My map's lighting is messed up when I compile with VIS

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by Turtleburger, Mar 21, 2015.

1. Turtleburger

Turtleburger L1: Registered

Positive Ratings:
    I'm pretty new to Hammer, and I've been working on a map for Garry's Mod (even though this site is called "TF2Maps." It's a building map for complex vehicles. The map isn't very large at the moment, but I'm still running into a weird problem. When I compile with VIS, the lighting is fullbright, but there are still dynamic shadows; like from ragdolls or props, but the buildings don't cast any shadows. There are also weird "holes" in the ground in one specific spot. It still has collisions, but it's invisible.

[​IMG]

Any help at all would be appreciated. I can also give you the map file if you want.

Also, there are no leaks in the map. I've checked.

Last edited: Mar 21, 2015
  2. MoonFox

MoonFox L10: Glamorous Member

Positive Ratings:
    could you include a picture of the hammer work station; it could just be an lighting override

3. Idolon

aa Idolon the worst admin

Positive Ratings:
    You should also share your compile log - usually errors like this will show up. You can also check your compile log yourself here.

4. Turtleburger

Positive Ratings:
    What do you mean by "work station?" I'm not really used to these terms. Do you mean a picture like this?

[​IMG]

Also, I'm a scrub and forgot the compile log.

http://pastebin.com/myZkkRwV

5. Turtleburger

Positive Ratings:
    That's pretty handy, but it didn't find any problems.

6. radarhead

aa radarhead Level 20 "Mapper"

Positive Ratings:
    It looks like you have no skybox or cordon bounds. Your map is leaking, because it is not even the least bit sealed. If any entity in your map is open to the all-encompassing black void, lighting gets messed up and you will experience massive errors.

7. Turtleburger

Positive Ratings:
    I am certain that the map is sealed.

8. radarhead