TF2 wont open after compiling

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Scr1tchy, Jan 14, 2020.

  1. Scr1tchy

    Scr1tchy L1: Registered

    Messages:
    11
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    I'm new to map making and I've just created my first one but I've run into a wall. Any time I decide to run my map it brings up the grey background screen of TF2 and closes out without going further. Ive checked for leaks which there are none and have been around several threads but I can't seem to find the solution.

    There is one error in the log which says
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!

    I tried using an hdr skybox but that made no difference.

    This is the full log:


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.vmf"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Aug 2 2018)
    12 threads
    materialPath: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.vmf
    Patching WVT material: maps/newmap/brick/blendcobbletocobblesnow001_wvt_patch
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    **** leaked ****
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (0)
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    done (0) (574 bytes)
    Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Compacting texture/material tables...
    Reduced 6 texinfos to 3
    Reduced 2 texdatas to 1 (88 bytes to 55)
    Writing C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.bsp
    Wrote ZIP buffer, estimated size 575, actual size 495
    0 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Aug 2 2018)
    12 threads
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.bsp
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.prt
    LoadPortals: couldn't read c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.prt


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap"

    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (Jul 18 2018)

    Valve Radiosity Simulator
    12 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    unknown light specifier type - lights

    [56 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.bsp
    No vis information, direct lighting only.
    Setting up ray-trace acceleration structure... Done (0.00 seconds)
    178 faces
    131015 square feet [18866176.00 square inches]
    0 Displacements
    0 Square Feet [0.00 Square Inches]
    0 direct lights
    BuildFacelights: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Build Patch/Sample Hash Table(s).....Done<0.0030 sec>
    FinalLightFace: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    FinalLightFace Done
    0 of 0 (0% of) surface lights went in leaf ambient cubes.
    ThreadComputeLeafAmbient: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Writing leaf ambient...done
    Ready to Finish

    Object names Objects/Maxobjs Memory / Maxmem Fullness
    ------------ --------------- --------------- --------
    models 1/1024 48/49152 ( 0.1%)
    brushes 1/8192 12/98304 ( 0.0%)
    brushsides 6/65536 48/524288 ( 0.0%)
    planes 36/65536 720/1310720 ( 0.1%)
    vertexes 197/65536 2364/786432 ( 0.3%)
    nodes 83/65536 2656/2097152 ( 0.1%)
    texinfos 3/12288 216/884736 ( 0.0%)
    texdata 1/2048 32/65536 ( 0.0%)
    dispinfos 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_verts 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_tris 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_lmsamples 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    faces 178/65536 9968/3670016 ( 0.3%)
    hdr faces 0/65536 0/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    origfaces 6/65536 336/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    leaves 85/65536 2720/2097152 ( 0.1%)
    leaffaces 178/65536 356/131072 ( 0.3%)
    leafbrushes 16/65536 32/131072 ( 0.0%)
    areas 1/256 8/2048 ( 0.4%)
    surfedges 768/512000 3072/2048000 ( 0.1%)
    edges 385/256000 1540/1024000 ( 0.2%)
    LDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    HDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    leafwaterdata 0/32768 0/393216 ( 0.0%)
    waterstrips 8/32768 80/327680 ( 0.0%)
    waterverts 0/65536 0/786432 ( 0.0%)
    waterindices 96/65536 192/131072 ( 0.1%)
    cubemapsamples 0/1024 0/16384 ( 0.0%)
    overlays 0/512 0/180224 ( 0.0%)
    LDR lightdata [variable] 1299176/0 ( 0.0%)
    HDR lightdata [variable] 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    visdata [variable] 0/16777216 ( 0.0%)
    entdata [variable] 247/393216 ( 0.1%)
    LDR ambient table 85/65536 340/262144 ( 0.1%)
    HDR ambient table 85/65536 340/262144 ( 0.1%)
    LDR leaf ambient 68/65536 1904/1835008 ( 0.1%)
    HDR leaf ambient 85/65536 2380/1835008 ( 0.1%)
    occluders 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder polygons 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder vert ind 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    detail props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    static props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    pakfile [variable] 495/0 ( 0.0%)
    physics [variable] 574/4194304 ( 0.0%)
    physics terrain [variable] 2/1048576 ( 0.0%)

    Level flags = 0

    Total triangle count: 388
    Writing c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.bsp
    0 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.bsp" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\maps\newmap.bsp"


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\hl2.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" -windowed -noborder -w120 -h 1080 -novid +map "newmap" -steam


    I'll also post a few videos in succession (due to the file size) of what happens if that helps. If anyone can help that would be really great.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. XEnderFaceX

    XEnderFaceX L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    210
    Positive Ratings:
    63
    You do have a Leak
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Scr1tchy

    Scr1tchy L1: Registered

    Messages:
    11
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    oh lol, thanks for that
     
  4. Scr1tchy

    Scr1tchy L1: Registered

    Messages:
    11
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    so i fixed the leak but i still have the same problem. this is the new compile log:

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.vmf"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Aug 2 2018)
    12 threads
    materialPath: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.vmf
    Patching WVT material: maps/newmap/brick/blendcobbletocobblesnow001_wvt_patch
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (0)
    writing C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.prt...Building visibility clusters...
    done (0)
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    done (0) (3142 bytes)
    Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Compacting texture/material tables...
    Reduced 16 texinfos to 3
    Reduced 2 texdatas to 1 (88 bytes to 55)
    Writing C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.bsp
    Wrote ZIP buffer, estimated size 575, actual size 495
    0 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Aug 2 2018)
    12 threads
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.bsp
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.prt
    4 portalclusters
    4 numportals
    BasePortalVis: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    PortalFlow: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Optimized: 0 visible clusters (0.00%)
    Total clusters visible: 16
    Average clusters visible: 4
    Building PAS...
    Average clusters audible: 4
    visdatasize:44 compressed from 64
    writing c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.bsp
    0 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap"

    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (Jul 18 2018)

    Valve Radiosity Simulator
    12 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    unknown light specifier type - lights

    [56 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.bsp
    Setting up ray-trace acceleration structure... Done (0.00 seconds)
    66 faces
    65706 square feet [9461760.00 square inches]
    0 Displacements
    0 Square Feet [0.00 Square Inches]
    66 patches before subdivision
    5886 patches after subdivision
    0 direct lights
    BuildFacelights: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    BuildVisLeafs: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    transfers 702651, max 269
    transfer lists: 5.4 megs
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #1 added RGB(0, 0, 0)
    Build Patch/Sample Hash Table(s).....Done<0.0026 sec>
    FinalLightFace: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    FinalLightFace Done
    0 of 0 (0% of) surface lights went in leaf ambient cubes.
    ThreadComputeLeafAmbient: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Writing leaf ambient...done
    Ready to Finish

    Object names Objects/Maxobjs Memory / Maxmem Fullness
    ------------ --------------- --------------- --------
    models 1/1024 48/49152 ( 0.1%)
    brushes 8/8192 96/98304 ( 0.1%)
    brushsides 48/65536 384/524288 ( 0.1%)
    planes 56/65536 1120/1310720 ( 0.1%)
    vertexes 98/65536 1176/786432 ( 0.1%)
    nodes 22/65536 704/2097152 ( 0.0%)
    texinfos 3/12288 216/884736 ( 0.0%)
    texdata 1/2048 32/65536 ( 0.0%)
    dispinfos 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_verts 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_tris 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_lmsamples 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    faces 66/65536 3696/3670016 ( 0.1%)
    hdr faces 0/65536 0/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    origfaces 6/65536 336/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    leaves 24/65536 768/2097152 ( 0.0%)
    leaffaces 75/65536 150/131072 ( 0.1%)
    leafbrushes 26/65536 52/131072 ( 0.0%)
    areas 2/256 16/2048 ( 0.8%)
    surfedges 300/512000 1200/2048000 ( 0.1%)
    edges 163/256000 652/1024000 ( 0.1%)
    LDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    HDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    leafwaterdata 0/32768 0/393216 ( 0.0%)
    waterstrips 0/32768 0/327680 ( 0.0%)
    waterverts 0/65536 0/786432 ( 0.0%)
    waterindices 0/65536 0/131072 ( 0.0%)
    cubemapsamples 0/1024 0/16384 ( 0.0%)
    overlays 0/512 0/180224 ( 0.0%)
    LDR lightdata [variable] 643368/0 ( 0.0%)
    HDR lightdata [variable] 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    visdata [variable] 44/16777216 ( 0.0%)
    entdata [variable] 344/393216 ( 0.1%)
    LDR ambient table 24/65536 96/262144 ( 0.0%)
    HDR ambient table 24/65536 96/262144 ( 0.0%)
    LDR leaf ambient 4/65536 112/1835008 ( 0.0%)
    HDR leaf ambient 24/65536 672/1835008 ( 0.0%)
    occluders 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder polygons 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder vert ind 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    detail props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    static props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    pakfile [variable] 495/0 ( 0.0%)
    physics [variable] 3142/4194304 ( 0.1%)
    physics terrain [variable] 2/1048576 ( 0.0%)

    Level flags = 0

    Total triangle count: 144
    Writing c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.bsp
    0 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\newmap.bsp" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\maps\newmap.bsp"


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\hl2.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" -windowed -noborder -w120 -h 1080 -novid +map "newmap" -steam


    it gives me this list of potential solutions:
    can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    Description:
    You have entered a skybox texture which doesn't seem to be valid. Make sure you don't specify the last three letter (_UP, _DN, etc) of any skybox texture you use. You may also need to fix your vmt files if they are broken. It may also be caused by compiling a non-HDR skybox texture.

    but i dont know what it means about specifying the last three letters, how to identify if a vmt file is broken and how to fix it and what a hdr skybox texture is.
     
  5. XEnderFaceX

    XEnderFaceX L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    210
    Positive Ratings:
    63
    hmm, probably ridiculous but this could be a solution: on your Additional Game Parameters, remove yours and place these:
    -dev -console -novid +sv_cheats 1

    Maybe thats why, not sure
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Da Spud Lord

    aa Da Spud Lord Occasionally I make maps

    Messages:
    1,148
    Positive Ratings:
    786
    This error can be ignored. It is not possible to fix this error, and it definitely shouldn't be causing crashes.

    I would advise running TF2 with the -condebug parameter, and then running your map. This will record all console output to console.log in your /tf folder, which can be retrieved even after the game crashes. If we're lucky, it might contain an indication as to why TF2 is crashing.

    Also, can you post your BSP file?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Scr1tchy

    Scr1tchy L1: Registered

    Messages:
    11
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    tried this (-dev -console -novid +sv_cheats 1) but it didn't open still, although it opened the game command view and showed some stuff.

    I put in -condebug into the launch options of TF2 but I couldnt find the console.log in C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf

    bsp file below
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Scr1tchy

    Scr1tchy L1: Registered

    Messages:
    11
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    not sure if this helps but this is the command view i got from doing -dev -console -novid +sv_cheats 1
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Da Spud Lord

    aa Da Spud Lord Occasionally I make maps

    Messages:
    1,148
    Positive Ratings:
    786
    I was able to successfully load into your map without crashing. It must be something wrong with your game, does loading an official map cause a crash?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Scr1tchy

    Scr1tchy L1: Registered

    Messages:
    11
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    when you say load an official map what do you mean? - through hammer or through the console. If its through the game console I have been able to.
     
  11. Scr1tchy

    Scr1tchy L1: Registered

    Messages:
    11
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    tried uninstalling and reinstalling game but it didnt make a difference
     
  12. nesman

    aa nesman oh god how did this get here

    Messages:
    416
    Positive Ratings:
    267
    test without those and rule out that your parameters are wrong.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Narpas

    aa Narpas Probably cares too much about clipping

    Messages:
    383
    Positive Ratings:
    372
    The -w120 is your error. You need a space in between the w and the number; without it, the .exe interprets it as a command "-w120", rather than "-width 120", which doesn't exist and therefore causes the game to crash. You'll also want to change it from 120 to 1920, otherwise you'd be playing with a very funky resolution
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Scr1tchy

    Scr1tchy L1: Registered

    Messages:
    11
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    ok i took away all parameters and the game still didnt load afterwards so i can rule out parameters.

    I added (-windowed -noborder -w 1920 -h 1080 -novid +map "newmap" -steam) to the additional game parameters which made it actually take up the whole screen like you mentioned but it still crashed during the grey background screen. Thanks for the help though.
     
  15. Scr1tchy

    Scr1tchy L1: Registered

    Messages:
    11
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    ok I tried something new. I used task manager to close all instances of steam before I tried to load into the map on hammer. I then got past the grey screen and got this message: (steam must be running in order to connect to multiplayer servers) Then it left me at the normal tf2 game selection screen but stated that I am 'NOT CURRENTLY CONNECTED TO THE TF GAME COORDINATOR SERVICE. YOUR RANK IS UNAVAILABLE'. I'll attach screenshots as well. After that I went to create server and was actually able to select my map but then got the message that 'steam must be running in order to connect to multiplayer servers' I also wasnt able to load into an official map like Da Spud Lord said. So i figure maybe my internet is part of the problem. I also couldnt open training on bots either.

    Thought this might have a chance at helping.

    Also SteamService.exe appears briefly in task manager during the initial load - no other steam related applications are shown in the task manager at all during the process. When I try load the map normally steam already loaded steamerrorreporter shows up in task manager when the game crashes.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 16, 2020
  16. nesman

    aa nesman oh god how did this get here

    Messages:
    416
    Positive Ratings:
    267
    reboot your computer. start steam. compile. because youve messed with certain processes some service isnt running when it should be.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. XEnderFaceX

    XEnderFaceX L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    210
    Positive Ratings:
    63
    maybe try to go into the local files of tf2 and press Verify integrity of game cache.
    If that doesnt work, then i would have a way around it, it would be annoying but it would work,
    Compile your Map (check, dont open game after compile) then open TF2, and then open your Map,
    the Changes are gonna be made, and you can open your map (hopefully)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Scr1tchy

    Scr1tchy L1: Registered

    Messages:
    11
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    I rebooted my computer, started steam and then compiled but the same results occurred.

    I tried going into game properties on steam and did 'verify integrity of game files' but the game still crashed.

    I think I tried the last way you mentioned XEnderFaceX but im not quite sure what you mean - you say to compile my map, check, dont open game after compile, then open TF2 and open map. Im not sure what you want me to do after I compile the map? Do i wait for a bit then open TF2? Thanks for all the help you guys.
     
  19. XEnderFaceX

    XEnderFaceX L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    210
    Positive Ratings:
    63
    When you press Compile,
    The Bsp of the Map will be updated with the Changes you've made in the Map,
    So im assuming you'r Game wont Crash when opening normaly,
    So if thats the Case, then you can simply "Create Server" ingame and select you'r Map,
    If the Map then still crashes, then i dont know, hope this is more clear
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Scr1tchy

    Scr1tchy L1: Registered

    Messages:
    11
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    ok I've figured out the solution and am now able to play my map. I was trying to download a map online by putting the bsp into my map folder but it wouldnt show up when i typed map "mapname" into the console. So i figured maybe that the map folder within steam steamapps etc was actually not the correct steam folder to be using. I looked around my pc and found maybe two or three other steamapps folders (probably from incomplete uninstallations) . One was in my D drive which was the correct one. So i put the map into there and was able to load it.

    Short version: steamapps folder was not correct one put map file into correct directory and was able to load it.

    Kind of a dumb fix, lol but thanks for all the help you guys.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1