[WIP] cp_mapnel

jasska

L1: Registered
Sep 8, 2008
(I dont have a good name for it yet, this name is temporary)

My first WIP thread as well as my introduction. I have been reading these forums quite alot since I started making maps about 5 months ago. Havent posted much though. Only maps I have released so far are two soldier jumpmaps. Both had some non tf2 style scenery, but for this project I plan to make everything fit into the tf2 theme. This is my first try at a official gamestyle. This is 5-CP granary/badlands style pushmap mainly for competitive 6v6 play.
The first idea behind this map was to use parts of my favorite Valve map Gravel Pit in 5-CP pushmap, the most popular maptype played competitively.
Middle is very similar to Gravel Pit point B. 1st/5th CPs are somewhat similar to Gravel C. 2nd/4th point is the one that Ive had most problems with and its the one that may need most editing. I havent thought much about theme and details so far. Some Gravel Pit scenery to middle and maybe something more spytech towards the last point. I want to keep it fairly simple, easy to optimize. Theres no skybox or lighting. Captimes and respawntimes will need tweaking. So will health and ammo placement. For now i just cut brushes in an angle to make those slopes. Later on I will make those using displacements.

Overhead view:
mapnel110001B.JPG

1st/5th cp:
mapnel110002.jpg

mapnel110003.jpg

mapnel110004.jpg

2nd/4th cp:
mapnel110005.jpg

mapnel110006.jpg

middle:
mapnel110008.jpg

mapnel110009.jpg

Download link:
http://koti.welho.com/jhallen1/mapnel/

The map has become more complex than what I orginally intended, because I kept adding stuff to counter different spots instead of modifying the ones that are already there. I really need to make it smaller and simplify it. Main thing I have really struggled so far is the basic layout of different paths to CPs.
Sorry for any spelling errors, my english is not perfect.

Any feedback and suggestions welcomed.

Last edited: