Variables and triggers

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by SmallBiscuit, Oct 26, 2016.

1. SmallBiscuit

SmallBiscuit L7: Fancy Member

Positive Ratings:
    I need some help... I am a novice mapper, and I have a really cool idea for the next tf2 maps 72 hour contest... but one thing is tricking me up... how do I make it so that 2 independent variables (In my case, 2 capture points that can be captured independently of each other) can cause 1 output (In my case, a koth timer to start going down) basically, for visualization:

:cap:Variable 1------_
    ...............................\
    .................................> Output:helpers:(closest thing to a timer i could find...)
    ............................._/
    :cap:Variable 2------

Thank you for looking at this... I have no idea what I'm doing currently... halp...

ANSWERED!!!!!

Last edited: Oct 26, 2016
  2. 【EmNudge】

【EmNudge】 L4: Comfortable Member

Positive Ratings:
    If you want 2 variables to make one outcome upon completion, you're going to want to use a math_counter.

You should set its min to 0 and max to 2. It's initial should be 0 as well.
    [​IMG]
    When one of your variables happen, select the math_counter and add 1. Do this for both of the variables/entities.
    [​IMG]
    Have the math_counter setup so that OnHitMax something happens.
    [​IMG]

diagram to help:
    [​IMG]

• Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  3. SmallBiscuit

SmallBiscuit L7: Fancy Member

Positive Ratings:
    THANK YOU SO MUCH! THIS IS SAID NOWHERE ON THE DEVELOPMENT WIKI!:D:jimijam::engieyay::chord:

4. Narpas

Narpas L4: Comfortable Member

Positive Ratings:
    Or, you could use a logic_relay; have one output enable the relay, and the other to trigger it.

• Respectfully Disagree Respectfully Disagree x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. 【EmNudge】

Positive Ratings:
    true. My method works for numbers other than 2 though.

6. sooshey

aa sooshey :3c

Positive Ratings: