Need help with format of map

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by WombatSauce, Dec 22, 2015.

1. WombatSauce

WombatSauce L3: Member

Positive Ratings:
    Hi, im new to mapping, and i cant compile and run the maps i make, and its not because they aren't sealed, or that there isn't a spawn. I think its because themaps are in a .rmf format, instead of .vmf. i tried to make a new map, and i put the name .vmf, but then it changed it to .rmf. How would i fix this, and if that's not a legitament problem, what's probably going on?

2. killohurtz

aa killohurtz Distinction in Applied Carving

Positive Ratings:
    RMF files, if I'm not mistaken, are associated with GoldSource, the predecessor to the Source engine. Might you have accidentally set Hammer's game configuration to a GoldSource game like the original Half-Life or Team Fortress Classic?

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. WombatSauce

Positive Ratings:
    how would i change it to source?

4. Crowbar

aa Crowbar perfektoberfest

Positive Ratings:
    If you are using Hammer from TF2 folder, you can go Tools->Options and in Game Configurations tab change configuration to TF2.

5. WombatSauce

Positive Ratings:
    ok thanks. will all my projects be converted to .vmf if i do this?

6. Crowbar

Positive Ratings:
    No, but all projects you will create will be in VMF.
    To my knowledge, you also can open RMF projects and then convert them into VMF.

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. WombatSauce

Positive Ratings:
    the game configuration was set to tf2, but the map typemas hl2/ tfc, and i set it to hl2 (tf2 wasn't an option, even though i got hammer out of the tf2 folder)

8. Tumbolisu

aa Tumbolisu  I ⌄ I 

Positive Ratings:
    The game configurations you should be presented with are 'Counter-Strike: Source', 'Day of Defeat: Source' and 'Team Fortress 2'. I'm suspecting that your hammer thinks it's not using the Source 2007 engine. Have you opened a different hammer before?