[WIP] ctf_center_ice

Discussion in 'WIP (Work in Progress)' started by Fox Diller, Oct 30, 2008.

1. Fox Diller

Fox Diller L1: Registered

Positive Ratings:
    Center Ice

A friend of mine wanted to have a TF2 map that had hockey in it somehow. As we discussed this in chat, I decided to bust open the Source SDK for the first time and plop out a map in under two weeks. This post would be on my forth day, so let me tell you I am still a newb. I'm getting most of my layout that I drew out previously with my friend the Pyro, she and her boyfriend are going to make custom models of hockey gear in the red/blue design styles set forth by Valve. I however will be in charge of the map, layout, soundscape, and lighting.

Here are some of the highlights:
    • CTF - Capture The Flag
    • Outdoor + Indoor Play
    • Large Map
    • TF2 Style Zamboni
    • Hockey Jerseys for each Class
    • Ice Effect On Rink (slippery)
    • TF2 Style Custom Hockey Models/Textures

The idea hides behind the fact that two teams play in a hockey game, and I suck most of the creativity from my memories as a child in a hockey center. This means I'm Canadian for those playing at home. The respawn room begins downstairs in the dressing rooms/showers. The main area dissolves into a computer center, supposedly calculating scores and averages. I'm trying to keep the downstairs areas mirrored and some well placed signs.

I'm open to suggestion, constructive-anything, questions, and comments. I wanted to share this WIP with you guys since I'd be a bad person if I didn't thank you guys for the help you've given me! Remember? Google introduced us.

Steps To Completion:
    • Rough Brush Map (COMPLETE)
    • Seasoning (COMPLETE)
    • Final Layout (COMPLETE)
    • Base Details (56%)
    • Rink Area + Details (INCOMPLETE)
    • Rink Stands + Sniper Blocks (INCOMPLETE)
    • Outside Details (INCOMPLETE)
    • Dance (0%)
    • Profit (-100%)