My first map and first problem

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by lekeoi, Mar 11, 2011.

  1. lekeoi

    lekeoi L1: Registered

    Messages:
    8
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    I finally got around to making tf2 maps and beacuse im kinda new i thought i would start with a simple ctf map, the first problem i encounter is that i will not load up in the actual game or when i test run it directly in hammer. here is the compile list but so far it has proved useless when it comes to information


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Ultimate SSDK v2\SourceSDK\bin\orangebox\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\lekeoi\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Ultimate SSDK v2\SourceSDK_Content\tf\mapsrc\first_time.vmf"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Jul 7 2010)
    1 threads
    materialPath: C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\lekeoi\team fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Ultimate SSDK v2\SourceSDK_Content\tf\mapsrc\first_time.vmf
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    Chop Details...done (0)
    Find Visible Detail Sides...done (0)
    Merging details...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (0)
    writing C:\Ultimate SSDK v2\SourceSDK_Content\tf\mapsrc\first_time.prt...Building visibility clusters...
    done (0)
    Creating default LDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
    skybox/sky_badlands_01*.vmt
    ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
    Creating default HDR cubemaps for env_cubemap using skybox materials:
    skybox/sky_badlands_01*.vmt
    ! Run buildcubemaps in the engine to get the correct cube maps.
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    done (0) (75869 bytes)
    Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Compacting texture/material tables...
    Reduced 212 texinfos to 142
    Reduced 25 texdatas to 18 (653 bytes to 427)
    Writing C:\Ultimate SSDK v2\SourceSDK_Content\tf\mapsrc\first_time.bsp
    4 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Ultimate SSDK v2\SourceSDK\bin\orangebox\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\lekeoi\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Ultimate SSDK v2\SourceSDK_Content\tf\mapsrc\first_time"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Jul 7 2010)
    1 threads
    reading c:\ultimate ssdk v2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\first_time.bsp
    reading c:\ultimate ssdk v2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\first_time.prt
    159 portalclusters
    412 numportals
    BasePortalVis: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    PortalFlow: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (2)
    Optimized: 72 visible clusters (0.00%)
    Total clusters visible: 16023
    Average clusters visible: 100
    Building PAS...
    Average clusters audible: 158
    visdatasize:7535 compressed from 7632
    writing c:\ultimate ssdk v2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\first_time.bsp
    2 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Ultimate SSDK v2\SourceSDK\bin\orangebox\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\lekeoi\team fortress 2\tf" "C:\Ultimate SSDK v2\SourceSDK_Content\tf\mapsrc\first_time"

    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (Jul 7 2010)

    Valve Radiosity Simulator
    1 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    [34 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\ultimate ssdk v2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\first_time.bsp
    Setting up ray-trace acceleration structure... Done (0.15 seconds)
    791 faces
    144458 square feet [20801990.00 square inches]
    0 Displacements
    0 Square Feet [0.00 Square Inches]
    791 patches before subdivision
    17607 patches after subdivision
    0 direct lights
    BuildFacelights: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    BuildVisLeafs: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (6)
    transfers 2234109, max 412
    transfer lists: 17.0 megs
    GatherLight: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Bounce #1 added RGB(0, 0, 0)
    Build Patch/Sample Hash Table(s).....Done<0.0133 sec>
    FinalLightFace: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (4)
    FinalLightFace Done
    0 of 0 (0% of) surface lights went in leaf ambient cubes.
    ThreadComputeLeafAmbient: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (6)
    Writing leaf ambient...done
    Ready to Finish

    Object names Objects/Maxobjs Memory / Maxmem Fullness
    ------------ --------------- --------------- --------
    models 18/1024 864/49152 ( 1.8%)
    brushes 217/8192 2604/98304 ( 2.6%)
    brushsides 1321/65536 10568/524288 ( 2.0%)
    planes 340/65536 6800/1310720 ( 0.5%)
    vertexes 1277/65536 15324/786432 ( 1.9%)
    nodes 451/65536 14432/2097152 ( 0.7%)
    texinfos 142/12288 10224/884736 ( 1.2%)
    texdata 18/2048 576/65536 ( 0.9%)
    dispinfos 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_verts 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_tris 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_lmsamples 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    faces 791/65536 44296/3670016 ( 1.2%)
    hdr faces 0/65536 0/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    origfaces 494/65536 27664/3670016 ( 0.8%)
    leaves 470/65536 15040/2097152 ( 0.7%)
    leaffaces 956/65536 1912/131072 ( 1.5%)
    leafbrushes 394/65536 788/131072 ( 0.6%)
    areas 2/256 16/2048 ( 0.8%)
    surfedges 5620/512000 22480/2048000 ( 1.1%)
    edges 3204/256000 12816/1024000 ( 1.3%)
    LDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    HDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    leafwaterdata 0/32768 0/393216 ( 0.0%)
    waterstrips 82/32768 820/327680 ( 0.3%)
    waterverts 0/65536 0/786432 ( 0.0%)
    waterindices 1140/65536 2280/131072 ( 1.7%)
    cubemapsamples 0/1024 0/16384 ( 0.0%)
    overlays 0/512 0/180224 ( 0.0%)
    LDR lightdata [variable] 682000/0 ( 0.0%)
    HDR lightdata [variable] 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    visdata [variable] 7535/16777216 ( 0.0%)
    entdata [variable] 11596/393216 ( 2.9%)
    LDR ambient table 470/65536 1880/262144 ( 0.7%)
    HDR ambient table 470/65536 1880/262144 ( 0.7%)
    LDR leaf ambient 273/65536 7644/1835008 ( 0.4%)
    HDR leaf ambient 470/65536 13160/1835008 ( 0.7%)
    occluders 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder polygons 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder vert ind 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    detail props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    static props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    pakfile [variable] 211880/0 ( 0.0%)
    physics [variable] 75869/4194304 ( 1.8%)
    physics terrain [variable] 2/1048576 ( 0.0%)

    Level flags = 0

    Total triangle count: 2064
    Writing c:\ultimate ssdk v2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\first_time.bsp
    16 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Ultimate SSDK v2\SourceSDK_Content\tf\mapsrc\first_time.bsp" "C:\Ultimate SSDK v2\Source Engine 2009\tf\maps\first_time.bsp"

    here is the link to the actual map download if you want to check that out
    HTML:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ccdk6rxxuec65pc
     
  2. LeSwordfish

    aa LeSwordfish semi-trained quasi-professional

    Messages:
    4,102
    Positive Ratings:
    5,990
  3. Another Bad Pun

    Server Staff Another Bad Pun bap

    Messages:
    564
    Positive Ratings:
    1,116
    Do you have an info_player_teamspawn in your map?

    If you do then It may be because your map file has a space in it. Example: ctf_swift water
    Space in map name=big no no.

    Instead do this: ctf_swift_water
    And in game the _ will look like a space in game
     
  4. Jeremy

    Jeremy L11: Posh Member

    Messages:
    829
    Positive Ratings:
    251
    That's what I thought.

    This is where the directory is by default:
    C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\(username)\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc
    (if you're running it from the C: drive)

    And Bad Pun, the map name is first_time.bsp - I don't see any spaces there.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2011
  5. sniprpenguin

    sniprpenguin L6: Sharp Member

    Messages:
    266
    Positive Ratings:
    126
    A quick search for Ultimate SSDK on google brings up torrents.

    Do you even OWN Team Fortress 2?
     
  6. LeSwordfish

    aa LeSwordfish semi-trained quasi-professional

    Messages:
    4,102
    Positive Ratings:
    5,990
    If not, my sympathy is somewhat lacking.
     
  7. lekeoi

    lekeoi L1: Registered

    Messages:
    8
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    ok i do own tf2 legally source sdk just doesn't work on my steam profile so very very very disappointed and sad i searched the web for one that was non steam and this is what i got
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2011
  8. REEJ

    REEJ L7: Fancy Member

    Messages:
    437
    Positive Ratings:
    167
  9. A Boojum Snark

    aa A Boojum Snark Toraipoddodezain Mazahabado

    Messages:
    4,769
    Positive Ratings:
    5,521
    Bold part is the important one. It is being copied to the wrong directory. Go to Tools > Options > Game Configurations and change Game Executable Directory to $SteamUserDir\team fortress 2 and Game Directory to $SteamUserDir\team fotress 2\tf (edit: to clairfy, because the forum font sucks, that is a dollar sign in front of the word steam)

    I am guessing either it is launching real TF2 and the map is not in the right place, or it is launching a pirate copy of TF2 that is shipped with this pirate SDK. Assuming you can't actually use the real SDK (you should try to fix that problem first), the above should make the map go to the right place, and launch the right copy of TF2.


    To everyone else: you guys didn't really look at the log, did you? :p
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2011
  10. ardysqrrl

    ardysqrrl L4: Comfortable Member

    Messages:
    173
    Positive Ratings:
    159
    how does that even happen? have you tried sending in a trouble ticket?
     
  11. lekeoi

    lekeoi L1: Registered

    Messages:
    8
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    don't worry i own it legally
     
  12. lekeoi

    lekeoi L1: Registered

    Messages:
    8
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    i really don't know i thought this was a little more common than not it has already happed to other people i know
     
  13. lekeoi

    lekeoi L1: Registered

    Messages:
    8
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    it messed up my source sdk tf2 configurations but it doesn't matter now i think i found a way to fix the problem besides the map i made probably wasn't any good anyway thanks though
     
  14. A Boojum Snark

    aa A Boojum Snark Toraipoddodezain Mazahabado

    Messages:
    4,769
    Positive Ratings:
    5,521
    For the record, there was nothing technically wrong with the map. I loaded it myself just fine.
     
  15. lekeoi

    lekeoi L1: Registered

    Messages:
    8
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    ok oh and if you were wondering the thing that i tried worked and source sdk works on steam for me now and the problem is fixed