1. Hey there Guest,

    The game servers have moved to semi-dedicated hardware and IPs have changed. Please see front page server widget for up-to-date game server information.

Missing stuff

Discussion in 'Mapping Questions & Discussion' started by -W3E- Im Chuck, Feb 17, 2018.

  1. -W3E- Im Chuck

    -W3E- Im Chuck L1: Registered

    Messages:
    17
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    I am making a map and whenever i compile the map and test it its always missing some stuff like buttons and func_details am i doing something wrong or is there a fix.
     
  2. Da Spud Lord

    aa Da Spud Lord L0: Crappy Member

    Messages:
    877
    Positive Ratings:
    594
    Compile log?
     
  3. -W3E- Im Chuck

    -W3E- Im Chuck L1: Registered

    Messages:
    17
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.vmf"
    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Oct 14 2017)
    4 threads
    materialPath: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.vmf
    Brush 55351: FloatPlane: bad normal
    Side 0
    Texture: DEV/REFLECTIVITY_10

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy"
    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Oct 14 2017)
    4 threads
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.bsp
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.prt
    LoadPortals: couldn't read c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.prt

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy"
    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (Oct 14 2017)
    Valve Radiosity Simulator
    4 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    unknown light specifier type - lights
    [56 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']
    Loading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.bsp
    No vis information, direct lighting only.
    Setting up ray-trace acceleration structure... Done (0.07 seconds)
    1727 faces
    570496 square feet [82151496.00 square inches]
    0 Displacements
    0 Square Feet [0.00 Square Inches]
    0 direct lights
    BuildFacelights: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Build Patch/Sample Hash Table(s).....Done<0.0156 sec>
    FinalLightFace: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (1)
    FinalLightFace Done
    0 of 0 (0% of) surface lights went in leaf ambient cubes.
    ThreadComputeLeafAmbient: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (2)
    Writing leaf ambient...done
    Ready to Finish
    Object names Objects/Maxobjs Memory / Maxmem Fullness
    ------------ --------------- --------------- --------
    models 1/1024 48/49152 ( 0.1%)
    brushes 183/8192 2196/98304 ( 2.2%)
    brushsides 1692/65536 13536/524288 ( 2.6%)
    planes 1784/65536 35680/1310720 ( 2.7%)
    vertexes 2259/65536 27108/786432 ( 3.4%)
    nodes 649/65536 20768/2097152 ( 1.0%)
    texinfos 51/12288 3672/884736 ( 0.4%)
    texdata 6/2048 192/65536 ( 0.3%)
    dispinfos 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_verts 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_tris 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_lmsamples 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    faces 1727/65536 96712/3670016 ( 2.6%)
    hdr faces 0/65536 0/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    origfaces 857/65536 47992/3670016 ( 1.3%)
    leaves 651/65536 20832/2097152 ( 1.0%)
    leaffaces 1965/65536 3930/131072 ( 3.0%)
    leafbrushes 380/65536 760/131072 ( 0.6%)
    areas 3/256 24/2048 ( 1.2%)
    surfedges 11651/512000 46604/2048000 ( 2.3%)
    edges 6201/256000 24804/1024000 ( 2.4%)
    LDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    HDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    leafwaterdata 0/32768 0/393216 ( 0.0%)
    waterstrips 266/32768 2660/327680 ( 0.8%)
    waterverts 0/65536 0/786432 ( 0.0%)
    waterindices 3399/65536 6798/131072 ( 5.2%)
    cubemapsamples 0/1024 0/16384 ( 0.0%)
    overlays 0/512 0/180224 ( 0.0%)
    LDR lightdata [variable] 1579496/0 ( 0.0%)
    HDR lightdata [variable] 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    visdata [variable] 0/16777216 ( 0.0%)
    entdata [variable] 464/393216 ( 0.1%)
    LDR ambient table 651/65536 2604/262144 ( 1.0%)
    HDR ambient table 651/65536 2604/262144 ( 1.0%)
    LDR leaf ambient 419/65536 11732/1835008 ( 0.6%)
    HDR leaf ambient 651/65536 18228/1835008 ( 1.0%)
    occluders 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder polygons 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder vert ind 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    detail props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    static props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    pakfile [variable] 381/0 ( 0.0%)
    physics [variable] 73465/4194304 ( 1.8%)
    physics terrain [variable] 2/1048576 ( 0.0%)
    Level flags = 0
    Total triangle count: 4677
    Writing c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.bsp
    3 seconds elapsed
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.bsp" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\maps\jb_w3e_v2_copy.bsp"
     
  4. Werewolf

    aa Werewolf Probably not a real Werewolf

    Messages:
    793
    Positive Ratings:
    236
    When you say it's missing stuff, I presume you mean you're making changes in hammer, but not seeing those changes in the compiled map? Looks like VBSP isn't updating your map because of an error:
    Fix that and try again. Otherwise, more details about what things are missing may be needed. Consider screenshots from within hammer and in-game for comparisons.
     
  5. -W3E- Im Chuck

    -W3E- Im Chuck L1: Registered

    Messages:
    17
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    how would i fix this? or even find where this is
     
  6. -W3E- Im Chuck

    -W3E- Im Chuck L1: Registered

    Messages:
    17
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    i took the compile log to interloopers.net and it says i have a leak when i dont and that it cant load the skybox file.
    heres the new compile log:


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.vmf"
    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Oct 14 2017)
    4 threads
    materialPath: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\materials
    Loading C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.vmf
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    **** leaked ****
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...done (0)
    Chop Details...done (0)
    Find Visible Detail Sides...
    Merged 8 detail faces...done (0)
    Merging details...done (0)
    FixTjuncs...
    PruneNodes...
    WriteBSP...
    done (0)
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    *** Error: Skybox vtf files for skybox/sky_tf2_04 weren't compiled with the same size texture and/or same flags!
    Can't load skybox file skybox/sky_tf2_04 to build the default cubemap!
    Finding displacement neighbors...
    Finding lightmap sample positions...
    Displacement Alpha : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Building Physics collision data...
    done (0) (85326 bytes)
    Placing detail props : 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Compacting texture/material tables...
    Reduced 67 texinfos to 56
    Reduced 8 texdatas to 7 (209 bytes to 161)
    Writing C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.bsp
    Wrote ZIP buffer, estimated size 461, actual size 381
    0 seconds elapsed
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy"
    Valve Software - vvis.exe (Oct 14 2017)
    4 threads
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.bsp
    reading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.prt
    LoadPortals: couldn't read c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.prt

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy"
    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (Oct 14 2017)
    Valve Radiosity Simulator
    4 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    unknown light specifier type - lights
    [56 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']
    Loading c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.bsp
    No vis information, direct lighting only.
    Setting up ray-trace acceleration structure... Done (0.20 seconds)
    2307 faces
    2901775 square feet [417855712.00 square inches]
    0 Displacements
    0 Square Feet [0.00 Square Inches]
    0 direct lights
    BuildFacelights: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    Build Patch/Sample Hash Table(s).....Done<0.0154 sec>
    FinalLightFace: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (1)
    FinalLightFace Done
    0 of 0 (0% of) surface lights went in leaf ambient cubes.
    ThreadComputeLeafAmbient: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (4)
    Writing leaf ambient...done
    Ready to Finish
    Object names Objects/Maxobjs Memory / Maxmem Fullness
    ------------ --------------- --------------- --------
    models 1/1024 48/49152 ( 0.1%)
    brushes 215/8192 2580/98304 ( 2.6%)
    brushsides 2021/65536 16168/524288 ( 3.1%)
    planes 2186/65536 43720/1310720 ( 3.3%)
    vertexes 2875/65536 34500/786432 ( 4.4%)
    nodes 1081/65536 34592/2097152 ( 1.6%)
    texinfos 56/12288 4032/884736 ( 0.5%)
    texdata 7/2048 224/65536 ( 0.3%)
    dispinfos 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_verts 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_tris 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_lmsamples 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    faces 2307/65536 129192/3670016 ( 3.5%)
    hdr faces 0/65536 0/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    origfaces 1042/65536 58352/3670016 ( 1.6%)
    leaves 1083/65536 34656/2097152 ( 1.7%)
    leaffaces 2843/65536 5686/131072 ( 4.3%)
    leafbrushes 714/65536 1428/131072 ( 1.1%)
    areas 1/256 8/2048 ( 0.4%)
    surfedges 15083/512000 60332/2048000 ( 2.9%)
    edges 7946/256000 31784/1024000 ( 3.1%)
    LDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    HDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    leafwaterdata 0/32768 0/393216 ( 0.0%)
    waterstrips 318/32768 3180/327680 ( 1.0%)
    waterverts 0/65536 0/786432 ( 0.0%)
    waterindices 4257/65536 8514/131072 ( 6.5%)
    cubemapsamples 0/1024 0/16384 ( 0.0%)
    overlays 0/512 0/180224 ( 0.0%)
    LDR lightdata [variable] 1516912/0 ( 0.0%)
    HDR lightdata [variable] 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    visdata [variable] 0/16777216 ( 0.0%)
    entdata [variable] 252/393216 ( 0.1%)
    LDR ambient table 1083/65536 4332/262144 ( 1.7%)
    HDR ambient table 1083/65536 4332/262144 ( 1.7%)
    LDR leaf ambient 672/65536 18816/1835008 ( 1.0%)
    HDR leaf ambient 1083/65536 30324/1835008 ( 1.7%)
    occluders 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder polygons 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder vert ind 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    detail props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    static props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    pakfile [variable] 381/0 ( 0.0%)
    physics [variable] 85326/4194304 ( 2.0%)
    physics terrain [variable] 2/1048576 ( 0.0%)
    Level flags = 0
    Total triangle count: 6209
    Writing c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\team fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.bsp
    5 seconds elapsed
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\sourcesdk_content\tf\mapsrc\jb_w3e_v2_copy.bsp" "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\maps\jb_w3e_v2_copy.bsp"
     
  7. Werewolf

    aa Werewolf Probably not a real Werewolf

    Messages:
    793
    Positive Ratings:
    236
    If you have a leak, then you have a leak. That's one error that does not lie. Open the pointfile and it will show you a red line from the entity that is leaking and the path it takes to the leak.
    It may be that a brush entity (such as a trigger_multiple) might his origin outside the map. If so, it's origin will be the source of the leak.


    View: https://youtu.be/AJ0a8JrIiDM
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2018
  8. -W3E- Im Chuck

    -W3E- Im Chuck L1: Registered

    Messages:
    17
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    thanks but that wasn't the problem i just had to put another spawn point in and it fixed the leak but its still giving me the skybox error thing
    any help with that?
     
  9. -W3E- Im Chuck

    -W3E- Im Chuck L1: Registered

    Messages:
    17
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    wow i should jsut not try to make a map i have no idea what im doing and im making mistakes everywhere sorry to bother everyone.
    theres a new problem when i use the alt+p it says "texture axis perpendicular to face" what does that even mean? XD and what im trying to do is make a cylinder as a pillar and its giving me that problem is there a way to fix it or is there going to be a problem with that?
     
  10. Pocket

    aa Pocket func_croc

    Messages:
    4,489
    Positive Ratings:
    2,377
    Sounds like you got your first Rudolph glitch! This is a bug that sometimes happens when you do a lot of messing around in the texture tool (for example, that trick where you hold Alt and right click to continue a texture onto another face) and Hammer gets confused. I call it the Rudolph glitch because if you were to compile your map right now, the affected brush faces would be bright red and glowing slightly. The solution is to just reset all the texture alignments and scaling on the brush in question and try again.
     
  11. Werewolf

    aa Werewolf Probably not a real Werewolf

    Messages:
    793
    Positive Ratings:
    236
    Making mistakes is fine! The only bad mistakes are the ones you don't learn from.
     
  12. -W3E- Im Chuck

    -W3E- Im Chuck L1: Registered

    Messages:
    17
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    i haven't changed any of the texture settings nor do i know how lol and even when i put a dev texture on them it still gives me that error so it doesnt spawn those objects when i go in game to test the map its also only on my cylinders. even when i do alt+p and click fix and fix all it doesnt fix them so i have no idea about this error or how to fix it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2018
  13. Da Spud Lord

    aa Da Spud Lord L0: Crappy Member

    Messages:
    877
    Positive Ratings:
    594
    You might have to just delete the solid and recreate it.
     
  14. -W3E- Im Chuck

    -W3E- Im Chuck L1: Registered

    Messages:
    17
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    i did that but it still gives me that error rip.
    could it be because i have 32 sides on it and its too small?
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2018
  15. -W3E- Im Chuck

    -W3E- Im Chuck L1: Registered

    Messages:
    17
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    I FIXED IT turns out there were too many sides on the pillars so rip my almost perfect looking circle XD thanks for the help guys
     
  16. -W3E- Im Chuck

    -W3E- Im Chuck L1: Registered

    Messages:
    17
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    is there a way to make rotating doors close instantly and open at a normal speed?
     
  17. Werewolf

    aa Werewolf Probably not a real Werewolf

    Messages:
    793
    Positive Ratings:
    236
    Make sure your door has a name, for example door01. Then add these outputs
    Code:
    OnFullyOpen | door01 | SetSpeed | 1000 | 0.00
    OnFullyOpen | door01 | Close|      | 0.10
    OnFullyClose | door01 | SetSpeed | # (Replace this with ever your normal speed is set to) | 0.00
    But also, new issue should be on a new thread. Or just search around the VDC for the entity you're using.
     
  18. -W3E- Im Chuck

    -W3E- Im Chuck L1: Registered

    Messages:
    17
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    this didn't work for me it just made the door slowely go back to its normal position then when it was turned back on had the other speed i put in. i think its because the door never fullyopens as its made for a minigame and never turns off until a button is pressed to turn it off so i think the button would be needed to change the speed i might be able to do it im going to mess around with some stuff and hope i get it right XD thanks for the help i think what im doing might work and if so its because you helped me and i want to give you moneys lol
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2018
  19. -W3E- Im Chuck

    -W3E- Im Chuck L1: Registered

    Messages:
    17
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    update: it worked thank you for all the help i will be sure to respond here again if anything happens in the next bit while making the map.
     
  20. -W3E- Im Chuck

    -W3E- Im Chuck L1: Registered

    Messages:
    17
    Positive Ratings:
    0
    idk if any of you know how to make jailbreak minigames but im working on 9square i got everything made but theres is one problem and that is while the game is going it brings UP some squares at random when they should all fall first because the math counter brings them all back up.
     
Tags: