Point File Profile

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by FishyUberMuffin, Aug 24, 2017.

  1. FishyUberMuffin

    aa FishyUberMuffin The Uber Mapper

    Messages:
    822
    Positive Ratings:
    129
    I am having problem with point file on my maps. I am clicking on the load point file and it keeps saying that the file is not found.
    Capture_hung.PNG
     
  2. Svode

    aa Svode Take a Chance on Me

    Messages:
    160
    Positive Ratings:
    371
    Do you have a pointfile generated? I don't think you do, try compiling and then checking
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. FishyUberMuffin

    aa FishyUberMuffin The Uber Mapper

    Messages:
    822
    Positive Ratings:
    129
    How do i generate one? On the valve dev. wiki it doesn't say how to generate one.
     
  4. Startacker

    Startacker L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    175
    Positive Ratings:
    142
    One is automatically generated during compile if it detects a leak. If no leak is detected then no pointfile is created.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. FishyUberMuffin

    aa FishyUberMuffin The Uber Mapper

    Messages:
    822
    Positive Ratings:
    129
    I just normal compile and it still doesn't find the file.
     
  6. Startacker

    Startacker L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    175
    Positive Ratings:
    142
    That's more than likely because there is no leak, so it doesn't make a pointfile. Are you sure you have a leak?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. FishyUberMuffin

    aa FishyUberMuffin The Uber Mapper

    Messages:
    822
    Positive Ratings:
    129
    Yeah, My map is not updating when i normal compile.
     
  8. Startacker

    Startacker L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    175
    Positive Ratings:
    142
    Hm, it's probably not a leak then, and you have a more serious problem that's causing the compile to fail in its entirety. Mind posting your compile log?
     
  9. FishyUberMuffin

    aa FishyUberMuffin The Uber Mapper

    Messages:
    822
    Positive Ratings:
    129
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_fireblase_a1.vmf"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Jun 14 2017)
    4 threads
    materialPath: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_fireblase_a1.vmf
    Brush 539: no visible sides on brush
    Brush 539: no visible sides on brush
    Brush 539: no visible sides on brush
    Brush 4563804: no visible sides on brush
    Brush 4563804: no visible sides on brush
    Brush 4563804: no visible sides on brush
    Brush 4569179: bounds out of range
    ConVarRef mat_reduceparticles doesn't point to an existing ConVar
    Patching WVT material: maps/koth_fireblase_a1/coalmines/blendgroundtowall_coalmines_wvt_patch
    Patching WVT material: maps/koth_fireblase_a1/nature/blendrockgroundwallforest001_wvt_patch
    Patching WVT material: maps/koth_fireblase_a1/swamp/concrete/blendswampconcrete001_wvt_patch
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    Chop Details...done (0)
    Find Visible Detail Sides...
    Merged 36 detail faces...done (0)
    Merging details...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    HashVec: point outside valid range

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_fireblase_a1"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Jun 14 2017)
    4 threads
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_fireblase_a1.bsp
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_fireblase_a1.prt
    LoadPortals: couldn't read c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_fireblase_a1.prt


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_fireblase_a1"

    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (Jun 14 2017)

    Valve Radiosity Simulator
    4 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    unknown light specifier type - lights

    [56 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_fireblase_a1.bsp
    No vis information, direct lighting only.
    Setting up ray-trace acceleration structure... Done (0.71 seconds)
    2974 faces
    3641561 square feet [524384800.00 square inches]
    0 Displacements
    0 Square Feet [0.00 Square Inches]
    34 direct lights
    BuildFacelights: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (22)
    Build Patch/Sample Hash Table(s).....Done<0.0753 sec>
    FinalLightFace: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (2)
    FinalLightFace Done
    0 of 0 (0% of) surface lights went in leaf ambient cubes.
    ThreadComputeLeafAmbient: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (7)
    Writing leaf ambient...done
    Ready to Finish

    Object names Objects/Maxobjs Memory / Maxmem Fullness
    ------------ --------------- --------------- --------
    models 4/1024 192/49152 ( 0.4%)
    brushes 150/8192 1800/98304 ( 1.8%)
    brushsides 993/65536 7944/524288 ( 1.5%)
    planes 720/65536 14400/1310720 ( 1.1%)
    vertexes 4277/65536 51324/786432 ( 6.5%)
    nodes 1184/65536 37888/2097152 ( 1.8%)
    texinfos 57/12288 4104/884736 ( 0.5%)
    texdata 17/2048 544/65536 ( 0.8%)
    dispinfos 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_verts 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_tris 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_lmsamples 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    faces 2974/65536 166544/3670016 ( 4.5%)
    hdr faces 0/65536 0/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    origfaces 609/65536 34104/3670016 ( 0.9%)
    leaves 1189/65536 38048/2097152 ( 1.8%)
    leaffaces 3441/65536 6882/131072 ( 5.3%)
    leafbrushes 855/65536 1710/131072 ( 1.3%)
    areas 3/256 24/2048 ( 1.2%)
    surfedges 16413/512000 65652/2048000 ( 3.2%)
    edges 8632/256000 34528/1024000 ( 3.4%)
    LDR worldlights 34/8192 2992/720896 ( 0.4%)
    HDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    leafwaterdata 0/32768 0/393216 ( 0.0%)
    waterstrips 332/32768 3320/327680 ( 1.0%)
    waterverts 0/65536 0/786432 ( 0.0%)
    waterindices 4446/65536 8892/131072 ( 6.8%)
    cubemapsamples 0/1024 0/16384 ( 0.0%)
    overlays 5/512 1760/180224 ( 1.0%)
    LDR lightdata [variable] 12686124/0 ( 0.0%)
    HDR lightdata [variable] 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    visdata [variable] 0/16777216 ( 0.0%)
    entdata [variable] 20802/393216 ( 5.3%)
    LDR ambient table 1189/65536 4756/262144 ( 1.8%)
    HDR ambient table 1189/65536 4756/262144 ( 1.8%)
    LDR leaf ambient 7820/65536 218960/1835008 (11.9%)
    HDR leaf ambient 1189/65536 33292/1835008 ( 1.8%)
    occluders 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder polygons 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder vert ind 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    detail props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    static props [variable] 1/10280 ( 0.0%)
    pakfile [variable] 960/0 ( 0.0%)
    physics [variable] 54446/4194304 ( 1.3%)
    physics terrain [variable] 2/1048576 ( 0.0%)

    Level flags = 0

    Total triangle count: 8036
    Writing c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_fireblase_a1.bsp
    32 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\koth_fireblase_a1.bsp" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\maps\koth_fireblase_a1.bsp"
     
  10. Startacker

    Startacker L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    175
    Positive Ratings:
    142
    Yea, here's your problem. You have something near/on/past the boundaries of hammer and that's causing your compile to fail. Hit alt + p to open the problem finder and find what it is.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. FishyUberMuffin

    aa FishyUberMuffin The Uber Mapper

    Messages:
    822
    Positive Ratings:
    129
    Could you point to where you find this in the compile so i know where to find it if this happens again?
     
  12. Startacker

    Startacker L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    175
    Positive Ratings:
    142
    It happens near the beginning of a compile, specifically...
    upload_2017-8-24_18-2-58.png
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. FishyUberMuffin

    aa FishyUberMuffin The Uber Mapper

    Messages:
    822
    Positive Ratings:
    129
    What does this mean?

    There is no player start in the map. To add one, select the Entity (axe) tool, drag the crosshairs to the position you want the player to start at, and press ENTER.

    I have info_player_teamspawn in the map. for both teams.
     
  14. Diva Dan

    aa Diva Dan hello!

    Messages:
    813
    Positive Ratings:
    1,228
    Ignore that error, it means nothing
     
  15. FishyUberMuffin

    aa FishyUberMuffin The Uber Mapper

    Messages:
    822
    Positive Ratings:
    129
    The map still wont update
     
  16. Another Bad Pun

    Server Staff Another Bad Pun bap

    Messages:
    564
    Positive Ratings:
    1,116
    Other Source engine games use info_player_start as spawn locations, but TF2 does not. However, the Help menu does not take that into consideration. No info_player_start is needed.

    Make sure you deleted whatever was causing the previous error. If it still doesn't work, post your compile log into this webpage: http://www.interlopers.net/errors/

    It might detect something that the Help menu doesn't.
     
  17. Lampenpam

    aa Lampenpam

    Messages:
    994
    Positive Ratings:
    329
    I can't believe that nobody noticed the obvious error in the compile log. "brush x: no visible side on brush" Or do you always have that message in your logs?
    Anyway, the error includes the brush number, just go to the brush with that number and see how messed up it is and redo it.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. ~curlysnail

    ~curlysnail L2: Junior Member

    Messages:
    64
    Positive Ratings:
    51
    My hammer does this even if there are no leaks/ errors. I find closing hammer and steam and reopening them fixes it.
     
  19. Hyperion

    aa Hyperion L16: Grid Member

    Messages:
    810
    Positive Ratings:
    617
    Brush 539: no visible sides on brush
    Brush 539: no visible sides on brush
    Brush 539: no visible sides on brush
    Brush 4563804: no visible sides on brush
    Brush 4563804: no visible sides on brush
    Brush 4563804: no visible sides on brush
    Brush 4569179: bounds out of range

    Check all those brushes and remake them
     
  20. iiboharz

    aa iiboharz Meme Queen

    Messages:
    700
    Positive Ratings:
    1,025
    Just a heads up, failed compiles don't always produce point files because leaks aren't the only way compiles can fail.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2