static props wont compile

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Archmage MC, Jun 17, 2011.

  1. Archmage MC

    Archmage MC L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    61
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    I am trying to add some Weighted Storage cubes to my map. When I view them in the model browser, it says that I can use them as a prop_static (Which is what I'm going for, they are crates to jump on.) However they do not compile into the BSP, saying they have to be used as a prop_physics even though they are usable as a prop_static according to the model browser Seen here.

    Any idea what is wrong? And I'd really not like to make them Prop_dynamics due to the large amount of them, unless that wont hurt performance considering I've got roughly 70 prop_dynamics already.


    materialPath: c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\morphedcahos\team fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Users\MC\Documents\Arena_Aperturev2.vmf
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...100...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    Chop Details...done (0)
    Find Visible Detail Sides...done (0)
    Merging details...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (0)
    writing C:\Users\MC\Documents\Arena_Aperturev2.prt...Building visibility clusters...
    done (0)
    Creating default LDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
    skybox/sky_day01_01*.vmt
    ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
    Creating default HDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
    skybox/sky_day01_01*.vmt
    ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    done (0) (333954 bytes)
    Error! prop_static using model "models/props/metal_box.mdl", which must be used on a dynamic entity (i.e. prop_physics). Deleted.
    Error loading studio model "models/props/metal_box.mdl"!
    Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Compacting texture/material tables...
    Reduced 73 texinfos to 54
    Reduced 10 texdatas to 7 (225 bytes to 158)
    Writing C:\Users\MC\Documents\Arena_Aperturev2.bsp
    6 seconds elapsed



    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    [34 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\users\mc\documents\Arena_Aperturev2.bsp
    No vis information, direct lighting only.
    1763 faces
    412154 square feet [59350216.00 square inches]
    0 Displacements
    0 Square Feet [0.00 Square Inches]
    18 direct lights
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10Build Patch/Sample Hash Table(s).....Done<0.0221 sec>
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10FinalLightFace Done
    0 of 0 (0% of) surface lights went in leaf ambient cubes.
    0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10Writing leaf ambient...done
    Ready to Finish

    Object names Objects/Maxobjs Memory / Maxmem Fullness
    ------------ --------------- --------------- --------
    models 27/1024 1296/49152 ( 2.6%)
    brushes 924/8192 11088/98304 (11.3%)
    brushsides 12326/65536 98608/524288 (18.8%)
    planes 11264/65536 225280/1310720 (17.2%)
    vertexes 4695/65536 56340/786432 ( 7.2%)
    nodes 3030/65536 96960/2097152 ( 4.6%)
    texinfos 54/12288 3888/884736 ( 0.4%)
    texdata 7/2048 224/65536 ( 0.3%)
    dispinfos 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_verts 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_tris 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_lmsamples 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    faces 1763/65536 98728/3670016 ( 2.7%)
    hdr faces 0/65536 0/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    origfaces 558/65536 31248/3670016 ( 0.9%)
    leaves 3058/65536 97856/2097152 ( 4.7%)
    leaffaces 2467/65536 4934/131072 ( 3.8%)
    leafbrushes 7928/65536 15856/131072 (12.1%)
    areas 5/256 40/2048 ( 2.0%)
    surfedges 10909/512000 43636/2048000 ( 2.1%)
    edges 6335/256000 25340/1024000 ( 2.5%)
    LDR worldlights 18/8192 1584/720896 ( 0.2%)
    HDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    leafwaterdata 0/32768 0/393216 ( 0.0%)
    waterstrips 336/32768 3360/327680 ( 1.0%)
    waterverts 0/65536 0/786432 ( 0.0%)
    waterindices 4548/65536 9096/131072 ( 6.9%)
    cubemapsamples 1/1024 16/16384 ( 0.1%)
    overlays 0/512 0/180224 ( 0.0%)
    LDR lightdata [variable] 5108784/0 ( 0.0%)
    HDR lightdata [variable] 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    visdata [variable] 0/16777216 ( 0.0%)
    entdata [variable] 44111/393216 (11.2%)
    LDR ambient table 3058/65536 12232/262144 ( 4.7%)
    HDR ambient table 3058/65536 12232/262144 ( 4.7%)
    LDR leaf ambient 8418/65536 235704/1835008 (12.8%)
    HDR leaf ambient 3058/65536 85624/1835008 ( 4.7%)
    occluders 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder polygons 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder vert ind 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    detail props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    static props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    pakfile [variable] 211332/0 ( 0.0%)
    physics [variable] 333954/4194304 ( 8.0%)
    physics terrain [variable] 2/1048576 ( 0.0%)

    Level flags = 0

    Total triangle count: 5164
    Writing c:\users\mc\documents\Arena_Aperturev2.bsp
    23 seconds elapsed
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2011
  2. Da_Man

    Da_Man L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    173
    Positive Ratings:
    38
    Some models may need to be set to prop_dynamic in order to compile correctly. My other theory is that you need to pack the models into TF2, but that would give you a giant error thing where they should be.

    Edit: yep. Right here.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2011
  3. Archmage MC

    Archmage MC L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    61
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Yeah, I'd have to do prop_dynamic_override to fix it at that point, but I'd like to have it be a prop_static for performance reasons. It says in the model browser that I can use it as a static, but then when compiling it, it says it has to be a prop_physic? That doesn't make much sense.
     
  4. Pocket

    aa Pocket func_croc

    Messages:
    4,489
    Positive Ratings:
    2,219
    Specifically, they were designed to be prop_physics, but Source will accept prop_dynamic for any physics prop, I think. (Don't quote me on that.) Using prop_dynamic will produce some unusual shadows, though, so you may want to disable shadows on it and place a func_detail'd nodraw block with the same dimensions in the same spot.
     
  5. Empyre

    Empyre L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    293
    Positive Ratings:
    141
    Isn't there an override version of prop_static?
     
  6. Snacks

    Snacks TODO: Clever title

    Messages:
    121
    Positive Ratings:
    123
    You should be able to use it as prop_dynamic_override

    As steve said, disabling the dynamic shadow and putting in a func_detail or block light to create lightmapped shadows would also be a good idea.
     
  7. Archmage MC

    Archmage MC L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    61
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Alright, I did that and it worked like a charm. Didn't take the hit I thought it would to map performance, so that's good. Thanks for the help.
     
  8. Seba

    aa Seba DR. BIG FUCKER, PHD

    Messages:
    2,363
    Positive Ratings:
    2,365
    Protip: don't name maps with capital letters - they crash Linux servers.