Some help with event work?

• If you're asking a question make sure to set the thread type to be a question!

Svenporks

L1: Registered
Dec 28, 2009
I'm not even sure if that's the correct terminology, but let's roll with it. Anyways, I'm working on a 5cp map where, upon the final cap, there's an event (sort of like Steel or Whaleraces). Problem is, I'm a total noob with entity work. I don't even know if what I have in mind is possible, but I'd be grateful for any help or alternate ideas.

The idea is that after the cap, a sound plays and a pair of big ol' door brushes swing open and a model comes in (on what I guess would be an invisible payload track). A few other models come in and start fanning out on their own tracks with brushes popping out of the ground at specific times. The models and brushes kill on contact. Also everyone in that room dies at a specific point in the sound. The sound is what I'm focusing on and timing around, and would like it's "origin point" to move with the model.

Is this possible? What would I need? If it's impossible, are there roundabout ways of achieving roughly the same effect?

Talk to me like I was 5 about this stuff because I know next to nothing about timed triggering and input/output stuff.

Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks.

tyler

aa
Sep 11, 2013
Use trigger_hurt and path_tracktrain or something like that, I don't remember the train entities. Activate the trigger_hurt and have it kill when you get to the point in the sound you want.

You can delay the sound if you want.

I don't remember if you should use ambient_generic or the other thing with the name I can't remember, but at least you have some other stuff to read up on.

Or someone else will wall-of-text an explanation.

Fruity Snacks

Creator of blackholes & memes. Destroyer of forums
aa
Sep 5, 2010
No, I think thats it. Trigger hurt and a prop_dynamic tied to a train on a path.