Problem help please.

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by gamemaster1996, Oct 8, 2010.

  1. gamemaster1996

    gamemaster1996 L13: Stunning Member

    Messages:
    1,065
    Positive Ratings:
    131
    Okay this is about a few of my steam games and as i consider alot of you to have more experience than me i'd like you to help me please.

    When i try to launch Left 4 Dead 2 or Alien Swarm the process runs but the application doesn't.

    Help please! :mellow:
     
  2. gamemaster1996

    gamemaster1996 L13: Stunning Member

    Messages:
    1,065
    Positive Ratings:
    131
    Panic bump.
     
  3. Dr. ROCKZO

    Dr. ROCKZO L8: Fancy Shmancy Member

    Messages:
    580
    Positive Ratings:
    159
    You're being pretty vague here. Go through the standards. Post your specs, verify cache integrity, defrag, restart steam.
     
  4. Numerous

    Numerous L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    150
    Positive Ratings:
    72
    No, the FIRST question you ask is "is it downloaded?"
    That is the #1 reason for L4D2 not running on the average PC.
     
  5. gamemaster1996

    gamemaster1996 L13: Stunning Member

    Messages:
    1,065
    Positive Ratings:
    131
    It is downloaded.

    I use a ati radeon hd 2400 graphics card, Amd athlon 2X Dual core Processor 4200+.

    After the recent update where it removed the wait command it hasn't been working.
     
  6. gamemaster1996

    gamemaster1996 L13: Stunning Member

    Messages:
    1,065
    Positive Ratings:
    131
    Bump.
     
  7. Beetle

    Beetle L9: Fashionable Member

    Messages:
    627
    Positive Ratings:
    141
    Try launching it from a shortcut too (after you've done what Dr. ROCKZO said).
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. YM

    aa YM LVL100 YM

    Messages:
    7,099
    Positive Ratings:
    5,739
    #1. Stop bumping after just a few hours between posts.
    #2. Reply to the suggested fixes, have you done all that rockzo says?
    #3. Have you deleted/moved the game files and let steam re-download them? <- likely to succeed
    #4. Have you tried the renaming the blob file and restarting steam?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Dr. ROCKZO

    Dr. ROCKZO L8: Fancy Shmancy Member

    Messages:
    580
    Positive Ratings:
    159
    Also, are you running any scripts. at all. Because even though it's unlikely if you've got something relying on 'wait' it your autoexec.cfg it may be prohibiting launch.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. gamemaster1996

    gamemaster1996 L13: Stunning Member

    Messages:
    1,065
    Positive Ratings:
    131
    Okay i've tried everything and now i've reinstalled the game and it still won't run.
    It ran fine before the sacrifice came out but now i click play, the process starts but nothing is displayed.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2010