New mapper struggling to learn!

HelenAngel

L1: Registered
Oct 23, 2011
Hello! I am a new mapper (have not used Hammer since I tried- unsuccessfully- to make a CS:S map years ago) who could use any help I can get! (Steam name is same as username here- HelenAngel)

I'm a TF2 server admin and some of our players and I had the idea to "extend" the Mann Manor map into a 3 stage map similar to Dustbowl, utilizing the graveyard and the pumpkin patch as well as blocked off rooms of the house. So hence why I'm here! I downloaded the decompressed maps and lighting (which I cannot be more thankful for) and am about to try to navigate through to make something halfway workable.

Any hints, tips, tricks, etc. are very much appreciated! :)

Jan 20, 2010
Well, expanding a map is quite difficult. You'd need to take the layout feel and the theme of the map and extend it across 2 more stages. Honestly, it's something best left to the person who made it in the first place.

As for hints, tips, or tricks to mapping, there's a few good places to start. The Tutorials forum would be the first stop I would take. http://www.nodraw.net/ can also be useful for more advanced techniques. Interlopers has a lot of general source engine tutorials that could be quite useful as well.

HelenAngel

Oct 23, 2011
Very true. We basically just want to take what is already there and open up some areas while closing off others. So I'm not wanting to create new areas of the map, just essentially changing spawn points, capture points, and opening play into other areas of the map. I know this is much easier said than done, as I'm discovering. I'm not anywhere even slightly talented or knowledgeable enough to add on to something that is already amazing!

Jan 20, 2010