Very simple questions

dk0tp

L1: Registered
Jan 12, 2009
Hi all

I'm new to mapping and I've read through some of the articles on the Valve software Developer Wiki and following that tutorial I've made a simple map.

However, I still have some questions (Some of them I'm not sure how to ask, so I'm not sure what to search for)

I want to make a 'rooftop map', where the fighting takes place on the rooftops of some skyscrapers, but I'm not sure how to make it so that when somebody falls off, they die not from the fall damage but from falling a certain amount of height.

In the Respawn Area tut, it says: 'Its material should be tools/toolstrigger', but I can't find how to change the material?!?

When I create a brush with the block tool, its texture is the previous texture of whatever I selected which is not transparent, so how do I make it so that it looks like this? http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Image:RespawnArea-func_respawnroom.jpg

Also, what do I use to stop demomen from sticky jumping outside the map? Do I really have to create a REALLY high block to prevent him from flying away or is there some sort of tool to create invisible walls?

And when I make a rectangular block and I want to cut through it to make it look like an upside down square-like U (I want to make a doorway) do I have to make 3 rectangles and piece the together?

Thanks in advance for answering my questions. :p

And, a brush is made using the block tool... right?

Last edited:
Jan 31, 2008
dk0tp said:
I want to make a 'rooftop map', where the fighting takes place on the rooftops of some skyscrapers, but I'm not sure how to make it so that when somebody falls off, they die not from the fall damage but from falling a certain amount of height.

Make a trigger_hurt brush entity in the area you want the player to die in and texture it in the trigger texture

dk0tp said: