Problem with hammer.

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Untouch, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. Untouch

    Untouch L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    187
    Positive Ratings:
    48
    As of this update, hammer's broken for me.

    Models are there, but they won't load.
    I can only zoom out so far too.
    This is happening to all maps.

    Is this just me?


    EDIT: A temporary fix has been found.

    RUN THIS:
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\[your steam name]\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin\hammer.exe" -dxlevel 80

    It's buggy, but will work.
    Compiling won't work, but saving and re-loading legit hammer will work.

    EDIT2: I'm not bullshitting when I say buggy, it crashes A LOT. But It's better than nothing.
    EDIT3: Alright, it's barely better than nothing, but oh well. Don't plan on doing much with it.

    EDIT 4: It crashes regardless of what you're doing, and it seems to be on a time interval.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2012
  2. Prestige

    aa Prestige im not gay anymore

    Messages:
    1,774
    Positive Ratings:
    1,654
    special haunted hammer event, but yes i am having issues as well
     
  3. Afterglow375

    Afterglow375 L1: Registered

    Messages:
    25
    Positive Ratings:
    0
  4. PHISH

    PHISH L1: Registered

    Messages:
    41
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    wow... this has been driving me crazy.just when I'm trying to finish up my map for it's first playtest.
     
  5. PHISH

    PHISH L1: Registered

    Messages:
    41
    Positive Ratings:
    20
    Hmm so where do we report this issue?
     
  6. Untouch

    Untouch L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    187
    Positive Ratings:
    48
    Just a note, compiling won't break your map.
    Does make it very hard to edit though.
     
  7. Yacan1

    aa Yacan1 D I G I T A L I N F L U E N C E R

    Messages:
    411
    Positive Ratings:
    720
    Not again...
    [​IMG]
     
  8. froggie

    froggie L1: Registered

    Messages:
    45
    Positive Ratings:
    47
    same here :(
     
  9. tyler

    aa tyler snail prince, master of a ruined tower

    Messages:
    5,035
    Positive Ratings:
    4,499
    This, combined with the fact that MvM servers running on Linux are totally broken (apparently because Valve just totally forgot about it), and the fact that the new map is a combination of every shitty pub server plugin I hate (RTD, Prophunt, VSH) makes this the worst update literally ever.

     
  10. Hell-met

    Hell-met L1: Registered

    Messages:
    43
    Positive Ratings:
    8
    what about SFM's hammer?
     
  11. Burnout6010

    Burnout6010 L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    207
    Positive Ratings:
    65
    Am sad ;_;
     
  12. Pocket

    aa Pocket func_croc

    Messages:
    4,489
    Positive Ratings:
    2,377
    New model format? For what, I wonder. Surely not just for the giant/shrunken heads; people have been messing around with that nonsense in Garry's Mod for years (see: Dr. Hax). In fact, that's how decapitation works; they just shrink the victim's head down to nothing.

    EDIT: How does one even go about implementing a brand new model format across the board without replacing all the model files, anyway? Because if Hammer is choking on everything now, that means every single model has been converted somehow.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2012
  13. Burnout6010

    Burnout6010 L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    207
    Positive Ratings:
    65
    I hope that doesn't mean we have now .vmf's full of "ERRORS" flying around :O
     
  14. Faux Rhinoceros

    aa Faux Rhinoceros Also known as Dr. Element

    Messages:
    1,481
    Positive Ratings:
    1,583
    I have it as well. God dammit.

    This is what happens when valve decides to make something with a time limit that they can't delay. (halloween update @ halloween)
     
  15. Sel

    Sel Banned

    Messages:
    1,241
    Positive Ratings:
    1,286
    First they made hammer destroy game logic.

    Then they made the c h and u keys stop working in the model selector.

    Then they made all models stop displaying.

    Oh boy oh boy.
     
  16. EArkham

    aa EArkham Necromancer

    Messages:
    1,585
    Positive Ratings:
    2,318
    2009 seems to work fine. With other mods, at least. I didn't try TF2, kinda scared to.
     
  17. schlomo22

    schlomo22 L1: Registered

    Messages:
    4
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    Nope, no ERRORs at all. All my props have simpy vanished completely.

    Edit: Not the dynamic ones, it seems.
     
  18. static2601

    static2601 L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    79
    Positive Ratings:
    4
    Great so Im not the only one with the problem. Im trying to get a Halloween version of my map out before tonight and now i can't do anyhting. WTF Valve? Is there a work around? I have tons of people expecting this map tonight :( Does anyone have an older copy that works? something so i can get this done???
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2012
  19. Burnout6010

    Burnout6010 L5: Dapper Member

    Messages:
    207
    Positive Ratings:
    65
    Nah, I meant like ... after they fix it. I wouldn't like to have to reselect every prop and reselect the exact prop to make it look like it should :O

    Still no fix btw ?
     
  20. static2601

    static2601 L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    79
    Positive Ratings:
    4
    I have the same issue with 2009. cant zoom out much and everything is f**ked up.