Unity Game - A Midnight Snack (by me)

Egan

aa
Feb 14, 2010
Hi, I made a game called A Midnight Snack available for download here.

This is my first attempt at making a game in unity, it was for a school project which started in October (I only really worked hard on it in the last 3 weeks). I learned a lot and figured I'd make a post about beginner stuff for unity since there's a lot of weird annoying things that you only learn after hours of figuring out why something doesn't work.

Lightmapping:
  • All lights in unity start off dynamic, and your environment lighting from your sun will eat the hell out of your fps if you have a large terrain. Have to set the terrain lighting to static. Can also set the environment lighting to baked only for a hard limit but then that requires tweaking (in MS I use two environment lights, one for baked - static props - and one for dynamic - viewmodel).
  • http://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/Lightmapping.html Check out 'Tweaking Bake Settings' for easy better-looking lightmaps.
Camera Controls:
  • You can hold right click to move the scene camera with the WASD keys, like in hammer.
3DS Max:
  • You have to bake animation into .fbx files and turn on 'resample' (whatever that means), or else the animations won't port into unity.
  • Name things in your 3ds max files appropriately. every single separate mesh. or else you'll end up with 100 'Cylinder1's all constituting different things confusingly.
  • It's easier to combine animations from within unity, rather than combining them just with 3dsmax (I'm sure some 3dsmax pros would argue otherwise but 3dsmax is labyrinthine for new artists).
Scripting:
  • After you're done editing code, and when you click back into the main window, let the scene reload before clicking your play button or you risk breaking the reloaded scripts (they won't show up in the test, and you'll have to make a new edit and re-reload).