Vbsp crash

CHiNy

L1: Registered
Jan 6, 2009
Hi guys

I'm new to the whole forum thing so im just getting my head around posting new threads, so i apologise for this not being the most interesting post in the world...

Right, down to business...

Basically I've been using Hammer now on and off for a few months making maps for CSS and TF2. Recently Hammer, being the darling that it is has decided that it no longer wants to compile my maps! How dare it! :blink:

I have spent nearly a solid week trying to find a solution to this vbsp.exe crash and although i have found a few threads mentioning it, not 1 has been the same problem as mine (they tend to get further into compiling, mine crashes right after it gives you the date, after "4 threads") and neither has a solution been found.

I signed up here as you all seem to be a knowledgable bunch, and I would love to help along with the community, but when maps don't compile, i don't have much to offer :(

If you could all just please throw some ideas at me, I would be forever grateful and I'm sure many others would be as well, due to the lack of cover on the internet.

(I have tried suggested methods on the internet and have reinstalled steam, SDK, everything needed, and even did a system restore)

Thanks in advance!

Icarus

aa
Sep 10, 2008
If vbsp crashes for any map (have you tried it with others?) just try re-installing the SDK

CHiNy

Jan 6, 2009
If vbsp crashes for any map (have you tried it with others?) just try re-installing the SDK

I have, I said at the bottom, that didn't work.

It happens for any map i try to compile, even cp_game_entities which i tried as a test, and the same problem occurs :(

Apom

L6: Sharp Member
Sep 14, 2008
Did you properly set the target game (in the source SDK) ? Specifically, Orange Box - TF2.

A Boojum Snark

Toraipoddodezain Mazahabado
aa
Nov 2, 2007
Verify and/or defrag and/or refresh SDK. (though if you've reinstalled I'm not sure this will help)