vvis and vrad "crash"

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Zeklyn, Aug 24, 2016.

  1. Zeklyn

    Zeklyn L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    79
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    Well the title says almost all

    vvis and vrad crashes when i try to run the map

    Well it doesnt actually crash but it uses all my memory:

    http://prnt.sc/c9wbev

    http://prnt.sc/c9wboq

    http://prnt.sc/c9wbxx

    I have to end the task every time, which ends with no light and more errors etc..

    Any way to fix this?

    Pardon my bad english
     
  2. HolySnickerPuffs

    aa HolySnickerPuffs Bad at TF2, Loves Mapping For TF2

    Messages:
    888
    Positive Ratings:
    1,203
    It happens a lot to me too. Just let your map compile and have no other programs running. Leave the computer to compile your map for 10 minutes, and DON'T touch it AT ALL during this time.

    If after the 10 minutes, the map is not done compiling, then shut down Hammer, end VVIS.exe and VRAD.exe, and try again.
     
  3. Zeklyn

    Zeklyn L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    79
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    I'll try it now
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. iiboharz

    aa iiboharz Meme Queen

    Messages:
    707
    Positive Ratings:
    1,030
    Yeah - the compiler will often seem to hang when it's working, just wait it out and you will be fine!
     
  5. Zeklyn

    Zeklyn L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    79
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    Update: After 3 hours its nearly finished. Cant wait until i find bugs and glitches..
     
  6. iiboharz

    aa iiboharz Meme Queen

    Messages:
    707
    Positive Ratings:
    1,030
    Sounds like you have really bad vis!
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  7. Zeklyn

    Zeklyn L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    79
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    Yep.. My pc crashed when i slept, I have no idea what happened.

    It was stuck at 9/10
     
  8. Zeklyn

    Zeklyn L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    79
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    Update again: The compile log crashes, nothing happens after that

    Any suggestions?
     
  9. Pocket

    aa Pocket func_croc

    Messages:
    4,489
    Positive Ratings:
    2,217
    Run it with just VBSP and see if there are any errors. A leak can cause VRAD to take forever because all the light escapes into infinity and it tries to keep tracing it.
     
  10. Zeklyn

    Zeklyn L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    79
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    This is what i got when i ran it with just vbsp
    It only crash when i run RAD too


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\Lukas\Desktop\Ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\TF2 Map Remakes\MARIO_KART_remake.vmf"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Jul 26 2016)
    8 threads
    materialPath: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Users\Lukas\Desktop\Ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\TF2 Map Remakes\MARIO_KART_remake.vmf
    ConVarRef mat_reduceparticles doesn't point to an existing ConVar
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    Chop Details...done (0)
    Find Visible Detail Sides...
    Merged 16 detail faces...done (0)
    Merging details...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (0)
    writing C:\Users\Lukas\Desktop\Ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\TF2 Map Remakes\MARIO_KART_remake.prt...Building visibility clusters...
    done (1)
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    done (1) (420818 bytes)
    Error loading studio model ""!
    Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Compacting texture/material tables...
    Reduced 2310 texinfos to 1446
    Reduced 240 texdatas to 199 (7686 bytes to 5860)
    Writing C:\Users\Lukas\Desktop\Ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\TF2 Map Remakes\MARIO_KART_remake.bsp
    Wrote ZIP buffer, estimated size 41083, actual size 30015
    7 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" -fast "C:\Users\Lukas\Desktop\Ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\TF2 Map Remakes\MARIO_KART_remake"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Jul 26 2016)
    fastvis = true
    8 threads
    reading c:\users\lukas\desktop\ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\tf2 map remakes\MARIO_KART_remake.bsp
    reading c:\users\lukas\desktop\ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\tf2 map remakes\MARIO_KART_remake.prt
    1595 portalclusters
    5632 numportals
    BasePortalVis: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (1)
    Optimized: 26582 visible clusters (1.14%)
    Total clusters visible: 2333931
    Average clusters visible: 1463
    Building PAS...
    Average clusters audible: 1541
    visdatasize:640335 compressed from 638000
    writing c:\users\lukas\desktop\ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\tf2 map remakes\MARIO_KART_remake.bsp
    1 second elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Users\Lukas\Desktop\Ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\TF2 Map Remakes\MARIO_KART_remake.bsp" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\maps\MARIO_KART_remake.bsp"


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\hl2.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" -windowed -noborder -w 1920 -h 1080 -novid +map "MARIO_KART_remake" -steam
     
  11. Zeklyn

    Zeklyn L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    79
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    This is the only error I can see, the problem is that this have happened in every version of my remake, with no problems
     
  12. HolySnickerPuffs

    aa HolySnickerPuffs Bad at TF2, Loves Mapping For TF2

    Messages:
    888
    Positive Ratings:
    1,203
    I've also been having that problem. The only problem it gives you is that you can't build cubemaps. Everything else is fine, so I just ignore that.

    The reason your VVIS and VRAD are crashing may be because you have too many vvis leaves. Try using HINT brushes, func_visclusters, and func_details to help make the compile time faster.
     
  13. UKCS-Alias

    aa UKCS-Alias Mann vs Machine... or... Mapper vs Meta?

    Messages:
    1,264
    Positive Ratings:
    748
    For normal vvis this is very normal to happen. These 3 dots and number can sometimes take as long as just reaching the 9 on its own.
    Now when this only takes 20 minutes to compile this isnt a hazard, but with 2 hours it is. At which point learning to optimize becomes a must.

    But i notice vbsp has the following:
    Error loading studio model ""!
    It looks like a prop is invalid. And maybe that is why vrad crashes as it doesnt know how to handle it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Zeklyn

    Zeklyn L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    79
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    faster isnt the problem, the compile log is literally crashing. It just says "Not Responding" I've tried to leave it like that for 30min but it wont respond
     
  15. Zeklyn

    Zeklyn L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    79
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    I'll look over the map and check
     
  16. UKCS-Alias

    aa UKCS-Alias Mann vs Machine... or... Mapper vs Meta?

    Messages:
    1,264
    Positive Ratings:
    748
    For that you might want to go directly to the log file and open it with notepad++. The file still gets updated even if the hammer window crashes. The log is always placed next to the bsp and appends the latest logging to the end of the file (so it can contain 100 compiles).
    N++ might not always recognise it has changed, but by manualy reopening the file (there is a shortcut for this in n++) this can be solved.
    This allows you to follow the status.
     
  17. Zeklyn

    Zeklyn L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    79
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    EDIT: It happened on the unedited version of the map too. It worked perfect before
    Here's the latest one:



    materialPath: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Users\Lukas\Desktop\Ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\TF2 Map Remakes\MARIO_KART_remake.vmf
    ConVarRef mat_reduceparticles doesn't point to an existing ConVar
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...100...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    Chop Details...done (0)
    Find Visible Detail Sides...
    Merged 16 detail faces...done (0)
    Merging details...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (0)
    writing C:\Users\Lukas\Desktop\Ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\TF2 Map Remakes\MARIO_KART_remake.prt...Building visibility clusters...
    done (1)
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    done (1) (420818 bytes)
    Error loading studio model ""!
    Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Compacting texture/material tables...
    Reduced 2310 texinfos to 1446
    Reduced 240 texdatas to 199 (7686 bytes to 5860)
    Writing C:\Users\Lukas\Desktop\Ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\TF2 Map Remakes\MARIO_KART_remake.bsp
    Wrote ZIP buffer, estimated size 41083, actual size 30015
    7 seconds elapsed



    8 threads
    reading c:\users\lukas\desktop\ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\tf2 map remakes\MARIO_KART_remake.bsp
    reading c:\users\lukas\desktop\ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\tf2 map remakes\MARIO_KART_remake.prt
    1595 portalclusters
    5632 numportals
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10Optimized: 26582 visible clusters (1.14%)
    Total clusters visible: 2333931
    Average clusters visible: 1463
    Building PAS...
    Average clusters audible: 1541
    visdatasize:640335 compressed from 638000
    writing c:\users\lukas\desktop\ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\tf2 map remakes\MARIO_KART_remake.bsp
    1 second elapsed



    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    [56 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\users\lukas\desktop\ting jeg ikke trenger på skrivebordet\vmex098g\tf2 map remakes\MARIO_KART_remake.bsp
    6706 faces
    1667394 square feet [240104800.00 square inches]
    40 Displacements
    28073 Square Feet [4042592.25 Square Inches]
    6706 patches before subdivision
    129556 patches after subdivision
    42 direct lights
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...100...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10transfers 32250999, max 1977
    transfer lists: 246.1 megs
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #1 added RGB(1116981, 1400572, 618773)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #2 added RGB(265548, 272660, 110206)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #3 added RGB(71598, 74022, 29382)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #4 added RGB(25005, 22883, 11055)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #5 added RGB(9924, 8505, 5019)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #6 added RGB(4728, 3633, 2505)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #7 added RGB(2424, 1718, 1302)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #8 added RGB(1339, 871, 691)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #9 added RGB(758, 459, 371)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #10 added RGB(441, 248, 200)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #11 added RGB(259, 136, 109)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #12 added RGB(153, 75, 60)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #13 added RGB(91, 42, 33)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #14 added RGB(54, 24, 18)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #15 added RGB(33, 13, 10)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #16 added RGB(20, 7, 6)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #17 added RGB(12, 4, 3)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #18 added RGB(7, 2, 2)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #19 added RGB(4, 1, 1)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #20 added RGB(3, 1, 1)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #21 added RGB(2, 0, 0)
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 Bounce #22 added RGB(1, 0, 0)
    Build Patch/Sample Hash Table(s).....Done<0.0338 sec>
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10FinalLightFace Done
    0 of 0 (0% of) surface lights went in leaf ambient cubes.
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10Writing leaf ambient...done
    Ready to Finish

    Object names Objects/Maxobjs Memory / Maxmem Fullness
    ------------ --------------- --------------- --------
    models 80/1024 3840/49152 ( 7.8%)
    brushes 1022/8192 12264/98304 (12.5%)
    brushsides 7223/65536 57784/524288 (11.0%)
    planes 4738/65536 94760/1310720 ( 7.2%)
    vertexes 9498/65536 113976/786432 (14.5%)
    nodes 3925/65536 125600/2097152 ( 6.0%)
    texinfos 1446/12288 104112/884736 (11.8%)
    texdata 199/2048 6368/65536 ( 9.7%)
    dispinfos 40/0 7040/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_verts 1000/0 20000/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_tris 1280/0 2560/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_lmsamples 104512/0 104512/0 ( 0.0%)
    faces 6706/65536 375536/3670016 (10.2%)
    hdr faces 0/65536 0/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    origfaces 3895/65536 218120/3670016 ( 5.9%)
    leaves 4006/65536 128192/2097152 ( 6.1%)
    leaffaces 7825/65536 15650/131072 (11.9%)
    leafbrushes 1873/65536 3746/131072 ( 2.9%)
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2016
  18. Zeklyn

    Zeklyn L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    79
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    I am not sure if this is allowed... Bump
     
  19. Zeklyn

    Zeklyn L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    79
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    bumping because i have no idea how i fix this
     
  20. Werewolf

    aa Werewolf Probably not a real Werewolf

    Messages:
    753
    Positive Ratings:
    213
    Those numbers look way too high, indicating your map is not optimized and therefore the reason VVIS is taking so long. VRAD taking a long time is fairly normal though you can optimize that too.

    Try watching these 2 videos and applying what they teach to your map.


    View: https://youtu.be/mIy0Usc8zXU



    View: https://youtu.be/swBfUW-Bsxs


    This guide is also a pretty good reference point you can read at any time - http://www.optimization.interlopers.net/index.php?chapter=intro

    As for it using using all your CPU while you compile, you can tell it to use less via the -threads command. Normally I would say google your CPU to see how many threads it can use, but in your case we already know that yours has 8 because it says so right in your compile logs.

    Next time you compile, switch to the advanced compiler and add -threads # at the front, so ti looks like this:
    [​IMG]

    Replace the # with the number you wish to use. As you can see I have mine set to 3. In your case, I'd say start with 6. It will compile slower, but it will take less of your CPU so you can still at least use the internet / listen to music / whatever you do.
     
Tags: