1. Hey there Guest,

The game servers have moved to semi-dedicated hardware and IPs have changed. Please see front page server widget for up-to-date game server information.

-=urgent sos call=-

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Mick-a-nator, Apr 13, 2009.

1. Mick-a-nator

aa Mick-a-nator

Positive Ratings:
    Some of you may know me from the chat or from the former WIP thread. For those who don't, or have forgotten, I am new to mapping but it has not stopped me creating an, I think, half-decent map. Now I have reached a (metaphorical) brick wall (or two).

I require the assistance of ANYONE AND EVERYONE WHO CAN OPTIMISE MAPS. Not only this help me with this map but I will use the map to work out for myself the next time.

I will update this post with a link to the base file and how to access me with entries.

Thank you all.

PS: Here is the download link... http://forums.tf2maps.net/downloads.php?do=file&id=1226

Last edited: Apr 14, 2009
  2. NightHawK

NightHawK L3: Member

Positive Ratings:
    Try doing it first. Seems like your being lazy. :( It's pretty easy to learn when you get try it yourself. Learn From Trial And Error. :p

3. Mick-a-nator

aa Mick-a-nator

Positive Ratings:
    Thx for the suggestion but I tried that and nearly broke my PC. I can't learn by trial and error, I suppose I'm too stubborn.

4. DJive

aa DJive Cake or Death?

Positive Ratings:
    i highly doubt that your first map would need any optimization, because of low brush/prop count.

Yes getting into a good habit is.. well good, but i wouldnt worry about ti just yet. In the mean time while-you-map i would check out the link in my sig with has a lot of stuff to do with optimizations.

5. eerieone

aa eerieone

Positive Ratings:
    first maps often have rather a high prop count, since it doesn´t take much to place them in comparison to brushing out a good looking building :)

you need to learn general optimization first hand, that is try and error