Boxes

KotH Boxes A10

Piesofthesky

L1: Registered
Dec 7, 2016
Boxes - KOTH aboard a cargo ship full of cargo containers.

koth_boxes

This is my first attempt at creating a more serious map. I wanted to resist my urge to make crazy off-the-grid brushwork and focus on the basics, which gave me the idea to make much of my map from cargo containers. Eventually, I want to include a scrolling 3D skybox, similar to ctf_convoy.

It has been worked on and refined until my ideas ran dry, and I would now like feedback to help inform the direction the map should take next. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Piesofthesky

Dec 7, 2016
Made several changes based on feedback from play-testing. The point has been raised to make the height disadvantage less punishing. Height variation has been added to the main sight-line to make sniper play more difficult and less linear. Changes were made to the below-deck area, to make it less cramped, and to add a few more options for getting around. This included a stairway from the engine room to the point. The biggest change by far in this version however is the spawn room rework. The spawn is now far bigger, and it is more clear where the player needs to go to leave spawn.

Read the rest of this update entry...

Piesofthesky

Dec 7, 2016
Version A7

The two biggest problems facing previous versions of this map were:
- The containers do not cut visleaves,
- and the containers need staticproplighting, which takes forever during the compile because there are so many of them.
These were both big problems, and both contributed towards lag. I came up with an interesting idea to solve both of these problems; I took screenshots of the containers, made custom textures for all four sides, and replaced the containers with brushes.