My map is gone!!! halp :(

Armadillo of Doom

Group Founder, Lover of Pie
aa
Oct 25, 2007
I don't know how else to explain it. I was going along, when my computer started to lag a bit. I figured it just needed to cool down. So I reset and walked away. I come back and load the file.. it's just blank. Like an empty black space, not a trace of map anywhere. Even the slightly older backup version doesn't load properly. For those who don't know, some time ago I made a really half-assed attempt at Rock2. It's not something I'm proud of, even though few people actually saw it. I mean, I started this mapping group, one would think I could produce something of higher quality. So I've been working on my contest entry, if not to win, then to redeem myself a bit.

But I digress. I never even got to take screenshots, but I swear to you this map was real. I've been developing it for 3 months, and lord knows how many hours of actual mapping time. Is there any way to recover the auto-saves that Hammer makes? I'm gonna try decompiling the bsp, but I don't know how well that is going to work. Please tell me there's a way to access the auto-saves? I need a drink :(

kimangroo

L3: Member
Mar 15, 2008
Hey immortal, I feel for you, I really do, I've had similar experiences with both hammer and other software and it's a really, really shit feeling when something you've spent ages sweating over, just ups and disappears...

don't panic though, I'm sure there is a way to recover if not all, most of your work. I've got a few suggestions as a noob, the hammer gurus will surely be along soon if these don't work.