why are my entities leaked?

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by quekki, Jul 24, 2017.

1. quekki

quekki L1: Registered

Positive Ratings:
    i just checked my compile log on interlopers and it says that an entity is leaked. if i remove that entity and compile + check the compile log again, there is another error which says that a certain entity is leaked. it seems like they are all leaked. what did i do wrong? they are completely sealed off. (im new to hammer so i may have done something wrong)

2. killohurtz

aa killohurtz Distinction in Applied Carving

Positive Ratings:
    https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Leak

Leaks happen when there is a hole in your map leading to the void. The first entity to detect the leak (typically the closest one) reports it in the compile log. You'll have to patch the hole in order to fix it; simply removing the entity will cause the next nearest one to report the leak instead.

Edit: The exception to this is if the entity was outside an otherwise sealed map. In that case, removing (or moving) the entity will fix it, but that doesn't sound like the problem you have based on your description.

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. quekki

quekki L1: Registered

Positive Ratings:
    alright thx, i didnt know about finding leaks by loading a pointfile. there was a small part in a room that i forgot to seal off but i fixed it now

4. pi-ka

pi-ka L1: Registered

Positive Ratings:
    I also have a tip for entities not-leakage (is that even a word?)

I usually create a SKY-BOX, just a GIANT box made out of skyblock material, making any leaks impossible!

I hope this helps not making leaks further on for you!

• Respectfully Disagree Respectfully Disagree x 8
    • Funny Funny x 1
  5. killohurtz

Positive Ratings: