Water Situation

DrPowerKraut

L1: Registered
May 9, 2010
I'm making a map that has a glass window looking down at some water. In the middle of the water is a hole that you can go through. My problem is I need to be able to see through the glass so I can see the bottom (or anyone in the water) but so you can't see through the opening so it looks like it's open to the water. Any Ideas?:confused: I can post screenshots if needed.

DrPowerKraut

May 9, 2010
Kinda Like that. Sorry about the crude drawing, my screenshots weren't good enough to understand.
EDIT: This is what I have not what I want.
hwmw50.png

Last edited:

DrPowerKraut

May 9, 2010
You can cut out that square of water and make the water texture nodraw.

That might work. How do I make the water texture nodraw? I'm just starting to learn how to make vmts but I can do some basic things.

@CapellanCitizen: I can't see through the water's surface, which is under the glass, but I can cut the glass.

Last edited:

M0rtanius

May 17, 2009
You apply the nodraw texture to the face, which you want transparent, I guess.

Or you can make that block of water into a func_brush and make it transparent in the entity properties.

DrPowerKraut

May 9, 2010
Unfortunately I need the top transparent but I need the top to be the water texture to make it a water brush, and it never really works very well if you attach an entity to water, but i'll try it.

CapellanCitizen

L2: Junior Member
Mar 31, 2010
Oh, I see. You would need to make a water material that has no to top texture, and then cut it like M0rtanius said.

Material creation help, because you're gonna need it for this.
More specific information for creating water.

Possibly a vmt like

Code:
"Water"
{
	"%keywords" "tf"
	$forcecheap 1

"%tooltexture" "dev/tfwater_normal"
	"%compilewater" 1
	"$abovewater" 1
	//"$nofresnel" "1"

$underwateroverlay "effects/water_warp"
	"$envmap" "env_cubemap"	
	"$refracttexture" "_rt_WaterRefraction"
	"$refractamount" ".32"