[WIP] junk boat

Discussion in 'Models' started by fireblade42, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. fireblade42

    fireblade42 L1: Registered

    Messages:
    9
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    im trying to make a boat for tf2. ive made a model that looks good to me. i just cant make a texture that doesnt look like crap. could i get someone to make a texture for me. i can give those interested a uv map of the boat.
    also i have 3dsmax5 and could only find a plugin for vtf textures for max 6,7,8. if someone could point me to a how to of a work around or a plugin for max5 it would make things easier.

    here are some renderings with the crappy texture on:
     
  2. laghlagh

    laghlagh L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    391
    Positive Ratings:
    52
    Could you post a reference picture, so we can see what kind of look you'd like?
    Please send me the UV :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2009
  3. zpqrei

    aa zpqrei Theme Changer Extraordinaire

    Messages:
    1,067
    Positive Ratings:
    1,122
    Looking awesome so far! Would the sail have a RED or BLU logo on it? That'd be awesome! Youme (from what little I've seen) is pretty good at textures. Or go to Nineaxis' tutorial on TF2 overlays or FPSBanana will have tutorials.

    zpqrei
     
  4. Spike

    Spike L10: Glamorous Member

    Messages:
    716
    Positive Ratings:
    82
    I'm also doing a ship :D
     
  5. Zeewier

    Zeewier L9: Fashionable Member

    Messages:
    619
    Positive Ratings:
    130
    I also made a boat for pl_deepwater :)
     
  6. fireblade42

    fireblade42 L1: Registered

    Messages:
    9
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    i'm planning on have the sails to be folded up, since in the map i'm making it for it will be docked. i might make sails that are up, then an asian inspired red/blue logo on the sails would be sweet. i know how to make a vtf file, i just can't use it in 3dsmax5. i did find a tutorial, but it assumed that the plugin would let you use the vtf. i didnt see that the tutorial had a way to do it without the plugin.

    the attachment is the reference pic i used to make the model. thou that one is close to what i'm thinking for a texture, i'd want it to be more red team themed. if its not too much trouble a blue themed one would be nice too. and im wanting the boat to be named osaka.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2009
  7. Sgt Frag

    Sgt Frag L14: Epic Member

    Messages:
    1,443
    Positive Ratings:
    294
    Well, Max5 is pretty old so there might not be a plug-in.

    You can probably just use a tga for Max. Make a vtf with photoshop or the vtf tool.

    Then use the model and vtf in TF2. Been awhile, but I don't think that a vtf has to be applied in max to get it to export and show in game. Just the name of the tex.

    Even easier, you can just make tga's out of Valve textures and use them in Max. Then you don't need 1 custom tex, just use a bunch of stock ones. They fit in game and they are good. You just have to UV seperate pieces of the boat and point the vtf files to the textures.
     
  8. zpqrei

    aa zpqrei Theme Changer Extraordinaire

    Messages:
    1,067
    Positive Ratings:
    1,122
    Also, for modeling I'd consider getting XSI Mod Tool. Valve used it for Half-Life 2. It's got all the exporting to Source things you'll need and can import Max files.

    XSI Mod Tool

    zpqrei
     
  9. eerieone

    aa eerieone

    Messages:
    1,009
    Positive Ratings:
    569
  10. laghlagh

    laghlagh L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    391
    Positive Ratings:
    52
    Has that UV you sent me been resized to 2048x2048? It shouldn't need to be that large, can I have an unresized one?
     
  11. Sgt Frag

    Sgt Frag L14: Epic Member

    Messages:
    1,443
    Positive Ratings:
    294

    That's the hard way though. I'm pretty sure all you need to do when exporting models from Max is have the name applied (ie:woodwall), not the extension (vtf).
    So you can quickly change a vtf to tga so you can see it in Max, apply it.

    Then export. Then it's the vmt file that points to a material of that name (again, no extension required) and it will point to a vtf not a tga.

    So exporting to another 3d program just to export it again with a vtf applied is pointless. Max is much easier to use, especially applying materials and unwrapping.
     
  12. fireblade42

    fireblade42 L1: Registered

    Messages:
    9
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    i tried to use xsimod, its a pain to use. could only import a .obj (no .3ds or .max). the material editor just does not want to be obvious to use. i find that beating my head on a brick wall a more efficient way of giving me a headache than use it.



    @Notoorjus: do you have a preferred size?
     
  13. laghlagh

    laghlagh L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    391
    Positive Ratings:
    52
    Well it's 1024 on most props in tf2. However, it's hard skinning a model when you can't view the results, so don't count on me at all.
     
  14. fireblade42

    fireblade42 L1: Registered

    Messages:
    9
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    ok so i made a texture thats better but still could use some improvement. i kind of used stg frag's idea, except its a custom texture using stock ones. i have been using this tutorial to make the model. ive exported it to a .smd and compiled it. but when i go into hammer to place in the map, the model has a notexture texture. i put the texture in /materials/models, the same place i pointed the compiler (well pointed to models but it should look in materials by default.) i also tried to make just a box model and custom texture using the same steps and it shows up in hammer with the notexture as well. any ideas that i might have overlooked? do i need to name the material in max the same as the custom texture? the tutorial highlighted something about naming the diffuse texture and the .vmt the same. it wasnt very clear on what needs to be named (a picture would have helped.)

    edit: here are two renderings from max
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2009
  15. fireblade42

    fireblade42 L1: Registered

    Messages:
    9
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    ah, found the problem. i used vtfedit to make the vmt and it was pointing to were the vtf was made on a different drive. so i fix the vmt and it works just fine now.