optimum

Discussion in 'Map Factory' started by J4CK8, Oct 22, 2009.

  1. J4CK8

    J4CK8 L11: Posh Member

    Messages:
    820
    Positive Ratings:
    223
    koth_optimum is my attempt at a 'new' gamemode. It's a mix of koth and ctf. The centre control point must be held by either team for a total of 7.5 minutes. This time can be reduced however by 1.5 minutes for every flag captured, but the team must have hold of the control point when the timer reaches 0:00 to win.

    One slight issue with the map, it has to change the flag cap limit to 0 at the start of the map, then returns it to 3 when the map is finished. This isn't a problem if the server has a value of 3 for the limit, but if it has anything else then the map will change that to 3 :(
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2009
  2. Smetzle

    Smetzle L3: Member

    Messages:
    112
    Positive Ratings:
    51
    Very interesting gamemode idea, but 10 minutes seems too long - you would have to capture the flag 7 times to get the timer down to the same amount as normal KoTH, which could take a while :p
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. J4CK8

    J4CK8 L11: Posh Member

    Messages:
    820
    Positive Ratings:
    223
    Yeah, I forgot to mention that it's only on 10 for my own testing purposes. But the flag shouldn't be that hard to cap. The whole idea of the gamemode is to reduce the sentry spam, as with two things to defend, and the control point probably quite hard to get a sentry on...but testing wil lreveal all I hope.

    I was thinking around 7:30 minutes total cap time, with 1:30 lost for every flag cap, but again it will probably need some major changes after testing.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. The_Ulf

    The_Ulf L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    399
    Positive Ratings:
    112
    This is a very interesting idea! I think you can get around the flag issue by simply switching which gametype the flag thinks is set on and/or simulating captures with the new brush entities Valve gave us. See if there's a flag mode that has the appropriate settings you'd need:
    http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/TF2/Flag_Game_Types#Chart_of_game_types

    The fact that the flag itself can't decide how many times you need to capture it to win makes me so sad :(
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. J4CK8

    J4CK8 L11: Posh Member

    Messages:
    820
    Positive Ratings:
    223
    That can be set via a server command, which can be entered from a map via a point_servercommand entity. But it would be very helpful if Valve included an option to choose how many flag caps can be made, would make sense and would really help mappers out :)
     
  6. absurdistof

    aa absurdistof

    Messages:
    1,242
    Positive Ratings:
    394
    Looks great! I really like how the gameplay/flow looks to play out! :D
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. Omnomnick

    Omnomnick L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    335
    Positive Ratings:
    100
    Looks like an interesting mix of vertical and wide open gameplay, should be nice to see how this works out.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. J4CK8

    J4CK8 L11: Posh Member

    Messages:
    820
    Positive Ratings:
    223
    Changed the total cap time to 7.5 minutes, and is now reduced by 1.5 for every flag captured, and sumbited for Wednesday gameday.
     
  9. A Boojum Snark

    aa A Boojum Snark Toraipoddodezain Mazahabado

    Messages:
    4,769
    Positive Ratings:
    5,535
    But you can't do this. There are numerous cases where the map will switch at a time other than when the map considers the end, leaving it to never reset.
     
  10. J4CK8

    J4CK8 L11: Posh Member

    Messages:
    820
    Positive Ratings:
    223
    Ah, well in that case...the map gamemode is screwed :(

    EDIT: Does this mean it's out of gameday?
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2009
  11. A Boojum Snark

    aa A Boojum Snark Toraipoddodezain Mazahabado

    Messages:
    4,769
    Positive Ratings:
    5,535
    No, because in a structured setting like that it's not an issue. However, I thought you could get by the cap limit by using a different mode setting on the flag, why don't you try some of them.
     
  12. J4CK8

    J4CK8 L11: Posh Member

    Messages:
    820
    Positive Ratings:
    223
    Ok, what do I need to alter and where?

    And with the current timer settings, I can get away with only needing a cap limit of 6 anyway, as once a team has capped it 5 times, they must then control the point.
     
  13. UKCS-Alias

    aa UKCS-Alias Mann vs Machine... or... Mapper vs Meta?

    Messages:
    1,264
    Positive Ratings:
    749
    Cant you use CP's for also? Then when a team has captured the flag it will actualy cap the CP and not even care about a cap limit. The CP that gets capped can simply be hidden on the hud. And after it was capped just reset the owner to neutral.

    Havent tested this but in theory it should work
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1