Run Map error, "File cannot be found"

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Joeberto, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. Joeberto

    Joeberto L1: Registered

    Messages:
    7
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Ok, lets say i have a map- cp_snowmelt. I run it, it works fine. I add some stuff, run it again, but the new stuff doesnt show up. So i save it as cp_snowmelt_a1. Now when i run it i get this:

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\captain_cherios\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\captain_cherios\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\captain_cherios\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_snowmelt_a1"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (May 19 2009)
    3 threads
    materialPath: c:\program files\steam\steamapps\captain_cherios\team fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\captain_cherios\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_snowmelt_a1.vmf
    Error: displacement found on a(n) func_detail entity - not supported (entity 654, brush 0)


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\captain_cherios\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\captain_cherios\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\captain_cherios\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_snowmelt_a1"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (May 19 2009)
    3 threads
    reading c:\program files\steam\steamapps\captain_cherios\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_snowmelt_a1.bsp
    Error opening c:\program files\steam\steamapps\captain_cherios\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_snowmelt_a1.bsp

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\captain_cherios\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\captain_cherios\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\captain_cherios\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_snowmelt_a1"

    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (May 19 2009)

    Valve Radiosity Simulator
    3 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    [34 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\program files\steam\steamapps\captain_cherios\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_snowmelt_a1.bsp
    Error opening c:\program files\steam\steamapps\captain_cherios\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_snowmelt_a1.bsp

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\captain_cherios\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\cp_snowmelt_a1.bsp" "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\captain_cherios\team fortress 2\tf\maps\cp_snowmelt_a1.bsp"

    The command failed. Windows reported the error:
    "The system cannot find the file specified."


    I noticed that its looking for a .bsp file, when there is none yet. Can anyone help?
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2010
  2. Bockagon

    Bockagon L3: Member

    Messages:
    147
    Positive Ratings:
    72
    there's your problem, find and delete/remake the offending brush. The best way to do this would be by toggling visgroups. Turn off everything except displacements and start looking around for a func_detail.
     
  3. Joeberto

    Joeberto L1: Registered

    Messages:
    7
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    thanks... but i dont know how to toggle visgroups... can you help me some more? :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2010
  4. Dr. ROCKZO

    Dr. ROCKZO L8: Fancy Shmancy Member

    Messages:
    580
    Positive Ratings:
    159
    Here's a guide which will help you understand them, which is always important.

    What you want to do is uncheck all of the visgroups other than "displacements" this will hide everything apart from displacements. Then go around selecting them and pressing alt-enter finding the one that's func_detail. Once you've found it, press ctrl-shift-W on it, to move it to world and make it a regular displacement again. Enable all your visgroups again and you should be set.