[MvM] Robot Problems? HELP!

taxlor203

L1: Registered
Feb 10, 2013
Hi, everyone ;). So here is my situation:

I wanted to create my own MvM map with Hammer for TF2, and I wanted to start easily cuz I'm still a beginner...
I had a look to the mvm_example given by Valve, and I created the hatch and its corresponding triggers, sounds, particles + all the Game Logic of MvM.*
And I also added the red and blu spawnpoints etc...

However, when I compile my map TF2 does not crash, but in console I got an error about "nav mesh populator": something like "There is no bot nav func in respawnroom, this is caused either by a missing func_respawnroom or spawnpoints not within it. Bots will act poorly."
BUT, the bots don't even appear in their spawnpoints (I took a pop file from the coaltown ones, and spawnpoints are called spawnbot so the error is not here)
So, I came back to mvm_example, and, when I compiled it, I got EXACTLY the same error (I'm pretty sure I did not modify anything in it). D:
I even had a look to decompiled Valve MvM maps but nothing.
If that could help, I noticed that all the mvm maps I saw (my map, mvm_example and valve decompiled maps) had a similar problem: 1 of the outputs of the team_round_timer enable the game_populator entity "OnSetupFinished", but Hammer does not recognize this entity game_populator (it is highlighted in red).

If you can't give a great answer, can you just say if your compiled version of mvm_example work and if it recognizes this game_populator entity?:confused:
Anyway, is there a vmf example showing a very simple mvm map working?

Thanks for reading. :)

Freyja

aa
Jul 31, 2009
For bots to be able to move, they need a "nav mesh", it's basically a series of polygons that spread across the ground, and tell the bots if they can move there or not. A freshly compiled map doesn't have one, hence the error, you need to get the game to generate it for you.