Quarantine

DrHorrible

L1: Registered
Feb 26, 2009
Quarantine (Pre-release Alpha)

Hello everyone! Thank you very much for taking the time to look at my map.

Background:

RED and BLU have adjoining/opposing medical research facilities at the top of a MANN CO owned skyscraper in Big City. There's a deadly virus outbreak and RED and BLU both have almost all the data they need to develop a vaccine. As a shortcut to completion and profit, both RED and BLU have decided to engage in a little corporate espionage and are trying to steal each other's formulas to supplement their own research.

Concepts:

• Urban
  • Multi-level
  • Interior
  • Vertical

Execution:

I'm still learning to use Hammer, so my first goal is to get the geometry of the level established. One of the biggest features of the map is a central Atrium in each base that would allow vertical travel between each of the layers of the map. If anyone has been to an Embassy Suites hotel, you'll know the kind of feel I'm going for.

One concern I have is that the central Atrium is too small. It's big enough to allow for some sticky/rocket jumping as well as creative FAN usage, but with that kind of mobility it still feels small.

Feedback Request:

I would like to solicit feedback specifically on the dimensions and sizing of the map, with emphasis on the central Atrium inside the base. Does the map feel too big or too small?

Obvious Mapmaking Sins:

Until I've got the macro design of the level finished, working on details is inefficient. I know they're needed, but they can come later.

Lighting: It isn't fullbright, but the lighting is comprised of a bunch of light entities I haphazardly threw in just so I could turn off fullbright. They aren't the final lighting solution--they're just an alternative to fullbright.

Cubemaps: I'm going to be making frequent revisions at this alpha stage of the map. Building cubemaps while I haven't even bothered with real textures is kind of pointless.