Vrad not working. (Or even the compiler)

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Skibur, Aug 25, 2012.

  1. Skibur

    Skibur L1: Registered

    Messages:
    20
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    Hello,
    I'm working on one of my maps, and it so happens that when I compiled it, the vrad or the vvis seems not doing their job. Instead, when I play my map in game, it renders everything fullbright. I checked my compiling log and there's no error what so ever. Not even a leak, so please don't say "It's a leak". I used the cordon tools and it seems like it works after cropping down to at least one half of my map. Beyond that point, it fails.

    I went ahead and optimize my map to it's fullest extent, using hint/skip, areaportal, and func_details. I even cropped down my map and extended the remaining pieces to the skybox, and still nothing.

    Here's the compiling log;
    Code:
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "d:\games\steam\steamapps\skibur\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "d:\games\steam\steamapps\skibur\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\Regretful\Dropbox\Public\mapsrc\map.vmf"
    
    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Aug 13 2012)
    8 threads
    materialPath: d:\games\steam\steamapps\skibur\team fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Users\Regretful\Dropbox\Public\mapsrc\map.vmf
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    Chop Details...done (0)
    Find Visible Detail Sides...
    Merged 108 detail faces...done (0)
    Merging details...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (1)
    writing C:\Users\Regretful\Dropbox\Public\mapsrc\map.prt...Building visibility clusters...
    done (0)
    Creating default LDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
       skybox/sky_day01_01*.vmt
     ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
    Creating default HDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
       skybox/sky_day01_01*.vmt
     ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    done (0) (180511 bytes)
    Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Compacting texture/material tables...
    Reduced 684 texinfos to 430
    Reduced 59 texdatas to 49 (1432 bytes to 1039)
    Writing C:\Users\Regretful\Dropbox\Public\mapsrc\map.bsp
    1 second elapsed
    
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "d:\games\steam\steamapps\skibur\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "d:\games\steam\steamapps\skibur\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\Regretful\Dropbox\Public\mapsrc\map"
    
    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Aug 13 2012)
    8 threads
    reading c:\users\regretful\dropbox\public\mapsrc\map.bsp
    reading c:\users\regretful\dropbox\public\mapsrc\map.prt
     396 portalclusters
    1055 numportals
    BasePortalVis:       0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    PortalFlow:          0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (7)
    Optimized: 381 visible clusters (0.54%)
    Total clusters visible: 71129
    Average clusters visible: 179
    Building PAS...
    Average clusters audible: 383
    visdatasize:38906  compressed from 44352
    writing c:\users\regretful\dropbox\public\mapsrc\map.bsp
    7 seconds elapsed
    
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "d:\games\steam\steamapps\skibur\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -both -game "d:\games\steam\steamapps\skibur\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Users\Regretful\Dropbox\Public\mapsrc\map"
    
    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (Aug 13 2012)
    
          Valve Radiosity Simulator     
    8 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    [34 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']
    
    Loading c:\users\regretful\dropbox\public\mapsrc\map.bsp
    Setting up ray-trace acceleration structure... Done (0.39 seconds)
    13769 faces
    3 degenerate faces
    1808993 square feet [260495008.00 square inches]
    1 Displacements
    1853 Square Feet [266836.25 Square Inches]
    13766 patches before subdivision
    
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Users\Regretful\Dropbox\Public\mapsrc\map.bsp" "d:\games\steam\steamapps\skibur\team fortress 2\tf\maps\map.bsp"
    
    I asked a few friends of mine, and they told me to optimize it (Which I've done), use "mat_fullbright 0" (Which doesn't do any differences), and check the compiler error for leaks and whatnot (Which, as you can see above, there isn't any error).

    I really need some assistance on trying to resolve the issue why my map is displaying fullbright.


     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
  2. tyler

    aa tyler snail prince, master of a ruined tower

    Messages:
    5,035
    Positive Ratings:
    3,990
    The last time I saw this happen it was because the person making the map hadn't func_detailed anything and had made a huge, complex map that VVIS and VRAD decided not to bother with. That's all I can say.

    You're also using a HL2 sky, and unless you're making a HL2 mod (which I doubt since you're in the TF2 directories) you should change that to a TF2 sky.

    And this is in the wrong forum.
     
  3. phi

    aa phi Let Pain Be Your Guide

    Messages:
    802
    Positive Ratings:
    1,579
    I know this might be a no-brainer, but do you have lights and an light_env in your map?
     
  4. Skibur

    Skibur L1: Registered

    Messages:
    20
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    Yes, I have some light_spotlight, some several lights, and one light_environment on the map.

    like I said, it works when I used the cordon tools where the map was cropped half of it's own dimension.

    If I was using different skyboxes, how would that make any differences? It compiles the same way for other skyboxes.

    Sorry if I was replying to the wrong forum.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
  5. tyler

    aa tyler snail prince, master of a ruined tower

    Messages:
    5,035
    Positive Ratings:
    3,990
  6. Skibur

    Skibur L1: Registered

    Messages:
    20
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    Believe me, I func_detail most complex objects, or even the object that were useless to the visleaf.

    But that's fine, you don't have to believe me, because I can tell you that I have done the optimization already.

    One thing I notice is that the ProcessBlock_Thread isn't doing anything. So I can say that there's something wrong with the vbsc compiler. Let me find that alternative compiling tools and see if it does the trick.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
  7. tyler

    aa tyler snail prince, master of a ruined tower

    Messages:
    5,035
    Positive Ratings:
    3,990
    If you're talking about VBCT, that's not an alternate compile tool. It still runs VBSP, VVIS and VRAD the same as Hammer. It just allocates memory differently.
     
  8. phi

    aa phi Let Pain Be Your Guide

    Messages:
    802
    Positive Ratings:
    1,579
    If that's the entire compile log, it looks like VRAD is just ignoring your map for some reason. Something's up, obviously, and as yyler said it's almost definitely something to do with the size of the map.

    If you're using VBCT, try compiling from Hammer. It might just be a rare issue with VBCT. And if you're compiling with Hammer, who knows, maybe compiling from VBCT might work.
     
  9. Skibur

    Skibur L1: Registered

    Messages:
    20
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    vbct seems to be running normally (It's compiling the the "BuildFacelights")

    So, I guess there's something wrong with Hammer's layout for compiling.


    Edit; Apparently vbct too has a problem. At least this one tells me what happened
    Interesting?
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
  10. henke37

    aa henke37

    Messages:
    1,919
    Positive Ratings:
    449
    Very, it points out the fact that vrad did in fact not complete successfully. vrad will normally do the table about how much space various things occupy. That table is missing in your log. There is a lot of other normal vrad output missing as well, but the table is the most blatant thing to look for at the end.
     
  11. phi

    aa phi Let Pain Be Your Guide

    Messages:
    802
    Positive Ratings:
    1,579
    What are the approximate dimensions of the map?
     
  12. Skibur

    Skibur L1: Registered

    Messages:
    20
    Positive Ratings:
    5
    I figured it out the problem. I didn't realize it but some of the texture on the map had a lightscale map set to 1 instead of 16. I wanted to thank to Egan for asking about my lightmap texture.