point-thread pointing to something that isnt a leak?

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Fr0Z3nR, Sep 6, 2010.

1. Fr0Z3nR

aa Fr0Z3nR Creator of blackholes & memes. Destroyer of forums

Positive Ratings:
    Hey there,

Alright, I'll admit it, I'm a noob.

****Newer issue***: When I go to compile a map, it will compile and play a previously saved version, so any changes i have made will not be there, which will explain my skybox issue. when testing/playing around with 3d skyboxes I saved a little test map, changed a few things around, and saved it again as something else. Now, when I went to reload the map after hammer crashed, the current and all previous versions were there and all overlayed with each other, so it was liked I fused 4 maps into one...

Help?

---Point-thread issue fixed----

Last edited: Sep 7, 2010
  2. AgeNt_

AgeNt_ L5: Dapper Member

Positive Ratings:
    for one, your skybox is inside a brush which is a no-no.

3. Grim Tuesday

aa Grim Tuesday

Positive Ratings:
    The place where it is going through a brush, is that a func_detail? You can't seal a map with func_details.

4. Draco18s

Draco18s L9: Fashionable Member

Positive Ratings:
    A bad area portal will sometimes "leak" through solid geometry. Only solution I've found is to delete it.

5. FaTony

FaTony Banned

Positive Ratings:
    He has invalid brush there. Reload hammer. Zoom out of the map and look for huge brushes. It can be caused by bad geometry.

6. Fr0Z3nR

Positive Ratings:
    Alright, yea it looks like they are all func_details... so how does one fix this? put some brushwork underneath? what?

7. Draco18s

Positive Ratings:
    Yup, you need a no-draw textured brush back there.

8. Fr0Z3nR

Positive Ratings: