12/0 2112/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_verts 972/0 19440/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_tris 1536/0 3072/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_lmsamples 126256/0 126256/0 ( 0.0%)
    faces 1605/65536 89880/3670016 ( 2.4%)
    hdr faces 0/65536 0/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    origfaces 687/65536 38472/3670016 ( 1.0%)
    leaves 1050/65536 33600/2097152 ( 1.6%)
    leaffaces 1897/65536 3794/131072 ( 2.9%)
    leafbrushes 618/65536 1236/131072 ( 0.9%)
    areas 2/256 16/2048 ( 0.8%)
    surfedges 10202/512000 40808/2048000 ( 2.0%)
    edges 5706/256000 22824/1024000 ( 2.2%)
    LDR worldlights 11/8192 968/720896 ( 0.1%)
    HDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    leafwaterdata 1/32768 12/393216 ( 0.0%)
    waterstrips 132/32768 1320/327680 ( 0.4%)
    waterverts 0/65536 0/786432 ( 0.0%)
    waterindices 2022/65536 4044/131072 ( 3.1%)
    cubemapsamples 0/1024 0/16384 ( 0.0%)
    overlays 0/512 0/180224 ( 0.0%)
    LDR lightdata [variable] 1788760/0 ( 0.0%)
    HDR lightdata [variable] 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    visdata [variable] 59292/16777216 ( 0.4%)
    entdata [variable] 19842/393216 ( 5.0%)
    LDR ambient table 1050/65536 4200/262144 ( 1.6%)
    HDR ambient table 1050/65536 4200/262144 ( 1.6%)
    LDR leaf ambient 6669/65536 186732/1835008 (10.2%)
    HDR leaf ambient 1050/65536 29400/1835008 ( 1.6%)
    occluders 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder polygons 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder vert ind 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    detail props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    static props [variable] 1/2442 ( 0.0%)
    pakfile [variable] 212209/0 ( 0.0%)
    physics [variable] 68912/4194304 ( 1.6%)
    physics terrain [variable] 2192/1048576 ( 0.2%)

    Level flags = 0

    Total triangle count: 4302
    Writing c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_aztec.bsp
    10 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_aztec.bsp" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\maps\cp_aztec.bsp"


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\hl2.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" -novid -high -nojoy -sw +map "cp_aztec" -steam
     
  10. Vel0city

    aa Vel0city func_fish

    Messages:
    1,931
    Positive Ratings:
    1,540
    I mean, do you have any lighting (light_environment or light/light_spot) setup in the map? Running VRAD doesn't automatically mean having lighting.
     
  11. gommi

    gommi L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    57
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    yep i've set some random basic light just to not let rooms complitely black so ye the lights are presents
     
  12. hutty

    aa hutty

    Messages:
    471
    Positive Ratings:
    375
    Is the entire chain inside the map? The game figures out where the chain is based on its origin point. Which is a little yellow line in hammer. If this point is above the skybox and outside the map, then the game may assume that the chain is not visible to the player, and therefore skip rendering it.
     
  13. Skullio

    Skullio L1: Registered

    Messages:
    49
    Positive Ratings:
    51
    You have 5 degenerate faces, that can cause weird problems but I didnt think it would mess with models showing?

    Check your console for red text when you run the game it might tell you if it is failing to load the model for some reason
     
  14. gommi

    gommi L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    57
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    it's inside the map