My map's lighting is messed up when I compile with VIS

Turtleburger

L1: Registered
Mar 21, 2015
I'm pretty new to Hammer, and I've been working on a map for Garry's Mod (even though this site is called "TF2Maps." It's a building map for complex vehicles. The map isn't very large at the moment, but I'm still running into a weird problem. When I compile with VIS, the lighting is fullbright, but there are still dynamic shadows; like from ragdolls or props, but the buildings don't cast any shadows. There are also weird "holes" in the ground in one specific spot. It still has collisions, but it's invisible.

IcZft8L.jpg

Any help at all would be appreciated. I can also give you the map file if you want.

Also, there are no leaks in the map. I've checked.

Last edited:

MoonFox

L10: Glamorous Member
Mar 17, 2015
could you include a picture of the hammer work station; it could just be an lighting override

Idolon

they/them
aa
Feb 7, 2008
You should also share your compile log - usually errors like this will show up. You can also check your compile log yourself here.

Turtleburger

Mar 21, 2015
It looks like you have no skybox or cordon bounds. Your map is leaking, because it is not even the least bit sealed. If any entity in your map is open to the all-encompassing black void, lighting gets messed up and you will experience massive errors.

I am certain that the map is sealed.

radarhead

Basically? Kind of a Huge Mess
aa
Mar 6, 2013
I am certain that the map is sealed.

If you say so, but I don't see any sealing brushes in your screenshot. Also, those fields around the map are incredibly huge! Large spaces like this have been know to lead to problems as well. Those brushes would be better suited as being a 3D skybox.

Idolon

they/them
aa
Feb 7, 2008