CP Thurst

Discussion in 'Map Factory' started by Pawlakov, Jan 22, 2015.

?

Trains?

  1. Yes

    76.9%
  2. No

    23.1%
  1. Pawlakov

    Pawlakov L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    154
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    Thrust

    Hi, everyone! This is my new 5cp map. Layout inspired by cp_snakewater and appearance by cp_5gorge and tc_hydro.
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

    Give to me the most comments as possible!
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)


    ...I LIKE TRAINS! (and doors)
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2015
  2. HQDefault

    aa HQDefault ...what

    Messages:
    1,049
    Positive Ratings:
    428
    Very, very cool. I really like this.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Uncuepa

    aa Uncuepa

    Messages:
    770
    Positive Ratings:
    1,028
    Them ramps son. Them ramps.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  4. nightwatch

    aa nightwatch

    Messages:
    640
    Positive Ratings:
    446
    Your ramps are too damn steep.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Muddy

    Server Staff Muddy Muddy

    Messages:
    2,387
    Positive Ratings:
    4,220
    This map is making me very... thursty.

    In all seriousness, some areas look awfully open, particularly the traintracks and the almost entirely empty room in screenshot 3.
    And yes, the ramps.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Pawlakov

    Pawlakov L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    154
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    Orly? This room isn't as big as it seems (screenshots sometimes cheat reality).


    EDIT: Stop complaing about the ramps. They'll be fixed.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2015
  7. Pawlakov

    Pawlakov L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    154
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    Updated to BETA 1!!!
     
  8. Uncuepa

    aa Uncuepa

    Messages:
    770
    Positive Ratings:
    1,028
    A1 to B1? Think we might have missed a few changes...
     
  9. Pawlakov

    Pawlakov L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    154
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    There were no serious remarks about layout so i changed version to beta.
     
  10. takabuschik

    aa takabuschik

    Messages:
    662
    Positive Ratings:
    314
    That' s not how it really works...
    I mean, you could obviously change your map's prefix to whatever you want, there are no real rules about this subject.
    Usually the way people use the prefixes is Alpha for massive gameplay dev, Beta for mostly detail, and minor gameplay changes. And let's be honest, there is almost no way you made it past Alpha in less than a week...

    But sure, you can call it whatever you want to. I myself have a beta map that's still under heavy gameplay development... But it's in development for more than half a year.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2015
  11. Pawlakov

    Pawlakov L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    154
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    Most of gameplay changes were done before first release. I changed to beta because i already started to detail (but if there is something wrong with gameplay i'll fix it).
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2015
  12. Pawlakov

    Pawlakov L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    154
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)BETA 2( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    DOWNLOAD
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2015
  13. Pawlakov

    Pawlakov L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    154
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)BETA 3( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    DOWNLOAD
    I detailed 2x2=4 rooms:
    -PIPE ROOM:
    [​IMG]
    Small but cozy (WARNING: Includes big pipe!)
    -WINDOW ROOM:
    [​IMG]
    Stop fighting and enjoy the sights...
     
  14. Pawlakov

    Pawlakov L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    154
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    BETA 4
    - fixed train bugs
    - MORE TRAINS!
     
  15. Lopez

    Lopez L1: Registered

    Messages:
    19
    Positive Ratings:
    2
    Ran around your map and found a few issues

    Defenders can easily spam the last point from the safety of spawn.

    Attackers can easily spam spawn from the safety of a balcony. Ordinarily this isn't too bad, but the attackers can spam both spawn doors while standing in this one spot.

    Riding the trains on the last point takes me out of the map

    Riding trains on the second point got me stuck on the bridge and in the tunnel. Not sure what's causing that, but with trains as long and fast as yours it's irritating that I can't ride them without breaking the map.

    A few other things... None of your stairs were clipped, so it was impossible to do sweet ramp slides off of them. I could stand over top all of the doorways, probably not game breaking but could prove problematic. And there weren't any trains on mid! Maybe I just missed them, but I waited for a good minute.
     
  16. Pawlakov

    Pawlakov L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    154
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    Fixed in B4
     
  17. Lopez

    Lopez L1: Registered

    Messages:
    19
    Positive Ratings:
    2
    Sorry about that, I'll have to download the newest version and run around some more.
     
  18. Pawlakov

    Pawlakov L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    154
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    Yes, you have to ;)
     
  19. Pocket

    aa Pocket func_croc

    Messages:
    4,489
    Positive Ratings:
    2,219
    So, we tested this today... did you accidentally give all the trains the same name or something? Because by hopping around quickly in spectate, I was able to determine that every single train goes past at the same time whenever the signal goes off, instead of just rotating between them or picking one at random.
     
  20. Pawlakov

    Pawlakov L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    154
    Positive Ratings:
    34
    I synchronised the trains because unsynchronised DINGDINGDINGDINGDINGDINGDING was so annoying. There is only one train for every A or B point (2 for C because of symmetry). When you are on blu's A you don't care about train on red's B. That's why te trains can go at the same time.