Payload Race Idea

Mar 20, 2012
Hello folks,

I'm new to the TF2Maps community, but not new to Source mapping. I come to you today with an idea that I want to bounce off other TF2 mappers and get opinions about possibility and execution. I do not plan to submit this to the current contest, so don't worry about contest rules.

Cruddy MS Paint diagram time!

(I apologize if I broke any rules about picture uploading. I checked the information sticky, but the link to TF2Map's image upload space leads to a 404.)

The idea here is this: there a technically two points within this payload race. RED's cart starts next to RED's spawn, while BLU's cart starts next to BLU's spawn. The teams push their carts to A. The first team to get to A has their cart roll onto the turntable, freezes it, time is added and the payload point is obtained for that team. The objective now is to prevent the slower team from getting their cart to the turntable (A).

If the first team is successful, they win. If the slower team manages to push their cart onto the turntable, the table turns both carts 180 degrees and they start on opposite sides of the track facing the opposite direction. The teams now roll their carts to the opposing team's base (think Nightfall stage 1). The first team to get their cart to the end of the track wins.

In a sense, this is a PLR that briefly changes over to a standard PL. The team that wins the race to A gets the benefit of having a chance to win early, but it doesn't knock the slower team out of the game yet. If the second team manages to get it to the table, then the game is effectively slated and now both teams have to push a cart on a track that is even more difficult than the first half. (As they are moving towards the enemy's spawn).