Wildmire

Discussion in 'Map Factory' started by Zipok, Jul 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zipok

    Zipok L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    96
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    Some people saw this map when it was still in devtextures, and knew the name rocketsilo. Much work has been done, and we’ve been rather isolated from the publicity during the progress. But now, as the map is seeing some closed beta tests already, we decided it is the time to post some screenshots to show you guys how the map has developed.

    http://koti.mbnet.fi/tmalmi/rocketsilo/compare/wildmire.html [OPEN CAREFULLY, CONTAINS LOTS OF PICTURES]

    Open beta release is going to happen, but first we’re gonna run enough playtests to get the majority of the things right. I’m hoping we can release this to the public during this month. :)

    - Zipok & Tarmo-

    (P.S. Decided to keep the old thread to avoid unwanted topicspam)
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2009
  2. Waif

    Waif L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    413
    Positive Ratings:
    125
    Shouldn't this be in the maps forum?
     
  3. Zipok

    Zipok L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    96
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    No idea. I searched about a WIP -section for a while, but I didn't notice one. If there is one, correct me.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2009
  4. Fraz

    aa Fraz Blu Hatte, Greyscale Backdrop.

    Messages:
    944
    Positive Ratings:
    564
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Zipok

    Zipok L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    96
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    Hmp, I didn't notice any WIP threads in there, and that made me ignore that forum, as I thought it was for maps further in progress. Is it possible for an admin to move this thread?

    P.S. Back to topic, I want to hear opinions and thoughts on the layout and my suggestion. :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2009
  6. A Boojum Snark

    aa A Boojum Snark Toraipoddodezain Mazahabado

    Messages:
    4,769
    Positive Ratings:
    5,527
    That's because all but one of them ARE work in progress, so it'd would be silly to label them as such :p

    Moved your thread though, now you need to edit the first post and fix up the format. :)
     
  7. Hanz

    aa Hanz Ravin' Rabbid

    Messages:
    844
    Positive Ratings:
    466
    It looks like you don't have lights and stuff in your map.

    Maybe download this, choose an environment and put it in your map. :)
     
  8. Zipok

    Zipok L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    96
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    Why should i add lights and such to a map which is quite obviously in a layout testing phase? Such things would become a nuisance this early into mapping process.

    Thank you Snark, and forgive me, I thought [WIP] threads were still the trend here. :D
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2009
  9. Fraz

    aa Fraz Blu Hatte, Greyscale Backdrop.

    Messages:
    944
    Positive Ratings:
    564
    Well, for lighting. If you have no lights in a map it sets the server to fullbright. (ewww fullbright) I don't know the specifics, but it's bad not to have lights.
     
  10. Zipok

    Zipok L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    96
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    Yes, I know that, but I've ran around the map for a while and came to the conclusion that it is enough to be playtestable. I just can't see a good reason to add lights, just to have to redo them once the graphic- and detailwork begins.
     
  11. Loc_n_lol

    Loc_n_lol L10: Glamorous Member

    Messages:
    726
    Positive Ratings:
    273
    The reason is, you can't submit a fullbright map for playtest, because it makes every following map in the server rotation also fullbright. Besides, even in dev textures, it looks much better (read : less repulsive), and it helps a lot to navigate around your map if you have some shadows.
    Just put a few light entities where you think you need them, make sure there is enough lighting everywhere, and that should be enough for a first time.
     
  12. Delusibeta

    Delusibeta L3: Member

    Messages:
    100
    Positive Ratings:
    14
    Maps with no light entities (also known as fullbright maps) deactivate any light entities on any subsequent maps on the server, I think.

    Generally, trying to get a fullbright map on a server will result in the following maps also being fullbright, resulting in the mapmakers shaking their fists and the server requiring a restart, I believe.

    Brief: good luck getting a playtest with a fullbright map, you'll need it!

    [Edit] Damn, ninja'd.
     
  13. The_Ulf

    The_Ulf L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    399
    Positive Ratings:
    112
    You can plan ahead and do the bulk of the lighting work now - and then only have to tweak it during the art passes (because goodness knows no one gets the lights right on the first shot).
     
  14. Zipok

    Zipok L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    96
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    Shame the idea was to do this map as a co-op project, with myself providing layout planning and therefore balancing the map and all that fine-tuning that kicks in with betatests, while someone else does the visuals. Which include lights.

    I'd have to make the lights just for that playday and I really don't want to go through lighting the entire map well enough just to have them deleted after alphatests. :/ All I want to do is to hope for the admins to be graceful and let the fullbright version be tested, but if it gets denied and I really can't get alphatesters anywhere else, I guess I'll have to do the lights for this version as well.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2009
  15. Ten19

    Ten19 L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    85
    Positive Ratings:
    38
    You can just run through and drop rudimentary lights above the surface, you don't need to do it with props and get all exact. Just something that isn't fullbright.
     
  16. PanFrie

    PanFrie L1: Registered

    Messages:
    18
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    You can get a map lit in under 10 minutes. It really isn't that hard to just drop a bunch of light entities around to add a bit of depth to a map, especially with dev textures. without lights, everything looks flat, it's hard to judge your distance from stuff.
     
  17. Zipok

    Zipok L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    96
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    There. Took me far more than 10 minutes though, but some lights are done for now. :p
     
  18. red_flame586

    red_flame586 L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    437
    Positive Ratings:
    108
    some of your pics are duplicates, fix that up
     
  19. Zipok

    Zipok L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    96
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    Haha! :D The devtextures were added by valve in a patch someday. I panicked and hotfixed an issue that didn't need fixing, for an hour.
    *Facepalm.*
     
  20. Zipok

    Zipok L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    96
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    After a short silence, a4 is ready for layout testing purposes.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.