Static Prop Combine: how do I do that for TF2 maps, and is the VDC lying again?

D

Deleted member 27649

I've been banging my head against a novelty wall specifically meant for banging my head against for the better part of today.

TL;DR at the end of this thingy.

Ok, so apparently I read somewhere (I can't recall anymore, probably some VDC page) that Source really sucks at drawing lots of different props. Something about draw calls? I'm no graphics programmer.

I have a *lot* of static props, being the same four models spammed a lot. I thought it'd be a good idea to combine them into one, single prop, since they all share the same materials and also would be easier to edit later on. Apparently CSGO's compiler can do that, but not TF2's. :(

I spent a good while trying to find anything about combining static props without it being CSGO. There doesn't seem to be anyone who's interested in doing that at all. Or maybe there is one on this very site of TF2Maps!, but no search engine has found that supposed thread.

I found this one thingy called "TeamSpen's Hammer Addons" I've never seen mentioned anywhere besides a handful of VDC pages, for some reason? Supposedly it can do a lot of cool thingies like static prop combining. Unfortunately, Issue #137: Can't parse TF2 static prop format. It just crashes when there are any props on the map at all. Also, GCFSCape hung when trying to open the generated map file, even when it didn't crash.