"This Page is Asking You to Confirm That You Want to Leave"

Discussion in 'Site Discussion' started by EArkham, May 14, 2015.

  1. EArkham

    aa EArkham Necromancer

    Messages:
    1,570
    Positive Ratings:
    2,193
    "This page is asking you to confirm that you want to leave."

    This popup appears now whenever I'm in my private messages tab, regardless of whether I have filled out a response to someone or not. Happens just reading old messages.

    Scripts like this are annoying beyond belief even when they're working correctly, but to appear every time you even look at a message really should be fixed.

    Considering modern browsers remember form info if you accidently close a tab, these sorts of scripts are really pretty outdated and more frequently an annoyance than an aid.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. Seba

    aa Seba DR. BIG FUCKER, PHD

    Messages:
    2,363
    Positive Ratings:
    2,365
    I requested this because accidentally hitting backspace when not in the reply box would erase the entire post, but it doesn't seem to work correctly :s
     
  3. Prestige

    aa Prestige im not gay anymore

    Messages:
    1,774
    Positive Ratings:
    1,530
    It needs a better message like "are you sure you want to say these things you have typed?" instead of making me think i am abandoning my post
     
  4. Geit

    aa Geit 💜 I probably broke it 💜

    Messages:
    597
    Positive Ratings:
    1,113
    Removed the "feature" for now.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  5. EArkham

    aa EArkham Necromancer

    Messages:
    1,570
    Positive Ratings:
    2,193
    Thanks for looking into it so quickly! :)
     
  6. Pocket

    aa Pocket func_croc

    Messages:
    4,489
    Positive Ratings:
    2,219
    I dunno. I've found that this site in particular has a habit of automatically clearing the text box when you click to another page and back, even when others don't.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. KubeKing

    Server Staff KubeKing dan's birthday was fun too

    Messages:
    1,237
    Positive Ratings:
    1,489
    I second that. I've developed the habit of copying my post into Notepad before clicking the Submit button, just in case my internet poops out or I have to go back or something dumb.
     
  8. EArkham

    aa EArkham Necromancer

    Messages:
    1,570
    Positive Ratings:
    2,193
    I strongly feel that "having to retype a post because you accidentally a key" is not a problem that requires a solution. It's not like we're losing out on the secrets of the universe. If it's a long post with tables and graphs and crap, you can always prep it in a text editor first. :p

    Anyway, the reason I'm posting again is because I found this: If you use Firefox, go to about:config and set dom.disable_beforeunload to TRUE. Then sites can no longer stop you from closing the window.

    There is likely a solution for Chrome as well, but I haven't bothered to dig it up since Chrome is my secondary browser.
     
  9. Fantasma

    aa Fantasma

    Messages:
    886
    Positive Ratings:
    980
    Could we just set it to a per user basis, I'd love to have this feature.