Buy Elder Scrolls Online: Greymoor for PC at Green Man Gaming

need help making train to go back and forth

Discussion in 'Tutorials & Resources' started by static2601, Dec 25, 2011.

1. static2601

static2601 L2: Junior Member

Positive Ratings:
    I'm making a train that goes forward on a track when you press a button, then when it reaches its destination, have another button the will make it go back to where it came from. this train would carry passengers a to b and back. I don't want user controls and want to lock the buttons so player cant press them when their in transit. I have an idea how to do this but I'm not very good with trains since i haven't used them much in my maps.
    I've tried making one but i couldn't get it to "branch" right. I also had the other button set it backwards but its too slow and cant speed it up. Any help is much appreciated.

2. Fr0Z3nR

aa Fr0Z3nR Creator of blackholes & memes. Destroyer of forums

Positive Ratings:
    branching is really tough to do, and usually causes a lot of issues... this might be why you are having issues...

For 1 path simple back and force just set the activation so that when it activates, it disables itself until the train arrives at its destination... when it reaches the final path_track, have it enable.

3. static2601

Positive Ratings:
    but how do i make the train go back on the same track at the same speed?

4. Fr0Z3nR

aa Fr0Z3nR Creator of blackholes & memes. Destroyer of forums

Positive Ratings:
    I think (i haven't done this in a while) but I think it is just set direction, then on button activation, start forward...

This tutorial may help

5. static2601

Positive Ratings: