Respawn rooms you can build in?

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by BaconCat, Jun 23, 2012.

  1. BaconCat

    BaconCat L1: Registered

    Messages:
    44
    Positive Ratings:
    3
    Is there a way to allow free class changing ala func_respawnroom but allow engies to build their buildings?

    This is for a trade map, so no need to worry about silly balance issues. :p And I have my reasons for not just making a hole in the func_respawn room brush. :O
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2012
  2. Tarry H Sruman

    Tarry H Sruman Large Orphanage Proprietor

    Messages:
    871
    Positive Ratings:
    820
    I lied. Apparently what happened on Ferrum was a bug or something.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2012
  3. fubarFX

    aa fubarFX The "raw" in "nodraw"

    Messages:
    1,608
    Positive Ratings:
    1,698
    func_respawnroom does block buildings. I have not messed around with this but maybe if you raise the bottom of your func_respawn room, you'll be able to build buildings under the func_respawnroom and possibly still be able to change class because your upper body is touching the func_respawnroom. no idea if that would work but I think it's worth trying out. other than that...
     
  4. Vaconcovat

    Vaconcovat L3: Member

    Messages:
    116
    Positive Ratings:
    88
    That wouldn't quite work, the only thing you'd be able to build is the dispenser, as both the sentry and required space for a teleporter are actually taller than the player.See Model Sizes

    Actually, on that, there was a situation where RED could build in their forward spawn on PL_Upward. Had something to do with a grate, i'm not quite sure on how that worked actually.
     
  5. Prestige

    aa Prestige im not gay anymore

    Messages:
    1,773
    Positive Ratings:
    1,528
    ENTiRE POST IS WRONG it's not nice to troll newbies tarry
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 5
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2012
  6. Fr0Z3nR

    aa Fr0Z3nR Creator of blackholes & memes. Destroyer of forums

    Messages:
    6,391
    Positive Ratings:
    4,906
    what the heck are you on about.
     
  7. Bloodhound

    Bloodhound L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    316
    Positive Ratings:
    239
    From my exploit experience I can say, that there are some spawnrooms you can build in. :p
    Some time ago valve tried to fix the spawnteleporter result was, that even if you left 1 unit space between the func_respawnroom and the floor you were able to build spawnteles. That was funny. :p

    Anyway, after the next update they fixed the old ability and the new. :/
    Now I don't know how it could work.

    But you could try what fubar said. Just create some func_respawnrooms in different height (32, 48, 56, 64, 72) and test if buildings are possible and respawning is possible.
     
  8. BaconCat

    BaconCat L1: Registered

    Messages:
    44
    Positive Ratings:
    3
    Yup, it's possible, but my problem is that jumping causes the spawn protection plugin to go insane.

    Oh well, I'll keep at it and find a way
     
  9. LMFAO

    LMFAO Banned

    Messages:
    131
    Positive Ratings:
    19
    Have it this way:
    Buildings Players
    |
    v o
    _______ _____________
    ______/
     
  10. Seba

    aa Seba DR. BIG FUCKER, PHD

    Messages:
    2,363
    Positive Ratings:
    2,365
    What the hell is that
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 5
  11. BaconCat

    BaconCat L1: Registered

    Messages:
    44
    Positive Ratings:
    3
    Yeah, please upload a MS Paint example of what you were saying, xD
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2012
  12. Fr0Z3nR

    aa Fr0Z3nR Creator of blackholes & memes. Destroyer of forums

    Messages:
    6,391
    Positive Ratings:
    4,906
    it won't be much better.
     
  13. LMFAO

    LMFAO Banned

    Messages:
    131
    Positive Ratings:
    19
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Spacek531

    Spacek531 L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    162
    Positive Ratings:
    60
    That is actually a lot better. The next step is to start up hammer, implement, and test.

    And boy, do I love testing.
     
  15. LMFAO

    LMFAO Banned

    Messages:
    131
    Positive Ratings:
    19
    The brilliant mind of R0ughR0u has invented the laws of building buildings in spawns.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  16. LeSwordfish

    aa LeSwordfish semi-trained quasi-professional

    Messages:
    4,106
    Positive Ratings:
    6,006
    Correct me if i'm wrong, but how is that actually different to the suggestion of putting it in at a height?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  17. Zanarias

    Zanarias L1: Registered

    Messages:
    5
    Positive Ratings:
    1
    It's really not, it's just a way of allowing deployables taller than the player to be placed in that environment.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  18. Mini Maracas

    Mini Maracas L1: Registered

    Messages:
    9
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    I'm so sorry if I'm wrong, but couldn't you make it so the respawn room brush covers the back half of the room only (Only have respawn points there as well), and have like a yellow and black line showing where the respawn room ends, so if they pass that they can build, but die if they change class outside it? :)

    Edit: Sorry I had a little diagram but it completely failed xD I'll draw it on paint if you want? :)
     
  19. Kill_the_Bug

    Kill_the_Bug L14: Epic Member

    Messages:
    1,461
    Positive Ratings:
    237
    I'm pretty sure if you just raise the spawn room enity off the floor then you can build - raise it to about 1/2 to 3/4 the player size - you just need to have enought room to plant it on the ground.

    Or do what I did in a map

    put in a rectangle on the floor outside of a respawn entity - put decal on top of it "signs > TF > Caution Men working" or the like - put in the sound of a dispenser or something there that gives the player a hint they can build there - better yet the working + engineer texture shoudl give a clear indicator that it's a build zone.

    http://forums.tf2maps.net/downloads.php?do=file&id=4921

    Check out the spawns in the central pillar to see what I mean
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012
  20. grazr

    aa grazr Old Man Mutant Ninja Turtle

    Messages:
    5,436
    Positive Ratings:
    3,562
    Basically you want spies to be able to get into the enemy spawn and spawn camp. Sounds amazing.

    On another note, the minimum height for a teleporter includes being able to teleport a player. You can build a teleporter in tiny spaces, but the teleporter self destructs when someone tries to use it. I'm assuming this is a mechanism to prevent tele griefing. So you will be able to build a tele in the spawn and teleport players into or out of it with the respawnroom entity lifted off the ground. The problem lies with being able to build sentries, which match player heights.

    Most spawns that allow players to build stuff in them are accidentally made gaps between respawnroom entities, such as the gaps between doors or at the setup gates. So you could just create a bunch of respawnroom volumes every 64 units so a player is always touching one when he moves through the spawn, but most of the spawn isn't actually covered by it, so you can still build stuff.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012