New to Mapping

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by GoldenMech, Aug 14, 2010.

1. GoldenMech

GoldenMech L1: Registered

Positive Ratings:
    Hi! I'm relatively new to Hammer and I have a few questions. Several people recommended I take a look at this site.

1. Skyboxes are REALLY confusing me, I made one but it looked off so I want to know how to do it the right way.
    2. How do you make stairs? Is it just cubes stacked on each other or is there an easier way?
    3. Water (as in deep water you can swim in). My friend who is really good with Hammer can't even figure out how to make it. So how?

2. Lancey

aa Lancey Currently On: ?????

Positive Ratings:
    1. I don't understand what you mean by "off". The skybox appears wherever you have the skybox tool texture in hammer.
    2. Unfortunately, stairs are only made by a series of brushes with differing heights. That's the best way to do it anyway because you'll always get the best results.
    3. Water is done by placing a nodraw brush where you want it and texturing the top face of the brush with a water texture.

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Nimelrian

Nimelrian L2: Junior Member

Positive Ratings:
    1. Create a block with the toolsskybox-texture around your map. Select it, click tools->Make Hollow and enter (for example) 32 to make it a cube which is visible from the inside. Now go to Map->Properties and set the skybox-texture you want.

If you want to create a 3D Skybox, look over here http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/3D_Skybox#Construction_of_3D_skyboxes

2. Yep, just stack blocks up. Valve used a 2/3 ratio, so 2 in length, 3 in height (you can multiplicate this values, but keep the ratio).

3. http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Adding_Water#Construction

4. Lancey

aa Lancey Currently On: ?????

Positive Ratings:
    No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. Never do this.

5. alecom

alecom L8: Fancy Shmancy Member

Positive Ratings: